1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 Concert fault - Amplifier fault ??

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by v1nny, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. v1nny
    Offline

    v1nny New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2006]
    Hi all,

    Need some advice really..... My Concert stereo comes on, lights up and everything but no sound. Also, I`m getting a shorting sound from the speakers, like 2 wires touching together.

    I think the Amp on the stereo has blown. Any ideas ?? :ermm:

    Does anyone know if the Amp is built into the Concert stereo (non BOSE) set up. If so, I think I`ll change to a aftermarket unit.

    With afterarket units, does anyone know if I will need a DIN to ISO adapter and Areial adapter ??

    Any advice will be great.

    Thanks all
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Oct 29, 2006]
    If it's non Bose then you have 2 amps. One for the rears (and sub if the cabriolet has one) and the internal HU amp for the fronts, so it is unlikely they've both blown. Bit wierd as "sevosa" on here just posted the same problem with his '03 A3, although he gets sound for a few seconds before it dies and no interference. Hope this isn't an inherent design flaw on newer Audi's taking over from the volume problem with older ones.
    If you go aftermarket then you'll need a fascia adapter and antenna amp. The rears are amped but you'd be far better off rewiring them directly to the HU otherwise you'll get a puny volume from them, even with the correct wiring adapter. If you go with a Blaupunkt HU then it's just plug & play, although with any aftermarket unit you'll need to wire the ignition on feed to perm live as newer Audi's don't have an ignition on feed. So manual turn off/on I'm afraid.
    #2
  4. v1nny
    Offline

    v1nny New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2006]
    Thanks,

    From what you say it looks like the HU amp has blown as the interference is from the fronts as far as I can tell.

    Does this mean replacing the whole unit or can it be fixed ???

    v1nny
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Oct 29, 2006]
    If it's just the internal amp then the rears should still work. It's not worth fixing as you can get a secondhand one on ebay for £60-£70.
    #4
  6. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    Andy I found a site (http://www.bluespot.co.uk/install/show_model.asp?id=15) that sells the adaptor cable with RCA connectors for the rear and another with RCA for both. I'm pretty sure thay would solve the problem of low sound. Cheaper than halfords too.

    Also Audi's do have a wire that provides 12v when the ignition is turned on. It would mean rewiring the harness adaptor which is easy but I didn't have any of the pins for the ISO connectors so I never bothered.
    #5
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    Yep that's the adapter I used and no it doesn't solve the problem. To get balanced sound front & rear you have to fade so far to the rear it's untrue.
    And no Audi's (2000 models onwards) do not provide an ignition on accessory feed. You can pick up an ignition on feed from the fusebox but this turns the HU off when you turn the engine off. An accessory feed needs to keep the HU on until you pull the keys out. There is nothing on the fusebox that provides this function. Audi HU's use the CANBUS to tell the HU when the keys are out, which is such a good use of a data bus.
    Apparently there is one on the actual ignition keyswitch itself, under the steering column but I've yet to pull it all apart to find it. Will get round to it eventually.
    #6
  8. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Nov 1, 2006]
    I'm guessing the 2 yellow wires are the CANBUS yeah? What else do they tell the headunit? Functions from the steering wheel controls?

    I'm glad I didn't order that cable then. I still don't understand the problem though. I can't imagine the concert preout voltage is higher than an aftermarket one!

    Oh well I'm happy with mine for now :music:
    #7
  9. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 10, 2006]
    There is if i remember rightly its a red wire.
    #8
  10. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 10, 2006]
    The external amp went on mine so i had no rears or sub.I changed the amp for a decent one and put a proper sub in and it sounds really good.Just waiting for a bit of spare time to fit my epic audio controller to it and get some real bass.:thrashi:
    #9
  11. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 10, 2006]
    Forgot to say the short in the wires could be a break in the speaker wires where they go through the rubber to the front door,very common on the A4.
    #10
  12. timps
    Offline

    timps Shakersville

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 12, 2006]
    #11

Share This Page