Glove box light retro fit and puddle light information

pns2007

Moonstone Grey
VCDS Map User
Reaction score
It annoys me that having spent loads of money on an A4 S-line that there's not even a glove box light. Not a big deal in the great context of things but quite handy.

well I've had a go at retro fitting this and it wasn't as hard as I'd originally thought. before I go any further though, the following is what I have done and should not be taken as advice for others to follow. I am by no means a vehicle electrician so if you follow this then at your own risk :approve:

a4glovebox.jpg

The above image is for a left hand drive car, reverse it (in your mind) for a right hand drive.

First remove the panel lettered x above, this just pulls off with a hard pull. Fingers only needed! Then pull off the end dash board panel which will reveal the fuses and the fuse holder (Handbook will give further info)

There are seven bolts (lettered 'A' in the diagram) which are holding the glove box in position. Undo all of these. Bolt A1 is inside the glove box at the top behind the cd changer (if you have one) if you haven't you should be able to see it. Bolt A2 is below the fuse holder.

The glove box will then be supported by two or three small plastic hooks (marked 'C' in the diagram), carefully support the glove box and manouvre it so that it becomes detached. Lower it to the floor of the car but be careful to make sure there are no wires caught.

It will then look a bit like this:-

P1000529.jpg

You will need to buy the following parts:-

Glove box light - part number UBD0 947 415 - £6.30

2 Plastic connectors - part number U893 971 632 - £1.53 each

2 repair wires - part number U000 979 133 - £1.16 each (all above subject to VAT - I did manage a 5% discount aswell))