Newbie - Hi!! Oh and a few tips please?

croig

Reaction score
First of all, Hello all!:salute:

Im new to the Audi world, but since going to last years Le Mans i think its safe to say im now a convert! After owning Jap for a few years i have now had inspriation to go German with the hope of reliablilty! Owned my RX7 for two years, and the last 6 months have been an absolute nightmare!

Anyway, been looking at S3's for the last few months and have learned a thing or two about what to look for.
I have now had one that has caught my eye, its a '52 plate with 49k on the clock, recently had the cam and timing belts done and appears to be very good condition. The only thing that is niggling at me a bit is that it has been remapped.
The guy says it was remapped by audi, and now runs at 270ish bhp. My concern is can the S3 engines handle this comfortably without any other modifications or will i have to start looking at uprating components?

After owning the RX i know that some engines need a lot of work to keep up with a remap.

So any thoughts / advice would be much appriciated!

Thanks
Craig

Not a problem what so ever with the remap! those engines can cope with up to and over 300bhp no problem!!

Hi there,
There is no problems with a low mileage S3 lump or turbo...
How ever, I might be wrong but Audi dont remap their cars . Tuning companys will have done that.

Wow, thats pretty cool!! Obviously just check wear and tear on the discs pads etc then.
I have also just had a quick read of the thread about how much it changes mpg. Quite suprised that it doesnt actually effect it too much, is this right?! I know its all down to how you drive it, but that seems uber!
Im used to getting a 10-15 mpg from the RX... haha!

Revo works closely with Audi so it might be one of their maps

Revo works closely with Audi so it might be one of their maps