TDi 170 (08) sudden poor starting this morning

chinnyhill10

Reaction score
Hi,

Had my 08 plate TDi 170 for about 6 weeks.

It's been starting fine, but this morning it failed to start. Just the starter motor going around, no attempt to turn over. Like a petrol engine starved of petrol almost.

Eventually (after 4 minutes of trying) it spluttered into life with a rough idle at 1000rpm. It carried on like this for a mile or so down the road and then turned into its normal self.

Other then a very quick flash of an ESP Fault on the dash (probably related to turning the car on and off trying to start it) no faults showed on the dash.

Any ideas? Glow Plugs? Seems off though as this morning wasn't especially cold.

From warm it starts fine and obviously I can't test it cold again yet.

Thanks.

I'm no expert, but the esp message I get on mine as many others do related to low volts on battery or possibly because it turned over a lot

The 1000 rpm I would imagine is ir doing a dpf regen, don't get me started on this subject though, lol

Hope this helps a bit

Today was a really cold morning in yorkshire...so could be either the battery or the glow plugs...Mine did this for a while and it turned out to be one of the glow plugs and the battery, which wasnt taking on any charge...

Surely it wouldn't try and do a regen from a cold start though would it?

Doubt it would be a regen at that point in time. Silly question, but did the glow-plug light come on, and then go off after a few seconds?

I think the glow plug light came on and went off as normal. It wasn't that cold either, about 10c.

I've been driving around in her all day and she's been fine including from a 5 hour cold start. Put a dose of Redex in just in case.

I'm hoping its just something daft like the glow plugs. My Golf MK5 had some shafted glow plugs which only showed up under VCDS. No other symptom other than rough starting.