1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ipod dock

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by nickyh, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. nickyh

    nickyh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys

    is there a way of getting the song titles on your ipod through the dock onto the mmi screen instead of just having track numbers....

    cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not that I know of.

    The ipod dock is totally and utterly useless waste of money. I hate mine with a passion! Worst thing about the car by far. Infuriates me how **** it is especially when you think how much they charge for it...
     
  4. dc240969

    dc240969 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    1
    l dont have mmi. Using the ipod from the glovebox doesnt give me any info, which is strange as l can burn a cd and it shows the info.
     
  5. Pii

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    2
    The standard Audi iPod connection does not show any track information. CD tracks will display details as that uses a different techology. If you are using the Symphony Stereo with the inbuild CD changer then you will find that the MP3 also will not display track names.

    There is a new ipod connection called AMI I think that will allow the iPod menus and track details to be carrried into the new RNS-E display but this required the 3G/Mk2 RNS-E - Costly solution!
    If you already have sn RNS-E then you can buy an Alphine solution that carries the iPod features into the RNS through an Alpine interface. I think there was some limitations to this but can't quite remeber what.

    In summary the Audi iPod cable is not ideal - shame really!
     
  6. evapor8

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depending on how much you wanna spend, there's this:

    http://www.vwcruise.com/38.html

    I hope to (depending on my bonus!) have one of these fitted within the next 6 weeks.

    Chris

    Edit: Sorry Pii ... you'd already said that!
     
    #5 evapor8, Feb 9, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  7. phil76

    phil76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    40
    Totally agree,mine cant even find songs or albums on it half the time when i put something new on,totally not pleased with it
     
  8. Syncopix

    Syncopix OEM+

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could try the Dension products, I have the 300 model for my symphony headunit and it shows the trackname on the DIS.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page