Tuning Box..

cuke2u

Registered User
As my car is coming up to it's 10,000 mile mark, and also being two years old, I am going to do what I have done to all my previous cars and try out a DTUK tuning box.

So, after consulting with them about the installation I have placed a order today, but I just had to check that all the connections can all be accessed from the top. Looking at pictures from a Q5 it seems like the boost sensor is just about accessible ok, which is the one that is difficult on a transverse engine such as the A3.

Looking forward to testing it out on our journey to Suffolk in a couple of weeks time but, if anyone's interested, I can post up a fitment guide.
 

Daggerit

Registered User
As my car is coming up to it's 10,000 mile mark, and also being two years old, I am going to do what I have done to all my previous cars and try out a DTUK tuning box.

So, after consulting with them about the installation I have placed a order today, but I just had to check that all the connections can all be accessed from the top. Looking at pictures from a Q5 it seems like the boost sensor is just about accessible ok, which is the one that is difficult on a transverse engine such as the A3.

Looking forward to testing it out on our journey to Suffolk in a couple of weeks time but, if anyone's interested, I can post up a fitment guide.

Good choice, I'm sure you know you'll enjoy it if you've had on previous cars. :)

They all come with a fitment guide though do they not? Mine was a few A4 pages of colour photos and made it a breeze to install (and the sensors being very accessible helped too).
 

cuke2u

Registered User
Yes they do and they have already sent me a copy. I have fitted one before to my A3 1.4 and that was all accessible from under the bonnet but I'd seen that on the transverse 2.0l engine you had to take off the under shield to gain access the boost sensor from under the car, so it is a relief I shouldn't have to do that.
Oh and I've ordered the app to go with it as well..
 

vinvinian

Registered User
I used to carry a kebab skewer with me as intercooler plug was hard to get too . Just in case I had to call roadside etc.
And I have a crtd2 box from tdi tuning . Ex 2014 3.0 v6 tdi A6 bi turbo . If anyone interested as they can't re code it for the S4 . 100 quid pm if interested

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
 

cuke2u

Registered User
Ok so I think I have found one of the boost sensors to the right of the engine, as you look at it. Does anyone agree?
20180803_195603.jpg
 

rasA4

Four Rings Mafia Specialist
@cuke2u what kind of performance does this give out?
 

cuke2u

Registered User
240ps 400Nm, no 0-62 times...
 

cuke2u

Registered User
Well it is fitted and I must say it was a doddle compared to the one I fitted to my A3. On that one I had to remove the air cleaner box and some of its plumbing. Even then one of the connectors was difficult to release.

The only fly in the ointment is that the bluetooth will not pair, keeps telling me that the code is incorrect, however it doesn't tell me where to put in the correct code. Guess I'll have to email their support.

I have taken some pictures, especially those of a naked engine :scared2: for anyone interested, but the supplied instructions made it easy.
Haven't had chance to road test it yet though...
 

DohNut

Registered User
Looking forward to your review.
 

cuke2u

Registered User
Will do when I get to drive it. I might have resolved the bluetooth pairing issue as I had 'allow devices to discover my phone' turned off. I am sure turning it on will make a difference so I'll try again tomorrow as its almost wine o'clock time now.
I have for now mounted the box here, but if anyone could suggest a different place then feel free. However it needs to be on the left, or behind, because of the length of the wiring harness. It doesn't touch the bonnet:

20180804_151031.jpg
 

vinvinian

Registered User
Will do when I get to drive it. I might have resolved the bluetooth pairing issue as I had 'allow devices to discover my phone' turned off. I am sure turning it on will make a difference so I'll try again tomorrow as its almost wine o'clock time now.
I have for now mounted the box here, but if anyone could suggest a different place then feel free. However it needs to be on the left, or behind, because of the length of the wiring harness. It doesn't touch the bonnet:

View attachment 162093
Looks good but it looks above turbo or manifold so look out for heat as it looks like other equipment below has heat shields

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
 

cuke2u

Registered User
Thanks, yes aware of that which is why I have placed it as high as I can. Below is all this malarky, but nothing is wrapped in any heat protection near the unit as can be seen with the rubber piping:
20180804_144711.jpg


It's very much work in progress and temporary but higher than the plastic engine cover, so I was assuming if that hadn't melted the risk of heat influence is low...
 

DohNut

Registered User
Does the improved engine performance have any impact on gearbox (s-tronic) performance? Would be interested to know if the lag is reduced at all.
 

cuke2u

Registered User
Does the improved engine performance have any impact on gearbox (s-tronic) performance? Would be interested to know if the lag is reduced at all.
I have never noticed much lag really but I haven't really driven the car much post fitment yet. We have a long journey to make in a few weeks time so I be able to test it further then...
 

Hammerhead

Registered User
Any update on this Cuke as I'm sitting on the fence about one of these still but it's on my list of mods for sure
 

cuke2u

Registered User
Any update on this Cuke as I'm sitting on the fence about one of these still but it's on my list of mods for sure
Can't report any more than from my brief test drive on the 5th and I'm not going to be driving the car until the weekend. Apologies but it is our holiday season and I am only driving the fiesta at the moment. However the round trip I will be on should provide information...
 
Been running a TDI box (similar to DTUK) on my s5 for about 5 months now. Can't say anything other than positive things.
 

SMI77

Australia
Any update on this Cuke as I'm sitting on the fence about one of these still but it's on my list of mods for sure
Good job your with the majority in the UK, because, out here a many of our fences are still barbed wire. That would fix your procrastination. ;-)
Its not like installing a bigger hairdryer or cams or whatever. The box is after the ECU, so it can only produce up to what the engine is capable of, providing you treat it with respect. Manufacturers build engines with low stress allowing for year on power increases without major redesign. Using economies of scale, manufacturers can utilise the same basic engine for multiple purposes.

There is an adage that says that one does not appreciate an item until its lost. Ours went in for its first service so I took off the boxes. The tune box was one thing, but the missing pedal box was something else! The Q3 loan vehicle completed the reality check. SWMBO wasn't impressed either.
 

Hammerhead

Registered User
Well I bit the bullet and had the DT-UK box installed this morning, running on Map 2 minus 1 at the moment
I'll up it to Map 2 Zero for the drive home and see what that's like, you can definitely feel the power difference, car feels much nicer to drive.

Please tell me about this pedal box and why it's a good idea?
 

SMI77

Australia

cuke2u

Registered User
So my first long run with the tuning box, blimey this thing is quick now with no fuss and very rapidly you are hitting licence losing speeds without realising it. That 400Nm of torque shows.
At first I had a difficulty holding the car back, I don't know if it is muscule memory or what but I was very concious of having to lift off from the normal acceleration movement of my right foot. I also averaged 42mpg over the journey, not bad considering I had been using the the full performance of the engine on occassions and cruising beyond the legal limit.
As far as the gearbox is concerned, it just got on with it, smooth fast changes and no lag when using the traffic assist in the miles of queuing traffic leading up to the Dartford tunnels.
Thing is, I want more now, hypnotic isn't it, a bit like drugs...
 

Hammerhead

Registered User
Interesting post, my thoughts exactly. What setting are you running on at the moment, the differences between them seem very subtle to me?
 

cuke2u

Registered User
I have the bluetooth app and it is set to the default setting it came with. I have a journey to make from where we are staying to Lowestoft on wednesday, about an hour. I will then experiment then with different settings on the fly..
 
So my first long run with the tuning box, blimey this thing is quick now with no fuss and very rapidly you are hitting licence losing speeds without realising it. That 400Nm of torque shows.
At first I had a difficulty holding the car back, I don't know if it is muscule memory or what but I was very concious of having to lift off from the normal acceleration movement of my right foot. I also averaged 42mpg over the journey, not bad considering I had been using the the full performance of the engine on occassions and cruising beyond the legal limit.
As far as the gearbox is concerned, it just got on with it, smooth fast changes and no lag when using the traffic assist in the miles of queuing traffic leading up to the Dartford tunnels.
Thing is, I want more now, hypnotic isn't it, a bit like drugs...

Yep I can relate to that! The tuning box and full Milltek have mine at 415bhp and whilst its an absolute rocket I have got used to it and wouldnt say no to more. I did reset myself however by taking the box off for a few days and reminding myself of what the standard car is like. I think doing this every now and then might keep me from doing anything else.
 

cuke2u

Registered User
Yep I can relate to that! The tuning box and full Milltek have mine at 415bhp and whilst its an absolute rocket I have got used to it and wouldnt say no to more. I did reset myself however by taking the box off for a few days and reminding myself of what the standard car is like. I think doing this every now and then might keep me from doing anything else.
Yes taking the box off is a good reminder. I will have to do this when the car goes in for its second service in October...
 

Hammerhead

Registered User
You do't have to take it off just plug the adapter in to the cable end that puts it back to standard, or if you have the bluetooth version you can turn the box off in the app, also my advice is take the car for a service at an independent Audi specialist, they can do everything a main dealer can including updating the service details with Audi, they'll probably do a better job too and for less. Keeps the warranty in tact too obviously.
 

cuke2u

Registered User
You do't have to take it off just plug the adapter in to the cable end that puts it back to standard, or if you have the bluetooth version you can turn the box off in the app, also my advice is take the car for a service at an independent Audi specialist, they can do everything a main dealer can including updating the service details with Audi, they'll probably do a better job too and for less. Keeps the warranty in tact too obviously.
I have a Audi service plan that I pay £9.56 a month for over three years, thus I think it's cheaper than an independent specialist, or at least comparable.
As it will be going into a Audi dealership I will remove all physical traces of the box, but I have everything fastened with reusable cable ties so the whole job would be ten minutes, tops...
 

ABYSS

Andrew - Diesel Tuning UK
Site Sponsor
Paired the app ok this morning and all is working good. Took the car out for a brief run and what can I say. Smooth, sublime, refined and effortless, it is just good, no not good ****** brilliant....
glad to read you're happy Chris, and glad that installation was easy too :)
 

ABYSS

Andrew - Diesel Tuning UK
Site Sponsor
As my car is coming up to it's 10,000 mile mark, and also being two years old, I am going to do what I have done to all my previous cars and try out a DTUK tuning box.

So, after consulting with them about the installation I have placed a order today, but I just had to check that all the connections can all be accessed from the top. Looking at pictures from a Q5 it seems like the boost sensor is just about accessible ok, which is the one that is difficult on a transverse engine such as the A3.

Looking forward to testing it out on our journey to Suffolk in a couple of weeks time but, if anyone's interested, I can post up a fitment guide.
I forgot to mention that the box we supplied (with app control) also has an additional single SENT output.. Plus the option to may an upgrade fee to unlock 2nd SENT output to the box can be used on the new S4/S5/RS3/RS4/RS5
 

Invicta

Registered User
Sorry to interject like this guys, but which one out of DTUK and TDi-Tuning is better? For my car, DTUK are showing higher expected power gains but surely they would be the same as a TDi-Tuning box? Plus TDi's box is a bit cheaper and one of their offices is relatively close to where I live. Thanks guys
 
I would always go with DTUK. Certainly I'm not the best person to talk about any technical differences but DTUK have a great reputation for product and service in terms of helping people get the most out of their box. Particularly for the s4/s5/sq5 box DTUK did an awful lot of testing with an S4 on their fleet whereas gut feel tells me TDI are more generic in their mapping and don't shout about how they test or run vehicles. An awful lot of people with Golf Rs raved about the DTUK box too. Nothing wrong with TDI I would just always go with DTUK. Why do I have a TDI box then lol. Simply because it cost me 250 quid for it less than 9 months old all boxed etc. If I was buying a new one now I would go DTUK as I was part of the WhatsApp group and nobody said a bad thing about the product. I haven't been able to hear off that many TDI customers first hand. TDI offer fitting at a few locations think DTUK can only fit in one location. These boxes are easy to fit though.
 
Top