1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electrical faults, windows and central locking. :(

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Darren182, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    Hi all, I've got a bit of an issue with my electric windows and central locks, so the problems are, drivers door window switches not working(passenger switch working fine) when using the key to manually unlock the door it only unlocks the drivers door then when the ignition is switched on all the doors unlock, also when the key is inserted into the door manually and held over to the lock or unlock positions the windows do not open. And my remote central locking is not working on the fob.
    So what I've tried to resolve the issues are,
    ive had the door card off and checked the wiring loom in the door, I did have a few breaks they was re soldered back together still same faults occurred, I've checked the continuity through the loom all the way from inside the drivers foot well up to the window motor and all is fine, I've had the passenger seat out and the carpet up, no water or moisture is present and I cannot see any green on any of the plugs or in the convenience control module, I've checked my feeds and earths and can signals up to the motor and all are present, I've also had vcas connected up it would not connect to the door control module and threw up a key 1 fault. I've changed the window motor in the drivers door and still not working. I've ordered a new switch to rule that out but is there anything else it could be? Any held but be great thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,811
    Likes Received:
    502
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    pull the rubber boot between car and door
    check carefully you will have broken wires
    very common,
    #2
  4. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    Already done that mate I found the earth and the small red power wires were broken I've re soldered and still the same fault
    #3
  5. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    I've also checked all the fuses and they are good to
    #4
  6. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,811
    Likes Received:
    502
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    right reading your post i read it as you found those behind the door card
    .
    #5
  7. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    check the pins in the connector they may be all green and gummed up mine was that bad some of the pins broke off!!

    you might get enough to show continuity with a multi meter but it may not be able to carry the loads required to operate the rest
    #6
  8. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    Sorry I worded it badly,I've checked the wiring between the door and the a pillar found the broken wires and repaired still same fault
    #7
  9. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    Will do that stu ill have a look now.
    #8
  10. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,811
    Likes Received:
    502
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    my next was what stu just posted
    #9
  11. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    you will need a mirror and a torch or even remove the plug
    #10
  12. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    Ok so I've just pulled the plug apart and ther is no green or pins broken
    #11
  13. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    I've currently got the door stripped and the loom and plug is out of the a pillar so I've got easy access
    #12
  14. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    I would connect it all up then check the main power cable to see if you are getting power to the door controller
    #13
  15. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    It should be around 12v shouldn't it to the motor?
    #14
  16. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    yeah it should be close to what the battery is reading

    I would do a resistance test too on the door loom while you have easy access to it
    #15
  17. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    I don't suppose the new door control module I've fitted would need programing would it?
    #16
  18. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    No I dont think it will

    its all controlled by the central control module
    #17
  19. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    What sort of figures would you expect to get on the resistance check?
    #18
  20. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    now that is really a question I cant answer!
    #19
  21. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    It's really starting to get on my nerves now, I'm a Hgv mechanic and its baffled me, I took it to my local garage and they diagnosed it at the door control unit/window motor so I've just brought one at 200 quid and it's not fixed the fault, I've herd the switches can fill with water if the window is left open so I'm goin to try that next. If that don't work then it's time for a auto electrician I think unless anyone else on here has any info.
    #20
  22. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    Put it all back together now, when locking the car manually with the key the hazards intermittently work and also the interior light works as it should. These are all checks I've carried out by looking at other people's threads
    #21
  23. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2013]
    All sorted now. I put a new window switch in and it's working, stripped the old switch down and the circuit board had lots of corrosion on the solder joints.
    #22
  24. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 29, 2013]
    and that was stopping the central locking too?

    bloody Audi and there electrics!

    glad your sorted
    #23
  25. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2013]
    The central locking is working manually on the key, I did another full scan on vag com and I have a key 1 fault, spoke to a mate of mine and apparently it needs reprogramming I only have 1 key for the car so I'm going to get another key and have them both done.
    #24
  26. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 29, 2013]
    have you tried inserting the key in the ignition and switching the ignition on press lock and unlock on the fob then turn it off?

    this usually solves most remote problems
    #25
  27. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2013]
    00955 key 1 is the fault it came up with.tryed a few different things to try getting it working again, new battery, disconnecting the car battery, and a few different button combos with the key in the ignition and in the drivers door lock
    #26
  28. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 29, 2013]
    00955 - Ross-Tech Wiki

    looks like it need adapting to the car again as you say

    this can easily be done in VCDS the dealers will charge the earth!!

    check the VCDS map to see if there is a member nearby I have VCDS and I'm in Hull yorkshire if that helps at all
    #27
  29. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2013]
    I've herd the dealer charges 140 pound a hour. A mate of mine runs a garage called cc tuning in burton he uses vcds and I'm booked in for a remap on Thursday so ill see what he says about it.
    #28
  30. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 29, 2013]
    ah thats not too bad then he should be able sort it for you
    #29
  31. Pete N Kelly Mileham
    Offline

    Pete N Kelly Mileham New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 2, 2013]
    I had the same problem with mine,I had to have a new transponder on my key fob and then recoded to the car all in all it cost me 115 quid but all sorted now:thumbsup:
    #30
  32. Darren182
    Offline

    Darren182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2013]
    Where did u get that done mate? I forgot to ask when I had my remap.
    #31
  33. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Feb 3, 2013]
    If you want your immobiliser recoding go to Audi

    if its just your cetral locking anywhere can do it who has vcds
    #32
  34. Pete N Kelly Mileham
    Offline

    Pete N Kelly Mileham New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2013]
    I just took it to a local garage who specializes in audi if I remember the transponder was 58 plus vat then his time to recode.
    #33

Share This Page