Chris NottMonster Motorsport
    1st Gear

Status

Talking Superior front bulbs?

Hi all..

Having recently aquired my first non-HID Audi I must say i'm a bit dissapointed with the front light output.

Anyone have any suggestions or preference on front bulbs? I don't want anything that's going to a) cook the wiring or b) saturate the reflector and blind everyone.

Thanks

2. # ADS
    ADS

jcb
    6th Gear

Status
    been there done that. tried new philips 55w, tried Osram +85% high outputs, tried 100w (which I have been running for 6 months)
    to be honest doing one light at a time I could not tell which ones were the 35 high output and which were the crap ones I just threw away!

spend some money on a HID kit. too much marketing in the bulb business, not enough difference in product

my 2p

1st Gear

Status
    jcb- thanks.

I think if I was going to HID, i'd go for the OEM stuff not a conversion kit. Not something i'm super fussed about doing at the moment.

Photographic Moderator

Status

My Social Networking

Follow Broken Byzan On Twitter Add Broken Byzan on Facebook Add Broken Byzan on Google+ Visit Broken Byzan's Youtube Channel
    The Osram silver stars are as good as you are going to get for a normal bulb. Have you got facelift lights? If so, HId's are you best bet for light output, just be aware without washers and self leveling you are in a grey area of legality

"Stick a V8 in it!"

Status
    Quote Originally Posted by Byzan A4 View Post
    you are in a grey area of legality
    Its not really grey at all!

No washers, no auto levelling and HID bulbs fitted to non HID type approved lamps are illegal.

MOT testers have been informed about the upgrade kits by VOSA and are supposed to fail your car with one fitted, as with anything, some do, some dont. You'll probably get away with it if you have the washers and autolevelling fitted, using a conversion kit in the original lamps as its a bit harder to check that.