Brake disc removal

SmoothAssault

Will design for mods
Reaction score
Website
www.matteasom.com
I thought I'd have a go at replacing my brake discs and pads myself today while the sun was out. I've had a good read through the Haynes and watched a 'how to..' video here and it seems easy enough, but I've gone and got stuck at the first hurdle...

I can't get the ****** calliper retaining bolts out! I'm a total beginner but I can only assume these are the ones that need removing...

A4%20rear-driverSide%20calliper.jpg

...but they just won't shift!? Any ideas?

:crying:

I seem to remember you need 2 spanners of those bolts as there's a locking nut to stop them working loose. So you have the 13mm visible nut in the pic above then there's a locking nut on the other side of the caliper, where the rubber boot is. I could be wrong though as it was a while since I did mine.

Yep, you were exactly right Andy! For reference if anyone else needs it; here's a pic of the two spanners on the bolt and locking nut. (Mine was covered in so much crap it didn't even look like a nut.)

A4%20rear-driverSide_CalliperRetainerBoltNut.jpg

Now, I've got the calliper tied to the suspension on some wire so I don't put any stress on the hoses, and the pads have been removed. So here's hurdle number two...

The bolts holding the calliper carrier won't move...

A4%20rear-driverSide_CalliperCarrierBolts.jpg

...and it was all going so well :(

Anyone know any good tricks for getting these pesky allen key bolts to loosen up?

Thanks

I've been building up my "Grrrrr" at the gym for years, lol; I can't believe I used it all up on 2 tiny little bolts and they still didn't even move a millimetre.