AIR-FUEL

vw754

vorsprung Durch Technik
Reaction score
My car is pulling air into the fuel system,i think from filter,anyway if a car pulls air in,would it use more fuel than normal

A4 TDI B6 130BHP

Naaaaaa! Can't see any reason why or how it could use more fuel cos of a bit of air!!!

Is it running ok,starting etc?????

I've been running diesels for about 15 years now and they have all had the occasional or more air buble flowing through to the inj pump (notably last v6 tdi) that was well bad for it but have all ran well with out any problems as a result.

some weeks starts as soon as i turn the key,and some weeks takes 3-4 seconds to fire(as if theres no fuel) changed everything! new maf,fuel filter and seals etc no faults on diagnostics.

just noticed on the T piece that fits on top of fuel filter,the pipe thats connected to that has some sort of sensor at the other end,any ideas what that is?

Not easy over t'internet!

The only sensor that I could think of filter related would be "Water Drain".What are your return pipes like (injector to injector) they usually go quickly, depending on what fuel filter mounting you have the jubilee clips might be knackered letting air in and the fuel gravity feeds back to tank over night hence the 3/4 second start to pull it back through.

Have you checked that the fuel sender pump in the tank is working? You can hear it!
I once had an old Jetta that did the same thing turned out to be a blocked filter in the tank and as the injection pump couldn't get enough fuel through was sucking in air all over the place.
Problem with air leaks is that they let air in but don't necessary let diesel out, so are a bitch to find!!

Good luck

Jason

pump works ok, if car is running (on idle) and i switch off and start immediatley,same thing takes 3-4 seconds to fire,so its sucking air in quick!

Also this morning when driving i get (when i put my foot down) hesitation,a puff of black smoke,then it go's.

Where and what checking should i do?