Is my cam chain stretched?

S3ben

Reaction score
Hi the cam mark on the pulley is lined up with mark on head

I'm pretty sure that the 8L doesn't have a cam chain

Hi the cam mark on the pulley is lined up with mark on head

Not sure what you are asking dude... pics are a little dark to see properly...

Are you on about the timing marks on the cams etc?

20100909_IMAG0159.jpg

<tuffty/>

Looks to me like the exhaust cam is out. If the pulley is in time that would suggest the cam sprocket isnt pressed on right.
A stretched chain will only get taken up by the tensioner, so no effects as long as its timed correctly.

Yes it does... cam belt from crank to exhaust cam and cam to cam is a chain..

<tuffty/>

Ah OK

Well I'm a newbie at all this. I just thought some cars had a belt and some had a chain. Didn't realise that some can be mixed

So does this chain need to be replaced like the belt does? I'm guessing all chains should (probably not always like in the S4) last the life of the car?

Hi sorry for vague description ill get some better pics up tomorrow. I've taken the car to have the cambelt done twice now and it always comes back a tooth out. So I got fed up with garages and had a go myself not the first cambelt I've done. But this one seems a pain. Lol I line all timing marks up cam and flywheel. But when I go to put belt on to crank sprocket I have a sprocket tooth inline with the cambelt tooth??? Just thinking cam chain stretch could be the answer. I'm stripping it down on sat so ill take pics and

Just want to have fun I my s3 and this is stopping it all😫😫😫

Its dead easy for it to be a tooth out... you have to double check before pulling the pin...

At TDC the exhaust cam mark needs to line up as per my pic above...

The chains are pretty resilient and generally don't stretch to the extent that they throw a correlation fault code...

There is no need to touch the cam chain when doing a cam belt

<tuffty/>