1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

juddering please help.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by matt blowen, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. matt blowen
    Offline

    matt blowen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2013]
    hi peeps ive searched the forum for my problem but I cant find anything with my exact problem,
    when i lift off accelerator in any gear the car jolts and when I press it again it will jolt again, its worse in 1st. 2nd. 3rd gear and I have replaced the dogbone mount with a yellow powerflex bush, no fault codes, any ideas will be great thanks... matt
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. mark_S3
    Online

    mark_S3 Yorkshire & Humber Events Rep Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Oct 12, 2013]
    Have you checked that the dogbone mount is fully tighten up?
    #2
  4. matt blowen
    Offline

    matt blowen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2013]
    Yes all tight there is less movment there than the OE bush, engine mounts seem fine too
    #3
  5. fanta
    Offline

    fanta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    Mine does this too, I'll check the dog bone mounts.
    #4
  6. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    mines pretty bad for this too. I've done the dogbone, but not the engine mounts themeslves - I reckon they'll be pretty worn by now
    #5
  7. puggsy21
    Offline

    puggsy21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    this sounds similar to problem i been having and in the process of elimination here is what i have done so far took maf off and cleaned sensor and housing, tomorrow will be cleaning throttle body and looking at cleaning my impulse/crank sensor as this is the only fault code i get when i scan it with my CAN scan. Reading alot of topics here has lead me to think its the throttle body built up with gunk and reduces flow of petrol (meaning butterfly gold plate inside TB not opening fully due to gunk/deposit) hence the judder well thats what i thought of after people saying the throttle body as it will also give you a little flicker/bounce on the rev counter.

    This may be nothing to do with the solution you get but if all mounts are good its a possibility :) (worth a try)
    #6
  8. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    Hey Puggsy. I've cleaned my TB and MAF and I still have this issue
    #7
  9. matt blowen
    Offline

    matt blowen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    Ill give mine a clean in the morning, fingers crossed
    #8
  10. puggsy21
    Offline

    puggsy21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    Il post back here tomorrow after i gone over the car and took out for a spin if it wants to stay alive lol keeps not wanting to fire just crank over due to G28 sensor (crank sensor, but thats cause i got a fault code for that)

    bit of a silly question but have been known for problems for some people's cars have you put in any fuel additive at all as some of these add ins makes the car run rough and spluttery/juddery
    #9
  11. matt blowen
    Offline

    matt blowen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2013]
    100% improvemen !!! I used a can of brake cleaner 99p fron home store
    #10

Share This Page