1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Home Lights Not Working

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Rom, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've just Retro fitted the leaving / coming home lights mod.

    Coded it all in, leaving home works fine, so I assume the wiring side is fine, as it's only one wire.

    Coding wise, I followed the guide. Bytes 5 and 7 are checked, adaptation is set to 30 secs for both.

    The guide suggests they should just by starting engine, then turning off and removing key?
    So there's no minimum time of running before they will activate?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. monopole

    monopole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    354
    Was it dark out?
     
  4. Mikemc

    Mikemc Scooby Slayer
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    35
    It doesn't matter if he doesn't have the auto lights, I retrofitted mine a week ago, and found that I had to earth the cable then wrap it up in insulated tape as it seemed to toggle itself off
     
  5. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    Don't have auto lights ^^

    The cable has a proper ring terminal crimped on, which is insulated. So there's no exsposed wire.

    The fact leaving home works, makes me think it's more a coding issue.
    I checked my module, it's high spec one, so that should be fine.
     
  6. L333fow

    L333fow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just try activate the additional dis options, did that on mine and they started to work, it gives the option to adjust the times too
     
  7. Mikemc

    Mikemc Scooby Slayer
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    35
    How do you do this mate? What section is it under?
     
  8. L333fow

    L333fow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    No that I'm not sure on! I don't own vcds I have it done for me! I believe it's in central electronics (where the c/h & l/h options are)
    and into long coder and its either called dis addition features or dis comfort or something along them lines
     
  9. Mikemc

    Mikemc Scooby Slayer
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ok mate cheers ill have a browse later!
     
  10. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    It depends what year your car is as to whether you have got the necessary control module. Look in central electrics for DIS additional features.

    I did Lee's for him and I forget what year his is but my 2006 sportback does not have the same facility. Anything before 2006 has no chance !

    Lee - why did you hit the dislike button on Mikemc's post ???
     
  11. L333fow

    L333fow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Didn't know I had actually! Thats what you get for quickly replying on iphone! How do i get rid?Mines 2007

    sorted it! Sorry about that
     
  12. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Nice one Lee - thought it might be a 'fatfingers' job !
     
  13. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well mines an 04. Dont remember seeing anything like that.

    I did find an option for something like lh/ch activation 0 = something 1 = something.
    But didnt look like I needed it, more for auto lights or something.

    I'll have a look tom when I get time. But did notice lh didnt work when I went to car after work, but did when I tried it once I was home.
    So I'll recheck the wire just to be sure.
     
  14. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Disconnect the wire and see if they work. If they don't then 'flash the wire to earth and try again.

    The system works on a ' toggle on - toggle off ' basis so the wire shouldn't be connected permanently. When it works just tape up the end of the wire and stash it. If you want to turn them off then flash it again.

    Your DIS will not have the additional options so you can't switch them on and off that way.
     
  15. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    So the wire doesnt need to be constantly earthed ? Just earthed once to activate / de activate the system ? Then you could disconnected, and it should remain working as described ?
     
  16. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Yeah - got it in one !
     
  17. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    Right. Disconnected the wire, nothing worked. Shorted it once. Leaving home works fine, everytime I've tried it. Before it had stopped working.

    Coming home is odd, the dipped flick on then off, and sides flash 3-5 times.
    Also side flash when I turn key on after leaving home is active.

    I have t8ps led sides, but no errors on dash, and they work for for leaving.
    Going to try disabling coming home if it's an option. See what that does.
     
  18. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    Still at a loss with this.
    Disconnected side lights incase they were the cause, dipped beams fllickered when key removed.

    For now ive disabled coming home.
    But even leaving home doesnt seem to work everytime i unlock the car.

    Wire is now disconnected.

    Any ideas ?
     
  19. OVRA3

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    80
    The led side will always flash on start up as the car checks the lights. Interested in this as I want ch lh on my 2005 it's starting to seem like its not a goer
     
  20. Boon

    Boon Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    54
    I done this quite some time ago on mine - the mod. Works for both ch/lh 24/7 as I don't have the light sensor

    If you've followed the guide it should work... Have you checked the timing values in the adaptions? - sorry cant think of the adaption channel off hand
     
  21. OVRA3

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    80
    It seems hit and miss from what I've read must be getting the coding bang on
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Boon

    Boon Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    54
    The coding is the simplest part tbh, you just 'tick' the boxes

    iirc there are two boxes to tick for coming home & leaving home and the one for the light sensor needs to be left unchecked
     
  24. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah, i originally changed the value for leaving from 60 to 30, but also tried it back to 60 just to check.

    As it is now, ive only ticked leaving, as coming didnt work anyway. But obviously had them both ticked the first time.
    Light sensor is un checked still yeah.

    Ill plug it back in tom and write them down to be sure.
    I did follow the guide, which is why im a bit confused. I just been out to pick gf, unlocked car, and nothing came on.
    Came home, locked it, just tried as i type this, and they came on. Is there a limit, or something ? As ealier i had locked unlocked locked unlocked over and over. Should they come on everytime i unlock ? Or does it need to be cycled, like ignition on to reset before they will come on again etc ?
     
  25. Mikemc

    Mikemc Scooby Slayer
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    35
    When opening the car with the unlock button, for me, it will continually activate the lights, but when getting out the car and locking works just the once after turning engine off
     
  26. Boon

    Boon Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    54
    Yes mine work just the same

    Have you had any problems with the drivers door? As opening this also activates/disables the timer and turns lights on or off respectively. It may be thinking that the door has been opened?
     
  27. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    I was trying the coming home with the door open mostly :ninja: Though i did try it once incase it mattered.

    Not had any issues with the drivers door at all, with regards to locking, window etc.

    I thought maybe i was upsetting it by locking / unlocking so much. And maybe thats why it worked after it had been kind if reset after a drive.
     
  28. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ive never noticed this before, though in all honesty, ive never looked.
    But how does it know it had LED? As they should be normal 501 bulbs. I thought the test procedure it done was more based on resistance ? If resistance is out of spec, but is faulty, and error comes up.
     
  29. OVRA3

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    80
    I think it's because they need so little power.. Mine flash about 5 tomes on start up.. Looks coooool ;-)
     
  30. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    That's cold diagnosis for you with led's :)
     
  31. Mikemc

    Mikemc Scooby Slayer
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    35
    The only time my lights go off is when I open the door after unlocking it, or obviously the time elapses
     
    #29 Mikemc, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  32. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    Think I'm officially beaten.
    I give up.

    Ch will not work, not matter what I do. Lh will work sometimes.
    If I unlock, and it doest work, if i keep locking and unlocking, eventually they come on.

    Ho hum. So much for a simple mod :)
     
  33. theo289

    theo289 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    11
    i've got an audi a3 tdi 2007 sportback - could the leaving lights be coded on this?

    Thanks!
     
  34. Mikemc

    Mikemc Scooby Slayer
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    35
    It worked for me on a 55, I'm sure after a certain year it's not so easy? Ill try find the thread I used
     
  35. Topon87

    Topon87 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does any one no if this product will work on a audi a3, automatic head light kit? TYPE THIS IN ON EBAY!!
    (OEM VW Auto Automatic Headlight Sensor and Controller Golf Jetta Passat EOS
    Watch)

    audi do is part of vw group
     

Share This Page