1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

high wattage bulbs yes or no

Discussion in 'General Technical / How To' started by vw754, Feb 19, 2009.

  1. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Feb 19, 2009]
    Just wanted to KNOW can 80 watt bulbs be used in the a3 without any issues........or is this asking for trouble?????
    would of fitted hid's but dont want risk wiper motor
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. tdisportuk
    Offline

    tdisportuk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    illegal!
    #2
  4. razza1
    Offline

    razza1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    why would HIDs risk wiper motor?
    #3
  5. Flibble
    Offline

    Flibble Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    73
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    Dunno about electrical trouble, but you're asking for 3 points and a £30 fine for having illegal headlights!
    #4
  6. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    they blow!,look up hid/wipermotor a3.
    #5
  7. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,888
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    I wouldn't put 80w's in the dipped beams as they are on for long periods of time, it's one thing putting them in the main beams which are only on for limited time periods. Having them in the dipped beams would burn out the switch/wiring imo.

    Not to mention the glare for other road users :no:
    #6
  8. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 26, 2009]
    i did this a while ago and they melted the plug and the loom at the back of the bulb!!
    dont risk it .
    #7
  9. etronic
    Offline

    etronic TDI VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 22, 2009]
    DON'T do this!!!. Wiring loom will be fine but you'll destroy your lamps. Higher power of the bulb mean higer temperature of the bulb and inside your lamp. Within short time you'll burn mirror and lense (if you have one) and that will cost you few papers to replace both lamps.

    Just do a HID conversion. Much more light and less energy consumed (35W).
    #8
  10. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,888
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Apr 22, 2009]
    You say that, but I have had 100w bulbs in my mains for over almost two years now and never had any trouble.
    #9
  11. etronic
    Offline

    etronic TDI VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 22, 2009]
    I only say what i have experienced (not personally tough).

    Quite suprised that they work for such long time.
    #10
  12. JimC64
    Offline

    JimC64 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 16, 2009]
    [​IMG]


    Hi Guys, I fitted 100w bulbs into my X type Jag a few years ago and what a difference they made:jump::jump:.......literally like night n day. I too had reservations about the wiring loom etc etc but took advice from a sparky and he fitted them for me. Never had one blow and they were in there for around 14 months before i sold the car with no probs whatsoever.
    Having said that If I had to do it again I reckon I'd go for the HID conversion kit.


    Jim
    #11
  13. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    572
    [May 17, 2009]
    Why not just fit 'high ouput' 55w halaogen bulbs. Get a lot more light and stay with the law. Osram and Philips seem to be regarded as the best.

    I now have OEM Xenons but in the past I've fitted '50% more high output' bulbs to my A3s and they have made a real difference. You can now get '80% more' bulbs as well. Still rated at 55w so there is no chance of problems with the wiring and they are perfectly legal.
    #12
  14. JimC64
    Offline

    JimC64 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jun 12, 2009]
    [​IMG]


    just a week or so ago fitted 80w in my dipped beam, main beam a fogs as well as upgraded 510 w5w's in my side lights. This coupled with the led's in the rear number plate really sets the car apart at night......The output is fantastic and a really bright extreme white look with that slight blusih tinge.
    All went well and no probs to date....
    I have a post somewhere, in the A6 section I think marked as "headlight upgrade"

    Jim
    #13
  15. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Jun 13, 2009]
    i fitted so called high output Osram +85% bulbs.
    fitted one, waited till dark, could not tell which one I had changed!! useless, waste of £35, sold them on eBay.
    bought 100w bulbs for £8 each, slightly brighter but to be honest they are not even close to double the output. tried them in side and full beam with same results.
    they may draw more current but they are no hotter or at least do not appear to be. been in for over 6 months now with lots of night driving without issue.
    they are certainly not going to attract the attention of the fuzz anymore than the numerous dodgy HID kits on vauxhall nova's out there that keep blinding me!

    not hearsay...just what I experienced. everyone warned me that I would be replacing housings and burning woring out......not so far
    #14
  16. Kingfisher
    Offline

    Kingfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 1, 2009]
    You need to fit relays and heavy duty wiring first. The standard switches are likely to fail , sooner or later.
    Even 60/55 bulbs will be brighter,. It's all about voltage drop through the wire ans switches/connectors.
    I believe that the only + so much % bulbs that have proved to be better ( in a testing laboratory,) are Phillips.
    I have those fitted but not sure I can tell any difference. Relays next.
    Relays worked great in my old 80 Sport.
    #15

Share This Page