Help Please Turbo Spool Up Lag (I think)

Paul Allen

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have an issue with my Turbo on my 2.0 TFSI A4 B8 Quattro.

My turbo intermittently seems to just not function. Is this Spool Up Lag? There are no unusable noises, nor specifically related error codes & when it does work it seems fine. Now, there is an underlying engine camshaft error, with codes p0341, p0011 & p000a, that I believe may be the culprit, but I'm just not 100% sure why, if indeed I'm right.

To cut a very long 2 year story short, I have a hot start issue, cause by a failing intake camshaft, which I believe was caused by a PCV Valve failure 2 years ago (cambridge mesh related I think). I've listed the error codes above just for reference.

I suppose my question is, would / could this situation cause or force the engine to disable the turbo? It's a long shot question because I don't see how it's physically possible for the engine to do that at will to a turbo, but I'm an amateur mechanic at best, one who is very willing to learn, so I could be clutching at straws.

Any thoughts, ideas or insights would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul.

The turbo will never be truly disabled. However, if the wastegate valve is electronic rather than pneumatic, it is possible for the ECU to restrict operation under certain "self preservation" circumstances.

I have to ask the question though. Why have you not resolved these other issues already? If the camshaft "failure" was caused by the PCV two years ago, then why is it still unrepaired? Unrepaired issues can, and generally will, have a massive snowball effect.

Hi Garrett 69,

Thanks for your reply.

The turbo will never be truly disabled. However, if the wastegate valve is electronic rather than pneumatic, it is possible for the ECU to restrict operation under certain "self preservation" circumstances.
I believe it's electronic, so that would make sense, yes.