Thinking of getting an A5. Shopping tips?

KonstantinK

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm choosing my first car, so I'm a complete noob in that sense. After thinking long and hard about what I need a car for, I concluded that I don't need one.

But I want one
smile.gif

Being fully aware, that I am buying, let's be honest, a toy for weekend trips and otherwise occasional use, I figured I wanted something stylish, fun on the road, 2-door but 4-seat ('cuz weekend trips with friends are more fun). Not too concerned about MPG and not too keen on either manual gearbox or auto - I like both.

Oh, and I wanted it to be a European make, too.

My budget aim is £10k, but could stretch a bit, if I find a car of my dreams. I'm mainly looking at 2010/2011 cars, with up to 70k mileage

There's quite a range of different makes and models that offer all that and then some, but there's certain cars I decided to avoid, e.g.:

- Jaguars - expensive in exploitation; I'm 30 years too young to own one
- VW Golf GTI - great car but looks too much like a Golf :p
- BMW - don't like the bimmer driver stereotypes. I'm a nice person.
- Mercedes - OK, but generally pricey

etc.

I initially considered an Audi TT, but the amount of space at the back is nonsense. You won't fit an adult there.

So, now I'm down to two models:
- Audi A5 coupe
- VW Scirocco (Golf GTI in disguise!)

Reading online forums, I got an impression that, on average, 'Rocs tend to be more fun to drive, but are no match for A5's in terms of looks, both in and out.

Now, A5's that I'm looking at generally have either a 177bhp or 208bhp 2.0 TFSI engine. If you have driven both, which one would you recommend?

Also, is there any point in paying extra for a four-wheel drive?

I found a few listings that look potentially interesting, what do you think?

http://www.motors.co.uk/car-39696128/sl
http://www.motors.co.uk/car-40453381/sl
http://www.motors.co.uk/car-40913548/sl
http://www.motors.co.uk/car-40818405/sl