1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

What have you done to your 8V today?

Relliott6879 Jan 27, 2015

  1. Cornish John

    Cornish John Guest

    0
    0
    0
    I actually found, when I fitted high flow air filter to my 2016 Audi TT 2.0 TDI it performed better than my 2016 Audi S3 2.0 TFSI engine.
     
    dp_motley likes this.
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    So how is different? And what's TCU for?
     
  4. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,249
    486
    83
    More PS is always better ;) Now my 1.5 has the power equal to the 2.0. It should be approx. 180-190PS and 300-310Nm. The 2.0 owners get this from the factory though.

    TCU stands for a Transmission Control Unit and it is a brain for the DSG/S-tronic.
     
  5. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    But u have 1.6 car not 1.5?
    I know more bhp but Is it actually better?
    Yeah brain but what actually has been done?
     
  6. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,249
    486
    83
    I have a 2019 A3 35TFSI (1.5TFSI COD engine). The 1.6 TDI was my previous car.
    More bhp means more power, faster acceleration. The car feels lighter and faster.
    On the dsg tuning, I recommend reading here: https://tvsengineering.com/en/performance/gearbox-software/
     
  7. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    Man c'moon I know long time ago what bhp means
    Am askin if you have really some improvement.? Noticeable? No any problems?
    Will check link
     
  8. Jud

    Jud Registered User

    160
    328
    63
    Bit of a brake upgrade, forge big brake kit to the front, ebc grooved discs, yellow pads all round and braided hoses [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-N986B using Tapatalk
     
    Dubjam, rizzi, Fatbloke and 7 others like this.
  9. Cornish John

    Cornish John Guest

    0
    0
    0
    Yep, my last few Audi, all mapped, made them all so much more of a "drivers car" improved fuel as well!

    A3 2010 plate, 2.0tdi 170bhp, mapped 225bhp
    A3 2014 plate, 2.0tdi 150bhp, mapped 190bhp
    TT 2010 plate, 2.0tdi 170bhp, mapped 225bhp
    TT 2016 plate, 2.0tdi 184bhp, mapped 210bhp

    My car now S3 2016 plate, 2.0TFSI 296bhp, mapped 350bhp

    Each one I noticed a difference on performance.
     
    Peter82 and dp_motley like this.
  10. Marky79

    Marky79 Registered User

    297
    120
    43
    Fitted a CETE controller to my RS3. Car now sounds much better.
     
    pburv likes this.
  11. Leevr

    Leevr Registered User

    1,065
    1,182
    113
    Looks fantastic. Really sets off the car. If you don't mind me asking the obvious question of, how much? Do you really feel a massive difference in stopping distance?
     
    Jud and pburv like this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    Had remap done £150 'stage 1' but am not feeling any difference? :suspicion:
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Cornish John

    Cornish John Guest

    0
    0
    0
    Looks cheap, most cost between £250 and £400.

    Was it not done on a rolling road, so you could see before and after map results??

    Everyone I had done, I had this and could see before and after results.

    https://www.tuninglab.co.uk/single-post/2018/07/24/Audi-A3-8V-20-TDi-150

    Above link was my old A3, before I had the TTs then the current S3.
     
  15. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    Very suspicious Peter, you should at least feel the extra torque.
    The cheapest I've been quoted for a basic map was £250.00
    425.00 for Revo
     
  16. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    I thought you had a quattro Peter?
    They have mapped a 150bhp 2.0 from what it looks like on the vehicle description, maybe I'm thinking of someone else.
     
  17. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    Well he wanted to charge me £200 and I ask if can he do 150 so he said ok :D corona discount :D
    I saw how is the file flashing.. It took altogether about hour?
    I didn't try the car properly yet put the foot down properly heh .. Maybe little bit is better.. If mine is 184 and increase is don't know how much 35 bhp more?
    I should feel the difference?
    So does the mechanic know if the car has been already remapped?
    Can he see it? Maybe seller didn't tell me..
     
  18. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    No I asked him why there is 150 and he said it is just generic file name or ecu reading.. Car is quattro heh
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    So do I have to have it on dynamic only or torque is better on all drive modes?
     
  20. Cornish John

    Cornish John Guest

    0
    0
    0
    You defo see a difference.
    All mine have been done at the same place, dyno included, £250.
    (I do get a discount now, being a regular)

    On the dyno, you can see what your car is doing at the start, say 150bhp, then what its doing after, say 186bhp.
    You would know from the offset, what is what.
     
  21. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    On the dyno, you can see what your car is doing at the start, say 150bhp, then what its doing after, say 186bhp.
    You would know from the offset, what is what .
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2020
  22. Cornish John

    Cornish John Guest

    0
    0
    0
    The place where I get my car mapped charges £25 per dyno run, multiple runs you get a discount.
     
  23. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    Why do I need multiple?
    What's the place called?
     
  24. Leevr

    Leevr Registered User

    1,065
    1,182
    113
    I've used GB Enterprises in Bridgewater Somerset and its £85 / run. £25 is dirt cheap
    Screenshot_20200828-070214_Chrome.jpg
     
  25. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    Total ripoff ...
    well in the south of england everything is so expensive really don't understand why it's crazy
     
  26. Cornish John

    Cornish John Guest

    0
    0
    0
    The place I use is in North Devon, if you clicked on the link in my other post, the details are there.
    Plus, like I said, you see my old A3 from 2 years ago.

    You wont need multiple runs to see what your car is doing, that is for people who tune their car, dyno it, tune some more, dyno it again etc.

    The chap in North Devon for £250, will dyno your car to see what stock performance you have, then load the software and dyno again once done.
    If he think it needs a tweak, he will do that to the software, then re-dyno as many times as needed all for £250 which I think is very fair price.

    You have paid £150 and have no idea what you had at the start and no idea to what you have now!!


    (my old A3 again from two years ago)
    https://www.tuninglab.co.uk/single-post/2018/07/24/Audi-A3-8V-20-TDi-150
     
    pburv likes this.
  27. Leevr

    Leevr Registered User

    1,065
    1,182
    113
    Awesome GTI Manchester. So not just down south.
    Screenshot_20200828-122610_Chrome.jpg
     
  28. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    Expensive called dozen places quattro minimum £85 other places like stupid £120
    But Just went for spin and actually there is something better accelerating in comfort mode and in dynamic
     
    Leevr likes this.
  29. JohnM100

    JohnM100 Registered User Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    1,496
    741
    113
    Visited @DJAlix to get reversing camera and dash cam installed. He installed my carbon fibre mirror caps too.

    Top work from a top guy.
     
    Sandra, pburv and DJAlix like this.
  30. Mr Freeze

    Mr Freeze Registered User

    577
    534
    93
    How much was it for the Reversing camera ?
     
  31. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,335
    4,833
    113
    £395 (facelift vehicles) or £445 (pre facelift)
     
    pburv likes this.
  32. rizzi

    rizzi Registered User

    7
    1
    3
    Hi!!
    but you cannot use your mmi controls no?
    then how do you control the screen?
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. Peter82

    Peter82 Registered User

    452
    54
    28
    Jeusss why it is so expensive?
     
  35. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,335
    4,833
    113
    Oh, it’s you. Here we go again....

    Genuine OEM parts, professionally fitted by a fully insured company with many years of experience, topped off with a 2 years warranty. To add to this am at least £100 cheaper than my closest competitor :)
     
    S32B, SPIKE_S3, CraigM and 14 others like this.
  36. Leevr

    Leevr Registered User

    1,065
    1,182
    113
    @DJAlix you opening line made me chuckle. Peter82 does have an opinion on everything and everyone else is wrong or incorrect. As far as I've heard you always do a top job for site members.
     
    CraigM, X3man, S32B and 9 others like this.
  37. Dubjam

    Dubjam Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    903
    329
    63
    Everything is always 'too expensive' for @Peter82 , I am wondering if he would be better with a bicycle? or a Lada?..

    OR

    he opens a retrofitting outfit using genuine parts and does say the camera fitted for say, £150, how about @Peter82 , possible? or can you do it even cheaper?!
     
    X3man, S32B, CraigM and 5 others like this.
  38. Sandra

    Sandra Administrator Staff Member Administrator Platinum Supporter Audi Main Dealer

    32,132
    14,775
    113
    GenuineOEM parts, professionally fitted by a fully insured company with many years of experience, topped off with a 2 years warranty. To add to this am at least £100 cheaper than my closest competitor :)

    Why are you always so negative. Every time @DJAlix does this retrofit your on here. By all means if you can find the Oem parts and a professional installer to do it cheaper, then you go there. End of.
     
    X3man, SPIKE_S3, CraigM and 6 others like this.
  39. Ormesome

    Ormesome Registered User

    1,918
    1,131
    113
    All controls work as they should. The screen becomes Apple Car play but you can use the MMI and VC as normal. Personally I got it so it streams the LBC app instantly when I turn on the car, can’t get it over here, it’s a bit annoying looking for the cable and plugging in each time.
     
  40. Ormesome

    Ormesome Registered User

    1,918
    1,131
    113
    :tearsofjoy: Made me chuckle!
     
    X3man, pburv, AlS3BE and 1 other person like this.
  41. Dubjam

    Dubjam Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    903
    329
    63
    Wheres your BAN HAMMER @Sandra ? Surely it needs a flex this week? :)
     
    X3man, Sandra, CraigM and 4 others like this.
  42. T-1000

    T-1000 Registered User

    870
    746
    93
    [​IMG]
    Something along these lines.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    pburv, Dubjam and Leevr like this.
  43. AlS3BE

    AlS3BE Registered User

    3,273
    1,895
    113
    think that’s a bargain. I was quoted double that from other retrofitters. The parts alone is around £300 for genuine Audi so really not much for Alex’s time/labour/insurance.
     
    Sandra, pburv, Dubjam and 1 other person like this.

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information