1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ipod dock

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by nickyh, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. nickyh
    Offline

    nickyh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys

    is there a way of getting the song titles on your ipod through the dock onto the mmi screen instead of just having track numbers....

    cheers
    #1
  2. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not that I know of.

    The ipod dock is totally and utterly useless waste of money. I hate mine with a passion! Worst thing about the car by far. Infuriates me how crap it is especially when you think how much they charge for it...
    #2
  3. dc240969
    Offline

    dc240969 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    0
    l dont have mmi. Using the ipod from the glovebox doesnt give me any info, which is strange as l can burn a cd and it shows the info.
    #3
  4. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    The standard Audi iPod connection does not show any track information. CD tracks will display details as that uses a different techology. If you are using the Symphony Stereo with the inbuild CD changer then you will find that the MP3 also will not display track names.

    There is a new ipod connection called AMI I think that will allow the iPod menus and track details to be carrried into the new RNS-E display but this required the 3G/Mk2 RNS-E - Costly solution!
    If you already have sn RNS-E then you can buy an Alphine solution that carries the iPod features into the RNS through an Alpine interface. I think there was some limitations to this but can't quite remeber what.

    In summary the Audi iPod cable is not ideal - shame really!
    #4
  5. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depending on how much you wanna spend, there's this:

    http://www.vwcruise.com/38.html

    I hope to (depending on my bonus!) have one of these fitted within the next 6 weeks.

    Chris

    Edit: Sorry Pii ... you'd already said that!
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
    #5
  6. phil76
    Offline

    phil76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    2
    Totally agree,mine cant even find songs or albums on it half the time when i put something new on,totally not pleased with it
    #6
  7. Syncopix
    Offline

    Syncopix OEM+

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could try the Dension products, I have the 300 model for my symphony headunit and it shows the trackname on the DIS.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #7

Share This Page