What have you done to your Audi A4 B7 today?

Dan_Avant

Registered User
@Ricky Burrows I’d be happy with anything in the region of 350hp. The fact its specifically made for our engines is what attracted me to it and the newer revision (which I have) without the dv relocate and turbo muffler delete makes things a lot simpler, which is a bonus. It was pricey, I paid £1500 all in so bear that in mind.

Badger5 do fully bespoke remaps so will keep you posted on what power I actually make.

I’ll def get some sound clips up :icon thumright:
 

Dan_Avant

Registered User
I’m starting to save towards a bottom end rebuild and wmi kit now. Hopefully get that done sometime next year. I want a solid, reliable engine that’s ‘future proof’ incase I ever decide to go BT.

I’m a child too when it comes to turbo/induction sounds and kick you in the back acceleration :tongueclosed:
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
@Ricky Burrows I’d be happy with anything in the region of 350hp. The fact its specifically made for our engines is what attracted me to it and the newer revision (which I have) without the dv relocate and turbo muffler delete makes things a lot simpler, which is a bonus. It was pricey, I paid £1500 all in so bear that in mind.

Badger5 do fully bespoke remaps so will keep you posted on what power I actually make.

I’ll def get some sound clips up :icon thumright:
Looking forward to it mate and hopefully better luck with this kit I'm sure it will be night and day difference.
 

Dan_G

Registered User
Does anyone know the part number for the serpentine belt for the 2.0tfsi engine?

That’s next on my list to replace myself. Had a tiny squeak out of the one on there at the moment today on start up - it’s been cold and wet and not used for a few days - and on inspection the belt looks very old.

Looks like a job I could do on the drive.

Thanks
 

Dan_Avant

Registered User
The k04 went on today. Haven’t given it full throttle yet, took it up to 5000rpm in 1st and 2nd with about 1/3 throttle and it pulled hard!

Can def hear the spooling louder in the cab over the k03 hybrid.

I’ll give a better review in a month or so after I’ve had time to live with it but really pleased with it on the 20 min drive home. So far so good
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
The k04 went on today. Haven’t given it full throttle yet, took it up to 5000rpm in 1st and 2nd with about 1/3 throttle and it pulled hard!

Can def hear the spooling louder in the cab over the k03 hybrid.

I’ll give a better review in a month or so after I’ve had time to live with it but really pleased with it on the 20 min drive home. So far so good
Good to hear Dan im chuffed for you, i had a chat to mrs yesterday about it said I'm considering it she's on board and curious to see the difference so just in the process of sorting a business out then later on in the year ill get the same cts kit as you i think :)
 

Jon13s

Registered User
Good to hear Dan im chuffed for you, i had a chat to mrs yesterday about it said I'm considering it she's on board and curious to see the difference so just in the process of sorting a business out then later on in the year ill get the same cts kit as you i think :)
Always good to get the Mrs on side. Mines been a legend as tuning these cars isn't smooth sailing. The goal post move and scope creep is a curse.

Sent from my HD1903 using Tapatalk
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Always good to get the Mrs on side. Mines been a legend as tuning these cars isn't smooth sailing. The goal post move and scope creep is a curse.

Sent from my HD1903 using Tapatalk
Yeah she's just as into cars as me so never any worries about her having a moan lol still need to get around to doing the turbo swap on her car just another future project
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Same here. Got to get my hands on that mini cooper s the minute mines up and running nicely

Sent from my HD1903 using Tapatalk
Makes it more fun when the other halfs involved and easier to spend thousands on your own car of course lol
 

Dan_Avant

Registered User
Pushed it a little harder on the way into work this morning. That was at 08:30 and I’m still smiling.

Can’t wait for the remap. Gonna give badger5 a call today, so when they can fit me in :racer:
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Pushed it a little harder on the way into work this morning. That was at 08:30 and I’m still smiling.

Can’t wait for the remap. Gonna give badger5 a call today, so when they can fit me in :racer:
You wouldn't happen to know if i put the s3 injectors in without a map if it will run ok or not do you? I got a suspicion one of mine are on its way out and i may well just put a set of s3's in there if thats the case not sure if it will work or not though on stock mapping.
 

Jon13s

Registered User
Hey Ricky. I asked the same question of my tuner and he said no. The fuelling would be all over the place. Hence I left it for them to fit.

I think I still have the 4 standard injectors in the shed somewhere.

Also have the standard turbo and the best bits of a KMB balance shaft delete kit, rods and a flywheel of all things.

Sent from my HD1903 using Tapatalk
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Hey Ricky. I asked the same question of my tuner and he said no. The fuelling would be all over the place. Hence I left it for them to fit.

I think I still have the 4 standard injectors in the shed somewhere.

Also have the standard turbo and the best bits of a KMB balance shaft delete kit, rods and a flywheel of all things.

Sent from my HD1903 using Tapatalk
Yeah I was wondering if that would be the case thanks Jon, sound like my shed of random bits lol
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
No problem... Yeah pretty much just waiting for someone who has a failure to come and grab the lot lmao.

Sent from my HD1903 using Tapatalk
Yeah thats what i say to myself then mrs moans at me has a clear out then a week later i need the thing shes made me throw out lol hence why ive just invested 3K on my man shed she cant moan at me then thats my dungeon haha
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Pushed it a little harder on the way into work this morning. That was at 08:30 and I’m still smiling.

Can’t wait for the remap. Gonna give badger5 a call today, so when they can fit me in :racer:
If you're not mapped yet be careful pushing the car like that. You're K03 tune is probably aggressive and will cause that K-04 to damage your engine.

Sent from my KB2005 using Tapatalk
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
@i3oricua - yeah I’m trying to take it steady. Luckily it’s not my daily drive so won’t be tempted to thrash it everyday.
Blow it up Dan be and excuse to forge the engine and bang on a tte480 that way you ca sell me the cts ko4 :) lol
 

i3oricua

Registered User
@i3oricua - yeah I’m trying to take it steady. Luckily it’s not my daily drive so won’t be tempted to thrash it everyday.
Yea. The two things you risk doing without the tune is 1) snapping your rods because the K-04 is a fast spooling, more powerful turbo or /and 2) running lean because your injectors aren't scaled in and detonating the motor.

Sent from my KB2005 using Tapatalk
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Yea. The two things you risk doing without the tune is 1) snapping your rods because the K-04 is a fast spooling, more powerful turbo or /and 2) running lean because your injectors aren't scaled in and detonating the motor.

Sent from my KB2005 using Tapatalk
Surprised the cts kit don't come with a generic base map to get you around safely until a proper tune is done and prevent things like you have mentioned, I'm sure you have went through a couple turbos in your build is it generally standard practise for a turbo kit to have a base map with it or am i living in a dream land.
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Surprised the cts kit don't come with a generic base map to get you around safely until a proper tune is done and prevent things like you have mentioned, I'm sure you have went through a couple turbos in your build is it generally standard practise for a turbo kit to have a base map with it or am i living in a dream land.
No. They never come with a base tune. Unless you buy it through a tuner then they usually package something up like that until they can get you to a dyno. I don't have a K-04, it's a bit larger but Yea, it's my second one now. The most recent probably had problems for a while and i didn't recognize them until now. But I would stay out of boost if you can no matter how tempting it is. Not worth flushing a lot of money down the toilet.

Sent from my KB2005 using Tapatalk
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
No. They never come with a base tune. Unless you buy it through a tuner then they usually package something up like that until they can get you to a dyno. I don't have a K-04, it's a bit larger but Yea, it's my second one now. The most recent probably had problems for a while and i didn't recognize them until now. But I would stay out of boost if you can no matter how tempting it is. Not worth flushing a lot of money down the toilet.

Sent from my KB2005 using Tapatalk
Yeah I did see a year or so ago you was running a larger turbo so assumed you have had a few set ups over the time, and ok that makes sense about the company giving a base tune as a package come to think of it now i think APR do one, thanks for the heads up a lot of people probably ask that same question about running the car after a bigger turbo swap so comes in handy to know, cheers :icon thumright:
 

Dan_Avant

Registered User
@Ricky Burrows - ha ha! If it goes bang I’ll do you a good deal on the CTS mate!

I wouldn’t be surprised if I’ve already slightly bent a rod. Keep feeling a slight vibration through the accelerator pedal that’s constant through the rev range :flushed:
 

i3oricua

Registered User
@Ricky Burrows - ha ha! If it goes bang I’ll do you a good deal on the CTS mate!

I wouldn’t be surprised if I’ve already slightly bent a rod. Keep feeling a slight vibration through the accelerator pedal that’s constant through the rev range :flushed:
You would likely hear the engine knocking. Like a very audible knock. Even at idle and as you rev the engine. The vibration in the gas pedal is hopefully more related to tires and suspension.

Sent from my KB2005 using Tapatalk
 

Donfero

Registered User
Does Anyone have a quick way to remove the rear turbo manifold bolt? The one thats connected to the cat.
Im trying to replace the faulty turbo and im stuck on this bolt and about to lose faith.

Sent from my RMX2170 using Tapatalk
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Does Anyone have a quick way to remove the rear turbo manifold bolt? The one thats connected to the cat.
Im trying to replace the faulty turbo and im stuck on this bolt and about to lose faith.

Sent from my RMX2170 using Tapatalk
Have you tried from underneath? There is bolt, 13mm on both sides that holds the exhaust pipe to the frame i believe. If you take that off then that should allow the exhaust to move some you can manipulate that upper pipe as well. Just a thought, don't know if it'll work.

Sent from my KB2005 using Tapatalk
 

Dan_Avant

Registered User
You would likely hear the engine knocking. Like a very audible knock. Even at idle and as you rev the engine. The vibration in the gas pedal is hopefully more related to tires and suspension.

Sent from my KB2005 using Tapatalk

I do hear a pinging sound at idle. Sounds like it’s coming from the injectors. I’m assuming that’s normal though as the car was in my local Audi specialist yesterday to have the k04 fitted and they said everything was fine.

I’d have done it myself but I don’t have a garage
 

Alex Holmes

Registered User
Well spent the best part of the morning trying to figure out the Bluetooth retrofit and i think im safe in saying its finally finished! I hope...

Replaced the blown fuse for the HU and recoded and few bits and wired up the mic and it works a treat. Also got the SDS functions for the telephone too so just need to sort out the full SDS software next.

Celebrated my success with a new jelly bean are freshener too! Lol

Now on with the xenons...
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
Today has been engine mount replacement day.
Met Office forecast for my neck of the wood was dry all day, well that was to be taken with a very large pinch of salt so made a start mid-morning.
All went well, for the most part, nearside came out nice and problem-free, offside not too bad either, getting at that pesky top nut is a challenge to say the least so removed the complete air box and it was massive help combined with a stuby angled ratchet spanner nut was off, no way it was going back on that easy.
All put back on nicely accept that impossible top nut, managed it in the end from below using new found angles of wrist and arm articulation..lol.
I was a bit concerned about alignment after messing around with the subframe as there is a special tool that is fitted into the mounts bottom brackets and hold the bracket and subframe in a fixed position whilst tightening all up, a quick scan in the toolbox and I'd found an old deep socket that was a perfect fit, job done.

All in 3 hours which included tea and biscuits, struggling with the top nut and finishing of in the issing rain, I knew I shouldn't have relied on the met office..
I seem to recall someone saying its a 2 1/2 hour job in a garage aswell so I didn't do too bad and wasn't rushing at it.

A Quik test drive and the old bus is back to its best, no bad vibes at all, almost civilised now.

The old ones were totally shot as you can see in the pics.

mount2.JPG
mountfix2.JPG
mountix3.JPG
mountfix4.JPG
mountfix1.JPG

Onto the next job on the list.
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
If I was to do it again I'd modify a 13mm ring spanner, heat it up with my torch and bend it into a more specific dogleg shape, that way you can use it with the airbox removed but still get good leverage with a full level handle, non of this struggling with a short item in a confined space.
I'd also grind down the first 5mm of the top threads making a peg type top so its easier to get the nut on and started rather than struggle trying to get it started in a very limited space and it just falling off, a real bind that top nut.

It's not really a difficult DIY job, youtube vids do make it look more difficult and awkward than it is to be honest, just a case of using a decent method.

I'd say it saved myself £300 min in labour cost based on indy charges, the pair of mounts were £90 which wasn't silly money, so I have a few pounds to allocate to other bits on the old bus.

:yes::thumbs up:
 
Last edited:

Alex Holmes

Registered User
Just had a little play with the new xenons tonight. Had a trial fit of the new lense covers i bought from ebay and im pleased to say all is good! The fit is very good and ofcourse there crytal clear so make the headlights look like new.

Goin to have a play tomorrow painting one of the chrom trims black to see how i like it but overall very happy.
IMG_20210203_46635.jpg
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
Are you changing the idy bulb lens to clear Alex?
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
I think so Rob, well removing them. I've ordered those chrome finish bulbs to fit once I've carefully stripped them down.

Thats great, best plan really as the amber lens does make the front end look a bit more dated than one would like and the clears are so much better.:icon thumright::yes:
 

Alex Holmes

Registered User
A
Thats great, best plan really as the amber lens does make the front end look a bit more dated than one would like and the clears are so much better.:icon thumright::yes:

Agreed, its a shame you can get the clear versions online to make the replacement as oem as possible, but its not the end of the world. The new nightbreaker cool blue boost HID should work even better through these new lenses too!
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Just had a little play with the new xenons tonight. Had a trial fit of the new lense covers i bought from ebay and im pleased to say all is good! The fit is very good and ofcourse there crytal clear so make the headlights look like new.

Goin to have a play tomorrow painting one of the chrom trims black to see how i like it but overall very happy.
View attachment 215242
Removing the orange indicator lens and blacking the chrome piece gives the illusion of a slightly tinted headlight especially looking at a picture side by side of the before and after so keep that in mind mate as it may look a little aftermarket for your build, looking forward to the end result though.
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
@Dan_Avant do you have the link to that cts ko4? I found it at a few places for around £1100-1200 and other for about $1499 just wondered where you got yours and if you had any shipping issues with all this eu drama? Cheers mate
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Top