1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Home Lights Not Working

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Rom, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    I've just Retro fitted the leaving / coming home lights mod.

    Coded it all in, leaving home works fine, so I assume the wiring side is fine, as it's only one wire.

    Coding wise, I followed the guide. Bytes 5 and 7 are checked, adaptation is set to 30 secs for both.

    The guide suggests they should just by starting engine, then turning off and removing key?
    So there's no minimum time of running before they will activate?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 24, 2014]

  3. monopole
    Offline

    monopole pro-monopole-ish-ism-istic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    165
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Was it dark out?
    #2
  4. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    It doesn't matter if he doesn't have the auto lights, I retrofitted mine a week ago, and found that I had to earth the cable then wrap it up in insulated tape as it seemed to toggle itself off
    #3
  5. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Don't have auto lights ^^

    The cable has a proper ring terminal crimped on, which is insulated. So there's no exsposed wire.

    The fact leaving home works, makes me think it's more a coding issue.
    I checked my module, it's high spec one, so that should be fine.
    #4
  6. L333fow
    Offline

    L333fow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Just try activate the additional dis options, did that on mine and they started to work, it gives the option to adjust the times too
    #5
  7. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    How do you do this mate? What section is it under?
    #6
  8. L333fow
    Offline

    L333fow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    No that I'm not sure on! I don't own vcds I have it done for me! I believe it's in central electronics (where the c/h & l/h options are)
    and into long coder and its either called dis addition features or dis comfort or something along them lines
    #7
  9. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Ok mate cheers ill have a browse later!
    #8
  10. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    It depends what year your car is as to whether you have got the necessary control module. Look in central electrics for DIS additional features.

    I did Lee's for him and I forget what year his is but my 2006 sportback does not have the same facility. Anything before 2006 has no chance !

    Lee - why did you hit the dislike button on Mikemc's post ???
    #9
  11. L333fow
    Offline

    L333fow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Didn't know I had actually! Thats what you get for quickly replying on iphone! How do i get rid?Mines 2007

    sorted it! Sorry about that
    #10
  12. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Nice one Lee - thought it might be a 'fatfingers' job !
    #11
  13. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Well mines an 04. Dont remember seeing anything like that.

    I did find an option for something like lh/ch activation 0 = something 1 = something.
    But didnt look like I needed it, more for auto lights or something.

    I'll have a look tom when I get time. But did notice lh didnt work when I went to car after work, but did when I tried it once I was home.
    So I'll recheck the wire just to be sure.
    #12
  14. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Disconnect the wire and see if they work. If they don't then 'flash the wire to earth and try again.

    The system works on a ' toggle on - toggle off ' basis so the wire shouldn't be connected permanently. When it works just tape up the end of the wire and stash it. If you want to turn them off then flash it again.

    Your DIS will not have the additional options so you can't switch them on and off that way.
    #13
  15. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    So the wire doesnt need to be constantly earthed ? Just earthed once to activate / de activate the system ? Then you could disconnected, and it should remain working as described ?
    #14
  16. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Yeah - got it in one !
    #15
  17. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 23, 2013]
    Right. Disconnected the wire, nothing worked. Shorted it once. Leaving home works fine, everytime I've tried it. Before it had stopped working.

    Coming home is odd, the dipped flick on then off, and sides flash 3-5 times.
    Also side flash when I turn key on after leaving home is active.

    I have t8ps led sides, but no errors on dash, and they work for for leaving.
    Going to try disabling coming home if it's an option. See what that does.
    #16
  18. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 23, 2013]
    Still at a loss with this.
    Disconnected side lights incase they were the cause, dipped beams fllickered when key removed.

    For now ive disabled coming home.
    But even leaving home doesnt seem to work everytime i unlock the car.

    Wire is now disconnected.

    Any ideas ?
    #17
  19. OVRA3
    Offline

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Mar 23, 2013]
    The led side will always flash on start up as the car checks the lights. Interested in this as I want ch lh on my 2005 it's starting to seem like its not a goer
    #18
  20. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Mar 23, 2013]
    I done this quite some time ago on mine - the mod. Works for both ch/lh 24/7 as I don't have the light sensor

    If you've followed the guide it should work... Have you checked the timing values in the adaptions? - sorry cant think of the adaption channel off hand
    #19
  21. OVRA3
    Offline

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Mar 23, 2013]
    It seems hit and miss from what I've read must be getting the coding bang on
    #20
  22. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Mar 23, 2013]
    The coding is the simplest part tbh, you just 'tick' the boxes

    iirc there are two boxes to tick for coming home & leaving home and the one for the light sensor needs to be left unchecked
    #21
  23. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 23, 2013]
    Yeah, i originally changed the value for leaving from 60 to 30, but also tried it back to 60 just to check.

    As it is now, ive only ticked leaving, as coming didnt work anyway. But obviously had them both ticked the first time.
    Light sensor is un checked still yeah.

    Ill plug it back in tom and write them down to be sure.
    I did follow the guide, which is why im a bit confused. I just been out to pick gf, unlocked car, and nothing came on.
    Came home, locked it, just tried as i type this, and they came on. Is there a limit, or something ? As ealier i had locked unlocked locked unlocked over and over. Should they come on everytime i unlock ? Or does it need to be cycled, like ignition on to reset before they will come on again etc ?
    #22
  24. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 23, 2013]
    When opening the car with the unlock button, for me, it will continually activate the lights, but when getting out the car and locking works just the once after turning engine off
    #23
  25. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Mar 23, 2013]
    Yes mine work just the same

    Have you had any problems with the drivers door? As opening this also activates/disables the timer and turns lights on or off respectively. It may be thinking that the door has been opened?
    #24
  26. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 24, 2013]
    I was trying the coming home with the door open mostly :ninja: Though i did try it once incase it mattered.

    Not had any issues with the drivers door at all, with regards to locking, window etc.

    I thought maybe i was upsetting it by locking / unlocking so much. And maybe thats why it worked after it had been kind if reset after a drive.
    #25
  27. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 24, 2013]
    Ive never noticed this before, though in all honesty, ive never looked.
    But how does it know it had LED? As they should be normal 501 bulbs. I thought the test procedure it done was more based on resistance ? If resistance is out of spec, but is faulty, and error comes up.
    #26
  28. OVRA3
    Offline

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Mar 24, 2013]
    I think it's because they need so little power.. Mine flash about 5 tomes on start up.. Looks coooool ;-)
    #27
  29. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,369
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    That's cold diagnosis for you with led's :)
    #28
  30. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    The only time my lights go off is when I open the door after unlocking it, or obviously the time elapses
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
    #29
  31. Rom
    Offline

    Rom Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    Think I'm officially beaten.
    I give up.

    Ch will not work, not matter what I do. Lh will work sometimes.
    If I unlock, and it doest work, if i keep locking and unlocking, eventually they come on.

    Ho hum. So much for a simple mod :)
    #30
  32. theo289
    Offline

    theo289 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    i've got an audi a3 tdi 2007 sportback - could the leaving lights be coded on this?

    Thanks!
    #31
  33. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    It worked for me on a 55, I'm sure after a certain year it's not so easy? Ill try find the thread I used
    #32
  34. Topon87
    Offline

    Topon87 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2013]
    Does any one no if this product will work on a audi a3, automatic head light kit? TYPE THIS IN ON EBAY!!
    (OEM VW Auto Automatic Headlight Sensor and Controller Golf Jetta Passat EOS
    Watch)

    audi do is part of vw group
    #33

Share This Page