1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Double Din

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by bioharry, Dec 4, 2004.

  1. bioharry
    Offline

    bioharry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 4, 2004]
    Hi guys,

    Hope you are all well, I have a quick question regarding the radio install.

    I am looking at getting a 2001 S3 and installing the nav unit. I have only seen one S3 so far and it had a single din unit without BOSE.

    I believe I need a car with a double din therefore what makes a car have a double and some have a single?

    Thanks

    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. ImS3ola
    Offline

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 4, 2004]
    This has been discussed before, but to sum up:

    If you want to install satnav plus, it's best if you find a car with a double din headunit. If the car has a Syphony stereo then it will be double din. The Symphony headunit has a cd player (some have a 6 cd changer inbuilt) and a tape player.

    Concert headunit will be single din.

    THIS page outlines the different audi headunits. Scroll down to bottom for newer units.

    The BOSE stereo upgrade can have either a Concert or a Symphony headunit. My car doesn't have BOSE but it has the Symphony double din headunit.

    Good luck with the search /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
    #2
  4. PaulRS3
    Online

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 4, 2004]
    Symphony II has built in 6disc changer.
    #3
  5. bioharry
    Offline

    bioharry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2004]
    Thanks for the information,

    Is it possible to modify the dash to fit a sat nav install? or is it not worth the hastle?

    So with the Symphony II do you feed it 6CD's into the main slot? seems very wierd!
    #4
  6. PaulRS3
    Online

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 5, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    bioharry said:


    So with the Symphony II do you feed it 6CD's into the main slot? seems very wierd!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    yes, all through the same single slot, it shuffles and sorts them internally.

    #5
  7. ImS3ola
    Offline

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2004]
    If you buy a car with the single din, it's possible to fit the satnav+ but you'll need:

    Double din cage/cradle to hold unit
    Climate control unit that fits in bottom of centre console.

    These things come up on ebay from time to time, but they still cost a fair bit for what they are.
    #6
  8. monty77
    Offline

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2004]
    I have a double DIN centre console and I'd like a single DIN one so there are people out there who's swap if you get one that's single DIN /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    Cheers,
    Adam
    #7
  9. manxman
    Offline

    manxman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2004]
    Is symphony to symphony II a straight swap?
    #8

Share This Page