1/4 mile advice

Steve-L

Reaction score
I'm thinking of taking my car to a RWYB day at the Pod but I have never done a 1/4 mile sprint before so was hoping someone can give me some pointers as to getting a good start.
The cars quattro so I guess I do not have to worry about excessive wheelspin off the line but do I take the rev's to about 3000 and slowly release the clutch or do I dump the clutch (I do not like the idea of doing this though) ?
Also when is the optimum time to shift up, when the needle hits the redline or before ?

Any tips appreciated.

I got 14.3 out of my new S3 at Santa Pod the other week.

It's surprisingly hard to launch with Quattro. If you dump the clutch at 4k it will bog down off the start before picking up but also if you feed the clutch slowly you'll go nowhere fast.

I found it is best to raise to 4k rpm and feed in the clutch quickly and progressively.

Shift up just before the limiter kicks in.

With the "lovley" weather we've been having, I've been testing the car out on some empty spots here. If its wet then take it to 4k-5k and I find releasing the clutch quickly to the biting point and then feed it in (Does that make sense?) If you over rev then you might just sit in the same spot wheel spining, but if you get it right then you'll fly. Get it too short and you'll bog down, pretty weird with the S3.

Why not pop along to Inters this weekend and practice on their run?

Thanks guy's.

I thought bringing the clutch to just before the biting point and feeding quickly and progressively would be the best way but was not too sure.
Like anything practice makes perfect but as I've never done this before I will probably get a bit nervous and screw it up on my first run but hopefully I can get a few runs in.
Does the actual 1/4 time include reaction time or does the clock start once your moving ?

I went to the Pod in my A3 not so long ago and got a best 14.44secs.