MAF not the answer - help needed

Imola

Reaction score
Hi all

I had a problem that I posted here and on advice, I disconnected the MAF sensor which appeared to cure it.

Today I fitted a new MAF and it is as bad as before I disconnected again :(

Only fault code was a disconnected MAF

Symptoms:
AMD tuned S3 7 years on the remap and it has been great. Huge toque spurt at 2500rpm and then shoots off 3500ish like a rocket. Always ' tickle the accelerator under normal driving. Awesome.

With the MAF connected (old or new) it feels flat, no torque spike at 2500 and it goes at 4000 but hesitates a bit 3500-4000. Pulls hard, but not as hard. Now I have to push the accelerator down rather than tickle it too.

Disconnected MAF and it is back to the previous great performance.

help!!! Not sure what to do or where to look next - will log the MAF readings tomorrow as a start

Need to do some logs I guess. I'm no expert but logs on airflow might help determine your problem.?

That's

Yep, genuine Bosch part from vag.

Will try logging the MAF and expected airflow (i think one can do that) tomorrow, but really have no idea where to look and pretty worried

Check the actual plug that goes into the maf itself, i was having similar problems, fitted a new plug at the very costly 3.50 and all is good. Well worth checking

Reactions: s3dave
I think it was blocks 002 118 030 iirc. Tuffty might correct me in a minute though because he told me ages ago but I forgot :|

Slowcoach, did you replace the entire cable bakc to the EUC or just resolder the plug?

Update

I went to my local garage who have been looking after the S3 for the past 5 years.

We plugged in his universal diagnostics machine (for all makes of car) and looked at blocks. MAF was reading only a few g/s and after we fiddled under the bonnet, we read 168 g/s which is seriously low as far as I am aware (especially chipped). At one point it read mg/s!!!!