1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Double Din

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by bioharry, Dec 4, 2004.

  1. bioharry

    bioharry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Hope you are all well, I have a quick question regarding the radio install.

    I am looking at getting a 2001 S3 and installing the nav unit. I have only seen one S3 so far and it had a single din unit without BOSE.

    I believe I need a car with a double din therefore what makes a car have a double and some have a single?

    Thanks

     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. ImS3ola

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has been discussed before, but to sum up:

    If you want to install satnav plus, it's best if you find a car with a double din headunit. If the car has a Syphony stereo then it will be double din. The Symphony headunit has a cd player (some have a 6 cd changer inbuilt) and a tape player.

    Concert headunit will be single din.

    THIS page outlines the different audi headunits. Scroll down to bottom for newer units.

    The BOSE stereo upgrade can have either a Concert or a Symphony headunit. My car doesn't have BOSE but it has the Symphony double din headunit.

    Good luck with the search /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  4. PaulRS3

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    98
    Symphony II has built in 6disc changer.
     
  5. bioharry

    bioharry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the information,

    Is it possible to modify the dash to fit a sat nav install? or is it not worth the hastle?

    So with the Symphony II do you feed it 6CD's into the main slot? seems very wierd!
     
  6. PaulRS3

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    98
    [ QUOTE ]
    bioharry said:


    So with the Symphony II do you feed it 6CD's into the main slot? seems very wierd!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    yes, all through the same single slot, it shuffles and sorts them internally.

     
  7. ImS3ola

    ImS3ola Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you buy a car with the single din, it's possible to fit the satnav+ but you'll need:

    Double din cage/cradle to hold unit
    Climate control unit that fits in bottom of centre console.

    These things come up on ebay from time to time, but they still cost a fair bit for what they are.
     
  8. monty77

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a double DIN centre console and I'd like a single DIN one so there are people out there who's swap if you get one that's single DIN /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    Cheers,
    Adam
     
  9. manxman

    manxman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is symphony to symphony II a straight swap?
     

Share This Page