1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

VCDS Modifications

davidbir Sep 21, 2016

  1. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    Ah yes, I'll see if I can get something posted up tonight!

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    Ok, so I've pulled together the instructions I followed from the AudiWorld forum post and summarised it for how I enabled Lane Assist on my UK spec A4 with Tech Pack but without Side Assist. I'd strongly advise using a pen and paper to record all the changes you make, so that you can retrace your steps if you go wrong. You will need OBDEleven Pro to make these adaption and coding changes.

    This is what I did:

    Part 1: Coding Changes

    Module A5 (Frt Sens / Drv Assist) - You will be prompted for a Security Code to make changes to the coding in here, use code 20103. OBDeleven helpfully remembers this code if you come back to this module later.

    • Set HC to 'Active'
    • Set EFP to 'Active'

    Module 17 (Dash Board)
    • Set Lane Assistant to 'Active'

    Module 09 (Central Electrics)
    • Set Heading Control Config to 'heading_control'

    Module 44 (Steering Assistance)
    • Set Heading Control Assistant to 'Active'

    You will probably have some error / warning lights on the dash by this point. Don't panic - continue on until the end and they should all clear!

    Part 2: Adaption Changes

    Module 5F (Information Electronics) -

    Find 'Car_Function_Adaptations_Gen2' and make the following adaptions within it:
    • Set Menu_display_Lane_departure_warning to 'Activated'
    • Set Menu_display_Lane_Departure_Warning_over_threshold_high to 'Activated'

    Find 'Car_Function_List_BAP_Gen2' and make the following adaptions within it:

    • Set LDW_HCA_0x19 to “Activated'
    • Set LDW_HCA_0x19_msg_bus to “Terminal 15

    Module A5 (Frt Sens. Drv. Assist)

    • Set BAP Personalization to “Not Activated
    • Set Personalization of lane dept. warning Cl. 15 to “Last Setting
    • Set System mode, lane depart. warn to “Selection via menu
    • Set Switch-on condition, lane depart. warn. to “On

    You may need to toggle the switch-on condition between 'On' and 'Selection Via Menu' a few times before it activates. On my car nothing appeared to have changed either in the Virtual Cockpit or MMI menus until I switched it all off and left it for 30 minutes. When I next turned on the ignition I could see the lane indicators on the dash, and the MMI menu had appeared under the Driver Aids menu. If you still have error messages displayed on the dash then it's likely you did something wrong, retrace your steps and double check your coding!

    From the AudiWorld post there are also some settings to adjust the wheel vibration intensity, warning times and steering effort. I've not tried these yet so I don't know if they work, but I've included them for completeness:

    Customisation Settings - Module A5 - Adaptions

    Directional stabilization assist driver inact deactiv threshold (3 options)

    Directional stab. assist.: intensity: steering wheel vibration (3 options)

    Directional stab. assist.: intensity: power steering support (3 options)

    I've had Lane Assist enabled for about a month now, and I don't find it too intrusive. If you did want to disable it again you'd need to change some of the settings back using OBDEleven (I'd guess changing Switch-on condition, lane depart. warn. to 'Off' would do it).

    Hope that helps, i'll try and help where I can but this is the first time i've had any real experience of modifying anything!
     
    ScottishA4B9 and h1r4 like this.
  4. J4JAV

    J4JAV Registered User

    25
    35
    13
    Interesting thread! I have the VAGCOM Hex-Net and have done the following mods to mine so far: -

    Locking/Unlocking Beep Enabled
    Dynamic Indicators Flash 5x instead of 3x

    But on the VAGCOM Hex-Net it does not allow me to do the Lap Timer, Needle Sweep and the above Lane Assist, always freezes on certain steps. So may need to invest in the OBDeleven and get shut of the Hex-Net on eBay!
     
  5. h1r4

    h1r4 Registered User

    307
    178
    43
    Stupid question but does obd11 allow to clear fault codes. Such as when sensors have been disconnected and what not?
     
  6. bpnike

    bpnike Registered User

    47
    9
    8
    yes it does
     
    h1r4 likes this.
  7. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    @mjcourtney Many thanks mate! I will give it a go next weekend. Just need to get the code for the needle sweep now!
     
  8. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    No problem, keep us updated if you try it.

    For needle sweep you need to go to Module 17 (Dashboard) -> Coding -> set 'Staging' to 'Yes'.



    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
  9. BigAardvaark

    BigAardvaark Registered User

    359
    158
    43
    I only have HEX-USB+CAN VCDS cable, what (if any) mods are possible with this?
     
  10. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    IMG_8289.JPG IMG_8290.JPG @mjcourtney hey mate I really can't make head nor tail of obdeleven. I've tried following your instructions but I get completely different options on my app.

    For the lane assist I don't get option to select ACTIVE. It just says coding or no coding when I tap the HC option in Module A5.

    Ive watched all the videos on obdeleven and I still have no idea how to work it! ****** nightmare!
     
  11. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    Coded is the equivalent of Enabled/active. Not-coded is the equivalent of disabled/inactive. The terminology isn't very consistent throughout the app. Hope that helps!

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
    Brasso likes this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    @mjcourtney Ah ok. So I just need to change the options I want to 'coded' then? Is that it? I couldn't find the needle sweep for the life of me!
     
  14. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    Can anybody help?

    I was under the impression I had to change bytes and parameters but all I get offered is to select coded or not coded options.
    I have obdeleven pro.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2017
  15. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    So the 'options' your setting to coded/not coded are actually bits that you're setting to 1 or 0 (or enabled / disabled or active / inactive). OBDeleven just calls them different things. So the instruction to set 'HC' to 'active' is the same as setting it to 'Coded'. OBDeleven tries to make the coding / adaptions a little more user friendly by representing the bits as single options - but this can get confusing when following instructions derived from a VCDS procedure.

    How far down the coding changes did you get? (Needle Sweep should be an option you can find under the Dashboard module, you'll need to set it to Coded / Active / Enabled depending on what OBDeleven calls it).
     
    ScottishA4B9 likes this.
  16. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    @mjcourtney To be honest mate I gave up! I couldn't find needle sweep anywhere but found lap timer. There was also quite a few different lane assist and I didn't know which one.
    So am I right in just assuming all I do is select the option I want and just select 'coded'?
    I selected Lap timer but it didn't come up on my display.
     
  17. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    @mjcourtney Do I just select 'coded' for the steps you stated above? What do I do for when you have to change number parameters? I'm still abit confused.
     
  18. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    Yep - anything that says set to 'Active' you set to 'Coded' or 'Enabled'. To access the lap timer once activated you'll need to press the left menu button on the steering wheel when on the trip computer screen - you can then select Lap Timer. There should only be one option for 'Lane Assistant' in Module 17 - can you take a photo / screenshot of what OBDeleven is showing you for this module?

    Needle Sweep is labelled 'Staging' under Coding in Module 17 - Dashboard. Set it to 'Yes'.

    You shouldn't need to change any number parameters - it should all be drop down options to pick.
     
  19. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    @mjcourtney Ok managed to get Lap timer so far

    I've got down to Module A5 as the last step in Lane Assist. When I select BAP Personalization it asks me for a code?!!!


    IMG_8310.JPG IMG_8311.JPG

    System mode, lane departure warn. asks for a pin code as well?
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2017
  20. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    The code is 20103 - written at the beginning of the procedure ;)

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
  21. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    It should have asked you for that code when setting HC to 'Coded' in the first step, so I'd also go back and check that's been set correctly.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
  22. TripleD

    TripleD Audi S4 Avant Owner

    819
    300
    63
    Loving this thread, but, not sure about trying the coding obviously this can be tracked somehow if your car goes for servicing etc and requires some kinda update, will everything be reset again?
    The boot timer for me is interesting, bent down to give my dog a markie and the ****** boot opened, that's way too sensitive, am scared now about what touches the key!
     
  23. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    thanks mate. I Completely missed the code. I definately don't get asked for a code when I select the HC. This is under the coded section and just gives me the option 'coded' or 'uncoded'
     
  24. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    So far I've managed to get the needle sweep, lap time, VIM and Sports Computer activated.
    IMG_8308.JPG
    IMG_8309.JPG
     
    Genji, Kalashnikov and mjcourtney like this.
  25. Brasso

    Brasso Registered User

    2,313
    1,080
    113
    Exactly why I increased the time on mine. Not had the problem again since.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    TripleD likes this.
  26. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    Fair enough! Have you completed all the steps now?

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
  27. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    Not yet mate as it was too late. Will try again tomorrow.
     
  28. TripleD

    TripleD Audi S4 Avant Owner

    819
    300
    63
    So apart from coding, what do you actually need for lane assist your car must have some certain options?
    Sorry for any stupid questions #learning
     
  29. bpnike

    bpnike Registered User

    47
    9
    8
    you have to have the city pre sense camera behind your rear view mirror. thats it
     
    TripleD likes this.
  30. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    Thanks to @mjcourtney, I have finally managed to code Lane Assist. It's weird seeing it work for the first time.

    BEFORE:
    IMG_8317.PNG

    AFTER:
    IMG_8316.JPG

    IMG_8318.JPG
     
    Brasso, mjcourtney and TripleD like this.
  31. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    TripleD and ScottishA4B9 like this.
  32. TripleD

    TripleD Audi S4 Avant Owner

    819
    300
    63
    So what is the difference between a 55euro odbeleven pro and a 225 gbp rosstech vcds?
    The rosstech is limited to 3 vins for that price, can't see any limits on odbeleven.

    Which one is safer? Don't want to end up with a black garden ornament if it goes wrong!
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. Brasso

    Brasso Registered User

    2,313
    1,080
    113
    I've got an odbeleven but I'm not a fan TBH, prefered the VCDS that I used to have (Sold it for £25 quid less than I paid for it last year). I've gone VCP now given no full vcds support yet and so far I'm getting on with it ok.

    All be it I've had no need to do any changes yet as @djalex sorted me out on that front.
     
    Sandra likes this.
  35. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    Not really a modification, but if anyone is wanting to know how much Adblue they have left they can check it with OBDeleven.

    Engine - Live Data - search for "Reducing agent tank volume, act.value calculated" for litres remaining, or "sensor for reducing agent fill level, calibrated" for a percentage.

    I have the 24 litre tank, I've done 3260 miles since new and I have 15.46L left. Not bad!

    I don't know why Audi don't provide a way to check this on the MMI......


    [​IMG]

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
    ScottishA4B9 and h1r4 like this.
  36. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,625
    5,069
    113
    There is an MMI menu option that can be activated, via firmware editing only tho
     
  37. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    Ah, even more strange that the option is there, but hidden by default! They obviously thought the majority users wouldn't be interested I guess.
     
  38. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,625
    5,069
    113
    I think some cars, depending on equipment level, don't have the related sensor even if they are adblue. Classic Audi penny pinching!

    My FL A3 has a hidden oil level mmi menu but no sensor :(
     
    mjcourtney likes this.
  39. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    Just checked my ad blue level at I have just over 11L remaining at 6597 miles.
     
  40. Jcbmally

    Jcbmally Started with nothing & still have most of it left.

    1,662
    2,419
    113
    So anyone in Cumbria that can change a couple of things via VCDS/OBD etc. I have the Tech pack and would like to activate the high beam assist and lane change assist (I have forward facing camera), as well as dipping mirror and needle sweep.
     
  41. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Registered User

    1,692
    536
    113
    Couple more useful ones I've discovered whilst tinkering with OBDeleven. Both these tweaks are in module 46 - Central Module Comfort System.

    Activate option to enable / disable auto-locking in the MMI (when it locks as you drive off):

    [​IMG]

    Coding -> automatic_lock_not_at_mmi set to "not active"

    [​IMG]

    ---------------------------

    Enable remote locking whilst engine is running (useful for de-icing!)

    [​IMG]

    Coding -> central_locking_system_lock_unlock_at_engine_running set to "active".

    --------------------------

    Will keep digging to see what else I can find that might be helpful! :)

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2017
    h1r4 likes this.
  42. BigAardvaark

    BigAardvaark Registered User

    359
    158
    43
    This thread needs renaming, very little within it is easily possible with VCDS, should be called "OBDEleven Modifications"
     
    mjcourtney likes this.
  43. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Registered User

    3,729
    1,073
    113
    I hope the us a way to disable the head light washers. I'm sick of them coming in every time I use the windscreen wash.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information