What is the difference between these RNS-Es?

Johnny Bravo

6+1 Gears
[h=1]8P0 035 192 L[/h][h=1][/h][h=1][/h]8P0 035 192 S
[h=1]8E0 035 192 T[/h]and

8P0 035 193 G
???

I'm watching a few on e-bay and I don't know which one to buy.
 

roxorsky

Registered User
8P0 035 192 L

8P0 035 192 S
8E0 035 192 T

and

8P0 035 193 G
???

I'm watching a few on e-bay and I don't know which one to buy.


Buna,

A bit late but I might be of help.

I have a 2008 Audi A3 and i'm also looking for a GPS unit.
These are the different models out there :

8P0 035 192 Audi A3 Europe, MY 2004
8P0 035 192 A Audi A3 Europe, MY 2005
8P0 035 192 B Audi A3 North America, MY 2006
8P0 035 192 C Audi A3 North America, MY 2006
8P0 035 192 D Audi A3 BNS 5.0
8P0 035 192 E Audi A3 Japan (does not work anywhere else)
8P0 035 192 F Audi A3 Europe, MY 2006, SDS
8P0 035 192 G Audi A3 North America, MY 2006,
8P0 035 192 H Audi A3 Europe, MY 2007
8P0 035 192 J Audi A3 Europe, MY 2007, SDS
8P0 035 192 K Audi A3 North America, MY 2007
8P0 035 192 L Audi A3 Europe, MY 2007.5
8P0 035 192 M Audi A3 Europe, MY 2008, SDS
8P0 035 192 P Audi A3 Europe, BNS 5.0, MY 2008
8P0 035 192 Q Audi A3 Europe, MY 2008.5
8P0 035 192 R Audi A3 Europe, MY 2008.5, SDS
8P0 035 192 S Audi A3 Cabrio Europe, MY 2008.5
8P0 035 192 T Audi A3 Europe, MY 2009, SDS
8P0 035 193 Audi A3 North America, MY 2009
8P0 035 193 A Audi A3 North America, MY 2009.5
8P0 035 193 B Audi A3 Europe, MY 2010
8P0 035 193 C Audi A3 Europe, MY 2010, SDS
8P0 035 193 D Audi A3 North America, MY 2010
8P0 035 193 F Audi A3 North America, MY 2011
8P0 035 193 G Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011
8P0 035 193 H Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011, SDS

Now, you are going to want one of these 2:
8P0 035 193 G Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011
8P0 035 193 H Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011, SDS

They are the latest built and have the latest hardware and firmware, with a nicer GPS.
The difference between the 2 is that SDS has voice-control.

That being said, PLEASE BE ADVISED that you might not have a built-in microphone (I don't) and therefor you should not buy the optional bluetooth module, nor the SDS version. (unless you want to have the mic built-in, but it's not going to be nice so I don't bother (also, mine is a leasing car)).

So, if you have or want a microphone, get the 8P0 035 193 H version, if you don't have or want a microphone, get the 8P0 035 193 G version.
Don't forget the bluetooth module if you want to call. You could also get the multimedia module on which you can hook up a tv receptor or other AV sources (even a playstation or whatnot).

Personally, i'm getting the 8P0 035 193 G because I don't want a microphone and we only have 2 over the air tv channels here. Also, I can get the unit on its own for 500€.. the modules cost 300each on ebay.

However, I have a question for the community

Considering that I only need the GPS unit and nothing else, could I buy the 8P0 035 192 L version use the latest 2011 Navigation Plus DVD ?
I assume that will only give me the latest maps and not the latest GPS software.


So, basically, is it possible to upgrade the entire firmware to 8P0 035 193 G ?

Thx !
 

N8

Kowalski Details
VCDS Map User
I have a Mk2 for sale.
 

vfr800

Registered User
I have a Mk2 for sale.

How much? Is this the latest/newest model that can be retro-fitted to an 8L S3 (with double DIN)?

Liam
 

MartayMcFly

Booooooost
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
Nate's one, like all those listed above, is for an 8P (2004-now). There is a way of retrofitting the equivalent A4 unit into an 8L dash though (requires a custom surround, iirc).
 

runnernorth

Registered User
Hi, can you explain to me, what is the difference between the H06 /SW210 versions and other versions in the ..193G model....?
-what does the H and SW stands for, hardware and software? -what differences....?
Kindly
Jan
 

s8craig

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
You cannot fit the new RNS-E units into the older cars such as the A3 8L or B5 RS4 as they cannot be coded to work as an A6 and if you code them to A4 you need to generate GALA over canbus and you need a cangate module to do that. So bear that in mind if trying to fit the MK2 units into older cars.

I have one running in an A2, coded as A4 with a cangate module to generate GALA.
 

runnernorth

Registered User
Thx s8craig, but my car is an A3 8PA my 2007, and I think I've read that it's possible to swap the new RNS-E with my current BNS5.0 in my car, am I right you think??
Kindly
Jan
 

NHN

Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Jan, sorry for delay, will reply to your pm now :)
 

charlito83

Registered User
I would like to know what features you can find in 8P0-035-192, and what features in 8P0-035-193. Someone knows the difference?

I'm writing from Argentina, and I have an Audi A3 SPORTBACK 2.0 TDI, from 2007. I'm living in Argentina, and I have my car here with me. I'm sure that my car was made for Argentina, but I'm not sure if it's like a eurpean model or a american model.

Right now, I have a Smyphony Radio, with the possibility to enter up to 6 cds inside just from the front of the radio. And I don't have any controls on my steering wheel. Becouse that, I'm looking for some Navigation Plus that fits in my car.

The problem is that here in Argentina Audi could not approve the Navigation Plus, and they can't import this unit. Becouse this I want to buy it in Europe or in USA, and import it for myself. But righ now I'm looking for some help to identify wich is the best version that will fits in my car. I looking for the latest version that have more features. And about what I'm read, may I have to options: 8P0-035-192 o 8P0-035-193, but I would like to know wich features have one and other.

Someone can help me?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Charlito83
 

kite

Member
VCDS Map User
I would like to know what features you can find in 8P0-035-192, and what features in 8P0-035-193. Someone knows the difference?

I'm writing from Argentina, and I have an Audi A3 SPORTBACK 2.0 TDI, from 2007. I'm living in Argentina, and I have my car here with me. I'm sure that my car was made for Argentina, but I'm not sure if it's like a eurpean model or a american model.

Right now, I have a Smyphony Radio, with the possibility to enter up to 6 cds inside just from the front of the radio. And I don't have any controls on my steering wheel. Becouse that, I'm looking for some Navigation Plus that fits in my car.

The problem is that here in Argentina Audi could not approve the Navigation Plus, and they can't import this unit. Becouse this I want to buy it in Europe or in USA, and import it for myself. But righ now I'm looking for some help to identify wich is the best version that will fits in my car. I looking for the latest version that have more features. And about what I'm read, may I have to options: 8P0-035-192 o 8P0-035-193, but I would like to know wich features have one and other.

Someone can help me?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Charlito83

Would you even be able to get maps for the system.
No point fitting a nav if it won't work.
 

charlito83

Registered User
Thanks Kite.

I will be able to gets the maps. This not the problem.

Do you know the difference between 192 and 193?

Thanks
 

Johnny Bravo

6+1 Gears
193 has a faster procesor and a better, LED screen.
 

NHN

Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Along with sdhc upto 32gb in each slot & AMI & OPS compatibility
 

SaEire

Registered User
Just wondering guys what the difference is with 8P0 035 193 E and the rest . its the only one that's not one the list and I have seen them around for sale
 

akingcool

Registered User
i know this is thread is a little old, looking to get one of these and i think i can handle the installation as i have done many headunit swaps in the past. Is it true I will need to code this using vagcom to get it working?
 

efrant

Registered User
I have a VAG-COM, but I didn't need to use it when I swapped out my Symphony II for an RNS-E. Not sure if the guy who I bought it from had already coded it though...
 

B5NUT

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
I have a VAG-COM, but I didn't need to use it when I swapped out my Symphony II for an RNS-E. Not sure if the guy who I bought it from had already coded it though...

So you never bothered coding your instrument cluster to get directions on the DIS? Also if you have bluetooth, you need to enabled comfort so you enable full function of the BT module. You should always use vcds to check for correct coding on the navigation & coding of the other modules in the car that communicate to the RNS-E.
 

efrant

Registered User
So you never bothered coding your instrument cluster to get directions on the DIS? Also if you have bluetooth, you need to enabled comfort so you enable full function of the BT module. You should always use vcds to check for correct coding on the navigation & coding of the other modules in the car that communicate to the RNS-E.
I did verify with my VAG-COM, and everything was already coded correctly. My instrument cluster was already coded properly for some reason -- not sure why. I get direction on the DIS, and I did not have to code anything. I haven't had a chance to install my BT module yet. (I'm still trying to find out exactly where the module goes -- I think it is under the left side seat carpet, but I haven't pulled out the seat yet to verify.)
 

B5NUT

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
The only thing I can think of is the previous owner must have retrofitted nav, as the DIS would never be coded from factory. I've retrofited a fair amount of RNS-E's over the years and have never seen a dis that was already coded.

If your retfitting BT then just stick the module behind the glove box, there is plenty of room behind there, and it' were most people put it. The OEM location is under the carpet of the car which involves removing uper and lower B pillar trim , the seat and trying to lift the carpet up, it's a pain & gives you no benefit, also if you want to sell the unit on or it goes faulty then again it's easy to remove behind the glove box.
 

efrant

Registered User
The only thing I can think of is the previous owner must have retrofitted nav, as the DIS would never be coded from factory. I've retrofited a fair amount of RNS-E's over the years and have never seen a dis that was already coded.
I'm sure you're right. I found it weird that I didn't have to change anything.
If your retfitting BT then just stick the module behind the glove box, there is plenty of room behind there, and it' were most people put it. The OEM location is under the carpet of the car which involves removing uper and lower B pillar trim , the seat and trying to lift the carpet up, it's a pain & gives you no benefit, also if you want to sell the unit on or it goes faulty then again it's easy to remove behind the glove box.
I tried finding a spot behind the glovebox and even behind the RNS-E, but the OEM module wouldn't fit. I did end up taking out the passenger seat, trim and carpet, but there was no spot for it. Then I realized that the instructions I was reading were from the UK, and the passenger seat meant the left hand side of the car, not the right side. (I live in Canada!) So my next project is to take out the driver seat, trim and carpet. :)
 

Buxx1

Registered User
Any one know if the 193 version will fit without hassle into my 2007 audi a3? Or will I need the 192L? Thank you
 

efrant

Registered User
Any one know if the 193 version will fit without hassle into my 2007 audi a3? Or will I need the 192L? Thank you
The 193 version will fit. I have a 2007 A3, and I installed this: 8P0 035 193 G Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011
 
Top