1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going Stage 2+

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by gilberto, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'll be going Revo stage 2+ in the next couple of weeks after buying milltek turbo back exhaust, ITG CAI and Autotech fuel pump and cam follower.

    Should i be uprating any other parts other than clutch, flywheel and clutch release bearing?
    #1
  2. S.
    Offline

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    215
    worth replacing cam follower when doing fuel pump swap (especially if the car has few thousand miles).
    oh, and rs4 fuel pressure regulator does make a difference, it's cheap part but it requires some time, and work for changing as it's located underneath intake manifold. mine was done when the car was in for clutch change...
    #2
    pinterovski likes this.
  3. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    What benefit does the RS4 fuel regulator give? Is it worth uprating the injectors, coil pack and plugs?
    #3
  4. S.
    Offline

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    215
    well it gives little more power and torque after 5000-5500rpm (and gets rid of flat spot at those rpm's on more aggressive settings).
    injectors aren't needed as s3 ones flow more than enough for stage 2+. coil packs aren't needed too. maybe spark plugs if they've been long on car before...
    #4
  5. S3Alex
    Online

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,609
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    As below,the S3 injectors will take you to around 400bhp and maybe a little more,so they'll be fine.

    Stick with regular changes of stock plugs and you'll be OK on those.

    The only thing I'd add is to make sure the brakes and suspension are up to the job.....the stock stuff is a bit near it's limits at this sort of power.
    #5
  6. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    How regular would you change the plugs?
    #6
  7. wuta3
    Offline

    wuta3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    338
    Doesn't stage2+ require an uprated intercooler or is that just non-S3 cars?
    #7
  8. DJ-S3
    Offline

    DJ-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    42
    I know for a S3 you don't need one but I've got one anyway. Too cheap to turn down :D
    #8
  9. pinterovski
    Offline

    pinterovski Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    88
    Uprated or extra intercooler makes a big difference when stg2+!
    #9
  10. phil76
    Offline

    phil76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    37
    Or water meth fitted both which keep intake temps down,intercooler you can change if you have the money but on stage2+ it should still be ok on the standard i thought ?
    #10
  11. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    What difference does it make, in terms of power/reliability?
    #11
  12. S3Alex
    Online

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,609
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    Below Stg3,whilst you do get gains,they're nowhere near as large,but in hot weather,you certainly will notice that the car's performance doesn't drop off.

    I ran mine on the stock intercooler,without WMI until Stg3,and under most conditions,you probably wouldn't notice not having them,but under heavy acceleration on a hot day,it's very obvious.

    Reliability won't be affected without them.

    I change the plugs every 10 000 miles,or less if there are any misfires.
    #12
  13. Adamj
    Offline

    Adamj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    what would happen if you got it mapped to stage 2+ then got the ic fitted after? would it have to be mapped again or can you just bolt a bigger ic on?
    #13
  14. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    I might get the plugs changed when it's in for stage 2+ as i think i'm getting occasional missfires at Stage 1. The engine light sometimes flashes for ten seconds when i'm near the limiter. Does that sound like a miss fire?
    #14
  15. S3Alex
    Online

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,609
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    You can pretty much just get the IC fitted,as nothing else needs to be altered to accomadate it,but it is a sod to fit,and needs the front bumper assembly to be removed.



    Possibly,yes,but it's worth changing them at the same time as any upgrade like this in any case.
    #15
  16. S.
    Offline

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    215
    ^^what alex said. he's a guy with the knowledge.
    but must add while additional or larger ic prevents from power drop on hot weather i've noticed that rolling in 3rd and higher gears there is a difference with ic. it keeps going harder/faster than without it.
    #16
    Kelza and S3Alex like this.
  17. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    If i'm up upgrading to a Sachs clutch what flywheel and release bearing do i need?
    #17
  18. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    Alex, whats the difference between the Sachs DMF and SMF? do these kits come with flywheel and release bearing?

    Cheers
    #18
  19. S3Alex
    Online

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,609
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    The DMF will soak up a lot of the engine vibrations and will feel smoother,whereas the SMF is lighter,and a lot harsher,especially at idle,where you will hear and feel more engine thrash.

    For high torque applications,the SMF setup is the only way,and for anything above 440lbs,you would need this,but below that you should manage on a DMF as I had with the Sachs organic.

    All the kits can be purchased in bits or as full kits,and you should replace the whole lot together ideally.
    #19
  20. david_phillips95
    Offline

    david_phillips95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    2
    I ran the Sachs clutch with the OEM LUK DMF and it was great, although mine did start slipping after just over a year of hard driving and a few 1/4 mile launches but that is to be expected. With the Sachs kit fitted and DMF you will notice a slightly heavier clutch pedal but it's well worth it for the performance gains.
    #20
  21. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    Cheers guys.

    The cars going in on Monday for Revo Stage 2+, hope the clutch doesnt pack in on the dyno.
    #21
  22. coreythorny
    Offline

    coreythorny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    69
    So which clutch are you going for then mate?

    Let us know how it holds up, I've been looking at the Loba kit but if the Sachs on the standard DMF is good enough then thats much less to spend!

    I never do launching starts and drive rather tenderly about. Only time i'd be using full stage 2+ power is overtaking from 3rd gear pulls.
    #22
  23. S3Alex
    Online

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,609
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    For what it's worth,I used the Sachs with DMF all the way to Stg3 before it eventually gave up at 440lbs.

    If you want total reliability I'd go for the Loba,but if you don't rag it,the Sachs/DMF will work.
    #23
  24. coreythorny
    Offline

    coreythorny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    69
    Sounds a good shout, if not will make a decent get out of jail free cards for a while.
    I presume there's not even any point trying to get it mapped on the standard clutch as it will just slip on the dyno?
    #24
  25. coreythorny
    Offline

    coreythorny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    69
    Also where can I find the Sach kit? Cant find anything on google, just the Helix kit from Backdraft
    #25
  26. S3Alex
    Online

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,609
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    Any decent tuner will know where to get a Sachs kit from.

    If they don't,then I would question why.

    Most cars are OK at Stg1 on the stock clutch,but most aren't on Stg2.
    #26
  27. wuta3
    Offline

    wuta3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    338
    Give Ben at Shark a ring. They sent me out a Sachs organic and DMF pronto at at a cracking price too.
    #27
  28. Kelza
    Offline

    Kelza MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    366
  29. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    I've got no clutch ordered and it's going in for stage 2+ tomorrow, is there no way i'll get away with the standard clutch?
    #29
  30. Kelza
    Offline

    Kelza MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    366
    Hi gilberto i ran a standard clutch for a year on stge 2+ revo ,ok i was running 345 bhp and it lasted ,till i traded in for the rs3 :)
    #30
  31. Kelza
    Offline

    Kelza MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    366
    But put a uprated clutch in and the power is a different story....
    #31
  32. david_phillips95
    Offline

    david_phillips95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can get away with the OEM clutch, my friend ran his like this and it lasted till he sold the car which was over a year but he never really drove the cad hard. As RS3-KEL said its a huge difference with a performance clutch, if I done it again I would run the OEM setup till it gave up then I would change it.
    #32
  33. Kelza
    Offline

    Kelza MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    366
    Funny thing is i bought a uprated dmf sachs from u david ,but i just wanted to get a rs3 so thats why i sold it on ;)
    #33
  34. david_phillips95
    Offline

    david_phillips95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah I remember you took the lot off my hands, SACHS or an RS3...I know what I would have haha
    #34
  35. coreythorny
    Offline

    coreythorny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    69
    keep us updated how it copes mate please.
    How many miles has your car done?
    #35
  36. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    It's done 25,000 miles, I'll let you know how I get on.
    #36
  37. s3 th
    Offline

    s3 th Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mines still on the stock clutch. Went stage 2+ in april and its been fine, I drive it hard at times but never launch it. How long should it be expected to last?
    #37
  38. gilberto
    Offline

    gilberto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    Is that with Revo? What power did you make?
    #38
  39. S3Alex
    Online

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,609
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    The average from virtually all of the companies is in the 360-370bhp region with HPFP,CAI and exhaust on the stock turbo.

    Thats about the maximum you can expect.
    #39
  40. s3 th
    Offline

    s3 th Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    I made 354 bhp and 367 ft/lb torque
    #40

Share This Page