A3 Coolant Problem

jonny1409

Reaction score
Hello,

I wonder if anyone can give me some pointers / advice please ?

Basically I've recently bought a second hand Audi A3 (51 plate - 66,000 miles) and it's been running fine for the last couple of months, although there was a coolant leak when I bought it so this was fixed as it was due to some problem with the radiator or pump or something (apologies, but I'm not technical as far as cars are concerned!)

Anyway, I've suddenly noticed oil patches on the driveway so it looks as though there is a problem there.
Also, the coolant warning light has started coming on the dashboard and the temperature gauge shows 120 once i've been driving for about 10 minutes.

I've topped up the coolant as it was showing under the minimum, but the next day, the same thing happened.

What is likely to be the cause of this ?
Is it serious ?

I'd appreciate any advice anyone can offer.

Thank you.

Be warned mate mine was doing something similar and after a quick trip halfway up the M6 it decided to dump all the water and boil whatever was left. I put 2L of water back in, limped it home and it was diagnosed as a blown head gasket. It is at this point in time being operated on by the good doctors at RSD.

That doesn't sound good !

How much would I be looking at for this do you reckon ?
Ballpark figure would be great as I know it will obviously vary from place to place.

Thanks.

Mine has to have the head skimmed and is costing £420. Fingers crossed it should be back tomorrow night. My advice to you is get it checked as soon as poss. If you can sort it before it goes horribly wrong it could work out cheaper. I'm not guaranteeing you it is the head gasket but it sounds very similar.

Thanks a lot - It's actually going in tomorrow, but I guess it's going to be expensive regardless.

Hello,

I've now had it into the garage and he has pressure tested the car and found no leak !