Another Egr Post - Sorry! Cleaner/maf Query

J1 MBO

Reaction score
I know EGR is a common subject on here but I am a relative newbie on the forums and could't find any answers. I'm also a novice mechanic when it comes to these complicated engines!

I have a 2008 2.0tdi 170 engine in my avant Special Edition. Have hesitation at 1800rpm that has gradually got worse over the last 12 months. Have considered stopping the EGR off and cleaning but think people have mixed results on solving the hesitation so thought I'd try the Wynns EGR cleaner to see if it made a difference before complete strip down and clean - my issue now is where to introduce the cleaner without damaging the MAF as I have no idea where this is - an embarrassing state of knowledge and severe loss of man points!!

Any pointers would be appreciated!

If its hesitating at around 1800rpm its quite likely to be the vacuum unit on the inlet manifold. They have a diaphragm inside which splits causing these symptoms. Cheap enough part , about £10, if you can fit yourself

Reactions: J1 MBO
If its hesitating at around 1800rpm its quite likely to be the vacuum unit on the inlet manifold. They have a diaphragm inside which splits causing these symptoms. Cheap enough part , about £10, if you can fit yourself
Thanks, if its easy enough, I'll replace it?!?
Used the EGR cleaner today and seems to have got rid of the hesitation, but not sure for how long!! Have now bought the seal kit so will strip it down and clean it properly so its totally ruled out!

This pic shows what it looks like, if you have a plastic inlet manifold then you won't have this part fitted anyway.

To fit a new one you need to remove the egr valve , there is a detailed thread on here somewhere showing how to do it, then remove the inlet manifold, about 9 bolts that all came out easy on mine.
You can then see how the new part fits on to the manifold.
If I can do it anyone can :)

Attachments

• vac.jpg
    vac.jpg
    25.3 KB · Views: 675