1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU changed, car wont start, immobilser problem

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by S4_dan, Sep 4, 2006.

  1. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    Right, changed ecu and car starts but then cuts out. I know the keys need recoding.

    couple of questions,

    1, is it possible to get the code from my old ecu via vag-com?

    2, is the code printed in the car documentation anywhere?

    3, if the above fail, is it defo a trip to audi??!

    cheers.

    Dan
    #1
  2. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    1. not if it's dead
    2. It's the number thats 'in' the keys thats put onto the ECU, and it's not recorded on anything that I know of.
    3. Not necessarily.

    There some pretty detailed instrucions on replacing the ECU on the VAGCOM site
    #2
  3. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,585
    Likes Received:
    270
    You may be able to recode with VAG-com mate
    #3
  4. ZeroK66
    Offline

    ZeroK66 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think you will need to somehow get the keys code... Audi may be able to get this off the key - then re-code the new ecu to match your old keys then you should be away.

    Should only take Audi 10 mins to do... but getting the car to them I imagine wont be easy! I hope there is no other damage!
    #4
  5. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    Well after calling out AA, and they wanting an immediate payment of £80 to tow me 18miles i said him "your suppose to be my friend!" he said sorry, 80 or nothing, so i kindly told him NOTHING!

    However, i noticed a plastic tag on my serivce key, opened it, found a black panel and tried scratching to see if it would do anything! and it bloody did! it gave me my 4 digit code!

    Just waiting for my mate to drop off his laptop so i can recode the ecu.

    Thank you to all the peeps who has posted on my last few threads, you have all being a big help. espicially JBOB (rs246) for selling me an ecu and even bringing it to me this morning.

    Cheers guys and thank you.

    will let you know how the recode goes asap!
    #5
  6. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    you'll be fine then, the 4 digit code means you have IMMO-II.
    #6
  7. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,585
    Likes Received:
    270
    WWWOOOHHHOO i hope it all goes well for ya, keep us posted
    #7
  8. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    PI$$ED OFF is an understatement!

    the code on the plastic tag belongs to someone elses poor audi and not mine! the chassis number printed above the code does not mach mine yet ive got the tag!!

    having another bad day!
    #8
  9. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    Contact Audi UK as your dealer will be unable to help as I have now been told. They will cantact Germany and get you your key code you might have to go to the dealer and produce your Doc's as proof.
    #9
  10. madkebab
    Offline

    madkebab Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should be able to do this without any keys using VAG-COM. I replaced the ECU on my 1.8T with no problems at all. I know excursion did as well. Do a search on here as it has been covered a couple of times.
    #10
  11. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    Just sat here thinking about this. All you should have to do is code in the ECU to the car as the immobiliser module is in the boot and unaffected.
    #11
  12. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    The key codes are also stored in the dash clocks too. You could get them from there...
    #12
  13. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    Right, got it sorted finally. I dont need the code after aLL!!

    With my car having the immo generation II, i just needed to use vagcom to make my ecu a 'virgin' if you like, so when i put my key in and turn the ignition on, it recodes the key!

    So im happy a larry (whoever the F*$k he is?!).

    but i did run vag com and some faults came up, i cleared them but some came back, i'll post the results up in another thread.

    Dan
    #13
  14. Danielson
    Offline

    Danielson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    glad you got it running again, must have been really annoying.
    #14

Share This Page