1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A4 TDI Starting issues

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Connor_scotland, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. Connor_scotland
    Offline

    Connor_scotland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Hey All

    My Car – Audi A4 Avant TDI 1998
    Its had new glow plugs

    I am down to sorting the last problem on the Audi J

    Right when I go to start it in the morning I need to warm the glow plugs a good 5 times this seems to be because the “glow plug light” literally comes on for a second then flicks off so I assume the plugs are not getting a good heat to start.

    The garage checked the car out and said all the glow plugs are fine. They are unsure on what to do?

    I need to heat them a good 5 times to get the car to start.

    Car runs perfect and will start first time when its warm.

    Any ideas?
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. jonnycraig
    Offline

    jonnycraig Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Sounds like air might be getting into the fuel lines during the night causing it to be more difficult to start, used to happen to my fathers car so he used to park it point down hill over night, it worked until he got it fixed turned out to be the fuel line connectors to the pump.

    Hope this helps

    JC
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011
    #2
  4. Connor_scotland
    Offline

    Connor_scotland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Unfortunatley I stay in in the flattest area lol so no joy for that.

    Is there any way to check that?

    Also would that effect the glow plug light just flicking off as on my old Ibiza TDI it used to stay on a few seconds weather depending and all that.

    Today its minus 1 and it just flicked off within a second lol
    #3
  5. Connor_scotland
    Offline

    Connor_scotland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Also my mate just emailed me this having a pop at what he thinks it is

    "
    Potentially defective engine coolant temperature sensor.

    The management system uses a signal from this sensor to determine whether your plugs need to be pre-heated or not. On warm days or when your engine is already hot the management system either heats the plugs for a very short time or doesn't pre-heat them at all."
    #4
  6. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,864
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    CTS can cause the problem you have
    worth a try easy to fit and not much cost
    #5
  7. jonnycraig
    Offline

    jonnycraig Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Similarly see if anyone around has VAGCOM to get the codes off and see if it picks up anything.
    #6
  8. Connor_scotland
    Offline

    Connor_scotland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    #7
  9. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,864
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    im not sure if the will fit your car last 1 i got for a diesel was black
    your better off geting OEM from audi or gsf
    around 20 quid
    you can download a free version off vcds but to be honest its ****
    only does limited things
    #8
  10. Connor_scotland
    Offline

    Connor_scotland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    Will check the colour of mine tonight when Im done at work but this looks promising. Its pissing me off lol

    I will try find a cracked version of it hopefully :)

    Thanks lads

    Any other ideas?
    #9
  11. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Feb 3, 2011]
    what engine code is it? temp sensors in the plastic coolant housing on the back end of the head.
    #10
  12. adamss24
    Offline

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,379
    Likes Received:
    181
    [Feb 4, 2011]
    I would also check the timing for the injector pump, if too advanced/retarded you will also experience hard starts...
    #11
  13. Connor_scotland
    Offline

    Connor_scotland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2011]
    Sorry where about is the cooling sensor?

    Whats strange is today the light stayed on and the car started no problem but yesterday it took 5 times lol
    #12
  14. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Feb 7, 2011]
    follow the top radiator hose back towards the engine, and you should find the sensor. Its a 4 pin square plug probably located behind the cylinder head.

    Before doing any of that though, why dont you actually diagnose the problem...

    Get the car hooked up to vagcom and view the coolant temperature, and see if there are any coolant sensor related fault codes.
    #13
  15. Connor_scotland
    Offline

    Connor_scotland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 8, 2011]
    I have Vagcom but it wont load up.

    I have installed it and using my OBD2 cable connecting it to the car but it just doesnt find it. Gives an error about my OBD2 port been invalid and there is no config file.

    I have another program which I lets me connect the car but its showing no error codes as the EM light is not on.
    #14
  16. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Feb 8, 2011]
    Your car doesnt have OBD2.

    A random cable wont work, you need a lead designed for vagcom. They're on ebay for about a tenner.
    #15
  17. Connor_scotland
    Offline

    Connor_scotland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    My car does have an OBD2 port as i managed to run another diagnostic cable on the car to check some sensors.

    Could you send me a link to the cable bud?
    #16
  18. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,113
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    It has the standard port but uses a different signal protocols to communicate with the equipment on the car.

    Go to ebay and search for VAG-COM or VCDS.
    I would get the link for you but i can't use Ebay in work.
    #17
  19. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    I didnt say you car didnt have an OBD2 Port, i said it doesnt have OBD2!

    As Axios says, it uses its own VAG protocol for the diagnostics, not the standardised OBD2 protocols.

    My lead looks something like this: VAG COM USB DIAGNOSTIC CABLE 409.1 OBD2 II LEAD VAG-COM on eBay (end time 22-Feb-11 13:00:32 GMT)
    #18

Share This Page