Baby's first adventure under the bonnet, featuring AGN.

Rossbernd

Reaction score
Hello, massive noob here, i recently got hold of an 00' A3 (AGN) which is running pretty rough, all i know about cars is the bare basics of how an engine, gears etc works + what I've picked in the last few days from google and whatnot. I've had a quick search and scan through some stuff on this forum but haven't found anything to answer my main question so far, so here it comes.

Where would i find the PCV valve on an AGN?

Quickly noticed after buying the car (cheap and known to be faulty, don't worry) that the dipstick tube and what i now know to be the crankcase breather were broken, in the case of the breather, pretty messy at the bottom, as if it had really popped with some force. Long story short i figured it was probably a clog in the PCV system which caused a pressure buildup and blew those, though if that sounds like rubbish please someone set me right. Anyway, I've got the breather off and the hoses which run up from it and T off (one end going to directly below the oil cap, the other joining the air intake, just before the throttle body), so it's about time i had a look at that PCV valve to see what shape it's in I'm thinking.

If it's any use to those reading, I've got a few engine codes (couldn't get any OEM codes, only "error"), as follows:

Thanks for reading.

Pcv valve is situated straight after the crank case breather L shaped pipe.

It looks like a t connector with a vacuum pipe going to inlet mani .... then the pipe that goes from there goes to rocker cover breather y hose.

Hope this helps

Cheers for the reply.
The T in this?
25Wo2Wu.jpg

Cheers for the reply.
The T in this?
25Wo2Wu.jpg
This goes to -
Pcv valve is situated straight after the crank case breather L shaped pipe.

It looks like a t connector with a vacuum pipe going to inlet mani .... then the pipe that goes from there goes to rocker cover breather y hose.

Hope this helps