Chris NottAH Fabrications
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11

    2008 Audi A4 review

    "Audi opens up new horizons. The A4 is a sporty car with superb presence on the road; it takes Audi forward into a new dimension on the midsize car market. The engines that power the saloon, both TDI and spark-ignition, in all cases with direct fuel injection, combine effortless power with high efficiency. The dynamic running gear and the use of many technologies taken direct from the large-car category are evidence of the brands lead in technical know-how. The new Audi is a new way to drive. It will reach the market at the end of November 2007, at a basic list price of about 26,000 Euros in Germany..."

    This is from a new review on the 2008 Audi A4, from Top Speed. It includes info on the design, safety and performance of the model, as well as other features.
    Also available is a video and wallpaper / photo gallery.





    Here is the link to the full article:
    2008 Audi A4 - Top Speed

    And the link to the picture gallery:
    2008 Audi A4 wallpapers and high resolution photos - Top Speed

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    36
    The TopSpeed article isn't really a review, just a revamp of the marketing info already released. They don't claim to have driven the new A4 which I would say is pretty fundamental in reviewing a car
    Still, it's got some pics I've not seen before and I guess it's growing on me a little. My biggest gripe is that the styling isn't noticeably different from the current B7 and I thought/hoped Audi would be a little braver.
    Look at what Jaguar have done with the S-Type replacement (is it the XF?). I know it's a different category of car although based on current price estimates it looks like it'll compete against a moderately specced B7 3.0Tdi Quattro A4!
    A5 1.8TFSI Sport | Quartz Grey | Black Milano Leather | Xenons & DRLs | Electric seats | Bang & Olufsen sound | Parking System Plus | Hold Assist | Cruise | Interior light pack | Storage pack | Auto dimming mirror | Butterflies in my tummy

  4. #3
    Amchlolor's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    5,602
    Anyone privvy to pricelists yet ???
    '02 to '05 - Black Audi A4 1.9tdi sport
    '05 to '08 - Akoya Silver A3 sportback S-line DSG
    '08 to ? - Black Alpina D3

  5. #4
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Mid Wales
    Posts
    85
    Apparently it's available to order in the UK from the 11th, specs and prices appear then

  6. #5
    Amchlolor's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    5,602
    Quote Originally Posted by RedSportback
    Apparently it's available to order in the UK from the 11th, specs and prices appear then
    I think it's the 23rd,after the Frankfurt show.
    From the Audi website:


    "The official unveiling of the new A4 will be at the Frankfurt Motor Show. The show runs from September 13 to September 23 at the Frankfurt Fairground in Frankfurt, Germany.
    FOLLOWING THE SHOW,initial ordering for the new A4 will be open, and the first models are expected to be available in early 2008"
    '02 to '05 - Black Audi A4 1.9tdi sport
    '05 to '08 - Akoya Silver A3 sportback S-line DSG
    '08 to ? - Black Alpina D3

  7. #6
    Anyone privvy to pricelists yet ???
    Hi Bowfer

    There is a Pricing and Specification Guide available on the Audi UK website at...
    http://www.audi.co.uk/etc/medialib/c....0001.File.pdf

    and the Order Books are open!
    Dave R (h5djr)
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

  8. #7
    Amchlolor's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    5,602
    Sorry David,literally just noticed your message after posting the same link on the A3 forum !
    '02 to '05 - Black Audi A4 1.9tdi sport
    '05 to '08 - Akoya Silver A3 sportback S-line DSG
    '08 to ? - Black Alpina D3

  9. #8
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    36

    Laughable

    Ye Gods! Audi are taking the michael on the A4 pricing (again). The prices are comparitive with the A6. They're also only a fraction short of the A5 but they've stripped out many of the goodies (leather, xenons etc) and made them expensive extras.

    Then again, I wouldn't trust anything in the current online price list as it's got inconsistencies. e.g. which wheels come as standard with the SE model? SE spec list says 6 spoke but the subsequent pricing says 7 spoke.

    It's also highly amusing that there's only one variant available ... but it's not the "standard" model, it's the SE model. Ah, marketeers, got to love 'em. Do they really think we're all as dumb as they are? Then again, I guess it wouldn't cut it if they launched with SE model rebadged as the "standard" model and then subsequently launched the A4 No Frills spec.

    I don't get it. Why would anyone buy the new A4 rather than the A6? Many of you will ... but why???
    A5 1.8TFSI Sport | Quartz Grey | Black Milano Leather | Xenons & DRLs | Electric seats | Bang & Olufsen sound | Parking System Plus | Hold Assist | Cruise | Interior light pack | Storage pack | Auto dimming mirror | Butterflies in my tummy

  10. #9
    Audi_nut's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    58
    Is it just me are does the new A4 lights (rear) remind you of the new 3-series lights ???. Also the way Audi are going with the interior (console area, ie radio heater controls ) in the A4/A5 kind of tilted slightly towards teh driver is a bit BMW esque ?????. any opnions
    Racing is life. Anything before or after is just waiting. Steve McQueen

  11. #10
    R14AYN's Avatar
    Driving like it was stolen

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    70
    I agree with the BMw esque'ness of it, and I'm hateing the led lights. An A5 drove past me a few days ago and I thought it looked rather tacky (feel free to slate this opinion). I've just ordered one of the last B7's cos im really not sure about this one - I fell in love with the B7 the sec I saw it and have loved my big diesel for the last 3 years
    Out in Oz - S3, silver and stock as a rock
    Still in the UK - A4 2.0 TFSI, Suzuki Grey
    Before - A4 2.0 TDI, Brilliant Red
    Still Sad She's Gone - Lotus Elise 111's, Inferno Red
    Took My Vag Virginity - VW Golf GT TDI, Black

  12. #11
    G4JSG's Avatar
    Gotcha!!!

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hyde, Cheshire. UK
    Posts
    178
    Yarp, really not impressed with the 3 series dash and rear end look.....come on audi. the A5 is just fantastic so why not give us a new A4 that has something others might want to copy????

    The front is nice though, very nice, and those LED lights need to be placed closer together so it looks like a seemless line.
    A6 C6 2.0 TFSI Avant, Grey Silver, Auto.

  13. #12
    Phil's Barber's Avatar
    Top Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by audivirgin
    I agree with the BMw esque'ness of it, and I'm hateing the led lights. An A5 drove past me a few days ago and I thought it looked rather tacky (feel free to slate this opinion). I've just ordered one of the last B7's cos im really not sure about this one - I fell in love with the B7 the sec I saw it and have loved my big diesel for the last 3 years
    The LEDs look like fairy lights. They make it look like a council house at Christmas.


    Ripped from JC Top Gear.
    A4 2.0TDI 170 S-Line. Dolphin Grey. Symphony II+, Bose, Int Light Pack, Centre Armrest, Cruise.

  14. #13
    Amchlolor's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    5,602
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil's Barber
    The LEDs look like fairy lights. They make it look like a council house at Christmas.


    Ripped from JC Top Gear.
    I laughed out loud when he said that.
    He's right, of course.
    '02 to '05 - Black Audi A4 1.9tdi sport
    '05 to '08 - Akoya Silver A3 sportback S-line DSG
    '08 to ? - Black Alpina D3

  15. #14
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    York
    Posts
    1,657
    The LED lights are not standard fit. They come with the xenons option.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO