1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AmD One Click GB finishing on March 12th

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Wak, Mar 4, 2004.

  1. Wak
    Offline

    Wak Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2004]
    Chaps,
    I now some of you have posted interest on TTF and TTQ on the AmD 1.8T One Click Group buy.

    I have posted details and deposits are needed , please come and check out the latest post and instructions.

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. ha3t
    Offline

    ha3t New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2004]
    sorry bit confused.
    Where are the details posted. which forum exactly should i be looking for.
    Very interested
    #2
  4. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2004]
    So i can still get in if i ring amd and place a deposit?regards Ryan
    #3
  5. domcj
    Offline

    domcj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2004]
    Sorted mine out a while ago when I was up there on a rolling road day
    #4
  6. S3_MCD
    Offline

    S3_MCD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    DickyS3 said:
    I believe so! Just paid mine. Can't wait!

    Cheers
    Rich.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Likewise /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif car is in stealer all next week to get steering (warranty) sorted ..... hopefully will be all better in time for OC release.

    Rich, u still up for trying to get RR done at same time, good to put some names to faces.

    cant wait, cant wait, cant wait !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif
    #5
  7. garethj
    Offline

    garethj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 9, 2004]
    No one going to comment on the pricing then ?
    #6
  8. MushroomMan
    Offline

    MushroomMan Sucemabite

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 9, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    garethj said:
    The one-click tuning solution from AMD seems to be a little strangely priced. Surely if you don't need to visit AMD for a generic remap it should be a lot cheaper.

    Originally the one-click was to be exclusive to AMD, now that has changed and the solution will be offered by other tuners. Usually exclusive deals are more expensive as you have to pay for all the development cost, this cost is now to be spread across many other tuners. So why is it that the price has rocketed up when the cost base should have gone down ??

    No doubt someone from AMD can explain this but at the moment it doesn't seem to make a lot of sense unless you get in on this group buy.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It's all to do with market dynamics. The real problem is the product is relatively late to market and the punters that wanted a so-called undetectable re-map have mostly gone to other tuners, leaving a smaller residue of potential but perhaps more discerning clients. One should remember that the market for switchable chips is finite and AMD have taken some time developing their solution. It may well be a superior product but the downside is it is more expensive as they need to recoup development costs across a smaller customer base. The marketing literature for the one click has been out for some time, I seem to recall reading about it last Autumn, but the fact is the product is only just about ready now. I'm sure it will be worth the wait if you don't mind paying.

    #7
  9. DavidR
    Offline

    DavidR Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 10, 2004]
    I really ought to do my research before saying this (but I cannot be bothered!). I was under the impression that the one-click system was different to other similar OBDII port tuning systems in that the one-click box stores the OEM ECU code, reprograms the ECU with the AmD modified code and also the reverse. So, before going to the dealer you reflash the OEM code and your car IS stock, rather than with APR / REVO when the several programs are on the car permanently and you switch between them. Is this correct.

    If so, perhaps this explains the extra price, as you are aquiring a farily sophisticated and potentially expensive bit of hardware to enable the above features. Figure that the APR software is about £500 plus £200 for cruise and the prices are not that far away.

    AmD have always been more pricey than certain competitors, although cheaper than MTM and AbT.

    Not an answer, just a suggestion??.....
    #8
  10. Banwell
    Offline

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 10, 2004]
    Agreed.

    But I think the point was that historic performance measures, say on the boost levels you've been running will indicate that the car has been running a different ECU map at some stage, and ring alarm bells at the dealer.

    I don't know how long the ECU stores this info for though...
    #9
  11. Banwell
    Offline

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 10, 2004]
    I'd point out that the system is also different from the competition as it allows quick and easy adjustments to the code follwoing other performance additions carried out by AMD.. Maybe it's not a bad product for them afterall - customer loyalty required?
    #10
  12. DavidR
    Offline

    DavidR Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 10, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Lees3 said:
    Agreed.

    But I think the point was that historic performance measures, say on the boost levels you've been running will indicate that the car has been running a different ECU map at some stage, and ring alarm bells at the dealer.

    I don't know how long the ECU stores this info for though...


    [/ QUOTE ]

    My dealer has just phoned me to tell me that they cannot hear a squeal coming from one of the compressor belts at the front of the engine. People stop in the street due to the noise at the moment. I suspect with this level of diagnostic expertise, they are unlikely to interrogate the historical log of peak boost settings let alone even have the faintest clue of how to interpret them.

    Seriously though, my understanding was that there was no record of historical peak boost, only DTCs if boost limits / rpm limits have been exceeded. It would be fairly easy to reset the ECU prior to the dealer having it, and I'm sure the clever people at AmD have programmed their system to reset specific parameters upon installation of new software programs.
    #11
  13. DavidR
    Offline

    DavidR Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 10, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Lees3 said:
    I'd point out that the system is also different from the competition as it allows quick and easy adjustments to the code follwoing other performance additions carried out by AMD.. Maybe it's not a bad product for them afterall - customer loyalty required?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    ...Indeed so.

    You can get the latest update of software online (I guess a bit like updating your road angel) and then upload onto the car. However, if you modify exhausts etc, then you need to use the rolling road to optimise the software specifically for your car and then the benefit is slight (APR allow the new ECU program to be flashed online at the dealers following a RR recalibration)

    Personally, I am a little uncomfortable having so much scope to alter parameters without the expert advise and parameter backup of a rolling road run. I would want to be clear that the car was fine before and running optimally after each modification to avoid costly breakages and / or long term reliability issues. However, if you live miles away from AmD, want a standard off the shelf remap then they are the business.
    #12
  14. Banwell
    Offline

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 10, 2004]
    Agree /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    And ofcourse you can always get a decent feel for the ECU map on your way down to Bicester /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif


    #13
  15. garethj
    Offline

    garethj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 10, 2004]
    Guys great to see the discussion starting to build on this new option, remember there are only two days of the group buy left before a serious price hike kicks in.

    If it is true that you will be provided with new updates for free (or minimal cost) then the price starts to get better but I still think it is way too high for a generic remap. The merits of the product are many and as discussed above are probably superior to some if not all other products on the market, none of that is in question.

    On the question of ECU history, the older ECUs do not have an huge capacity of memory so I doubt there would be many tell tale signs of a code swap. Peak boost levels alone cannot really be used as there are circumstances where boost can jump significantly for a very short period.
    #14
  16. Stormcatcher
    Offline

    Stormcatcher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 10, 2004]
    Just visited AMD today and they told me about the One Click program.

    The program for the S3 is due in about 3 weeks time or so.

    Anyone planning on doing a group buy for the S3 on here?
    #15
  17. audi_girl
    Offline

    audi_girl Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 10, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Lees3 said:
    I'd point out that the system is also different from the competition as it allows quick and easy adjustments to the code follwoing other performance additions carried out by AMD.. Maybe it's not a bad product for them afterall - customer loyalty required?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Don't other tuners offer similar products - V-tune from APR for example? Or have I misunderstood what you said...
    #16
  18. garethj
    Offline

    garethj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 11, 2004]
    David R

    Just noticed in one of your earlier posts that you compared APR's pricing with AMD's. Interesting that you included APR's cruise control option to make the prices similar, if you include the £275+VAT that AMD charge for cruise then that takes AMD's solution to nearly £1200 i.e double the price.

    Something has got to give with this pricing, in the days when it took a day to rechip the car etc the pricing wasn't too bad and the skills required were very specialist. Now with port tuning any Tom **** or Harry can do the work (once the new map is developed) so why the high price.
    #17
  19. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 11, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    garethj said:
    David R

    Just noticed in one of your earlier posts that you compared APR's pricing with AMD's. Interesting that you included APR's cruise control option to make the prices similar, if you include the £275+VAT that AMD charge for cruise then that takes AMD's solution to nearly £1200 i.e double the price.

    Something has got to give with this pricing, in the days when it took a day to rechip the car etc the pricing wasn't too bad and the skills required were very specialist. Now with port tuning any Tom **** or Harry can do the work (once the new map is developed) so why the high price.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    He used the pice of cruise control as then its similar to the AmD version. With APR, you have to have the cruise control to swap between maps, where as with the one-click, you have to use the box to do it. Just a different way of doing things.

    Rich
    #18
  20. garethj
    Offline

    garethj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 11, 2004]
    I realised that, I was pointing out that for half the price you could get cruise fitted as well.
    #19
  21. garethj
    Offline

    garethj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 11, 2004]
    Although it seems that getting a TDI tuned by JBR is the best bet as according to your website it is free. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif
    #20
  22. Loach
    Offline

    Loach New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 12, 2004]
    But with the APR option you do get the additional usage day to day of the cruise control and multiple programs, do AmD offer 98 octane programs, valet mode, or four different programs and security???

    Isn't there enough adaption in the Bosch system to not need a custom rewrite for an exhaust, air filter etc... I thought these systems ran on Lambda so would adapt to suit!
    If you were using something like V-Tune you would only need to do some simple datalogging like some of the tuners do to make changes, it's not really rocket science anymore!
    #21
  23. Stormcatcher
    Offline

    Stormcatcher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 27, 2004]
    Thanks for all the effort and time you took to try and make this work.

    I still plan on going to AMD for my remap.

    You can't keep a good company down.
    #22

Share This Page