1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has my TMC packed up?

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Vertigo1, Jun 8, 2013.

  1. Jeff777LUFC
    Offline

    Jeff777LUFC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    12
    Was rectified on mine only for about a month, then it failed again. I also lost the BST summertime adjust option at the same time, so have to set the time manually. It is maybe only an issue with older 8v's as I haven't seen anyone complain lately.
    #81
  2. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    245
    Well mine went in today for another go at the failed software update.

    Cut a long story short, they tried installing the latest software on it about a month ago and it all went horribly wrong. It actually fixed the TMC and summertime problems but all voice died - no voice control and no speech from the nav.

    They were waiting for a fresh software update from Audi in Germany which was installed today. So far everything is fixed but only time will tell.
    #82
  3. mjcourtney
    Offline

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    240
    They replaced my MMI twice, and it still misbehaves on TMC. I've not had the BST issue on mine though, and I wonder whether that is only a problem on early cars with DAB?

    I had a call from the garage on Friday asking me to bring the car in for yet another MMI software update... No idea what this one is for lol
    #83
  4. keyesy
    Offline

    keyesy New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am seeing this TMC complaint right across the range i am now in contact with traffic master trying to determine weather the issue lies with the broadcasting of the TMC signals rather than the fault being with the mmi control units within the cars
    #84
  5. mjcourtney
    Offline

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    240
    I guess it could be a transmission issue. Just seems strange as when I go to the Traffic option I can see all the TMC messages, and they're all current. Its just the TMC icon which remains greyed out on the Nav display, which means the route doesn't then update if there is traffic ahead.
    #85
  6. keyesy
    Offline

    keyesy New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you ever seen it in the reverse condition where TMC is lit and there are no traffic reports coming through ?
    #86
  7. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    245
    Could be the new update mine's just had as they called me on Friday to arrange it.
    #87
  8. mjcourtney
    Offline

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    240
    Anything interesting? Or just bug fixes?
    #88
  9. mjcourtney
    Offline

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    240
    Not to my knowledge. I only tend to notice it when its greyed out.
    #89
  10. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    245
    It's the new software that's been supplied as standard on more recent cars, with the Messages option in the Telephone menu, the Wifi Music Stream functionality and a few other minor tweaks.

    Basically they tried to update the software in an effort to cure the TMC/clock issues once and for all but, when they tried it a month or so ago, it all went horribly wrong. Audi Germany eventually admitted defeat and said they'd need to produce a new version of the update as it wouldn't take properly on my car. So I've spent the last month with the new software (and working TMC and clock incidentally) but without any voice functionality - no voice control and the nav is mute.

    Today they've finally managed to get the update on properly and all is now working as it should.
    #90
  11. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    245
    BTW, I also have a "Picture Destinations" (or something like that) in the Nav menu - what on earth is this?!
    #91
  12. mjcourtney
    Offline

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    240
    That explains why I ended up with a new MMI unit but the old software then. Hopefully the update will give me the newer features too :)

    Glad yours is all sorted, time will tell if TMC behaves!
    #92

Share This Page