Turbo cut out

Simon Goldsworthy-Hill

Reaction score
Hello all,

My first time posting in the forum. It has been a great source of help!

I am currently repairing an A4 1.9TDI 52 Plate avent. Its a lovely car, but sometimes, mainly under load the turbo will cut out and it will be turbo less until i turn the engine off and on again.

I have checked all the vaccum lines and replaced n75. Still does it. I have cleaned out the EGR too. The fact it is reset by turning it off and on again, it must be electrical. I know there are two other vaccumm actuators, and wonder if i should replace them too.

Any ideas?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

You need to get a diagnostic, but I would suspect that you have sticking turbo vanes, which is a very common problem.

I had the same thing one mine a little while ago.
I'm no expert, but it seemed like the actuator on the turbo was very stiff/wouldn't move by hand, guessing this is related to sticky vanes?
I put some of the turbo cleaner in the fuel, revved it highish down the motorway for a bit, then i was able to move the actuator by hand, it got a lot free'er afterwards & touchwood it's been ok since.
Whether it was the ragging, the moving by hand or the turbo cleaner or a combination I'm not sure. I've just got another bottle to throw in the tank today actually just to 'hopefully' keep on top of it.

Yes stiff vanes = stiff actuator .

There's a direct corolation to how smoky the car is and vnt troubles as the soot builds up .

To keep good combustion and lower soot , 2 Stroke oil / 2 - EHN added to fuel , a low ash C3 PD oil such as 507.00 and the egr being disabled . Also a healthy thermostat all keep a low score for the MOT smoke opacity test .

And a good ranting now and then .

Reactions: norris_309
Damn, my thermostat has just decided to fail!.. i do use longlife 3 every year/10k
Better get the thermostat done then (it'll be the second i've had in my ownership 50k miles)