Supercharged 2.8 or K04 1.8 ????

dominicnyc

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm an Audi newbie. I have a 420Hp Ford Explorer, she runs 13's in the 1/4mi, but I'm tired of driving a SUV. The road characterictics are terrible and the gas mileage pitiful, 9mpg. It was a lot of fun for awhile, but now I want to move on. I am ready to buy an Audi.

My choices are as follows. A 99' 1.8t Avant w/58K mi for $14900 or a 98' 2.8 Avant w/54K mi for $16900. They are both 5-speeds. Money is a bit of an issue. I can spend around $25K complete. That's why I am looking for a slightly older model so as to have anothe $6-$7K for mods.

Which would be a more fun daily driver? The PES Supercharged 2.8 or a K04 upgraded turbo. I would like around 300hp (flywheel).To eliminate those of you who think I should buy a S4, I would, if i could find one for under $30K.

Thanks for any input. Dom

For tuning potential it has to be the 1.8T, as the 2.8 would be very expensive to tune.

I should think you should be able to get about 300 from it without too much triouble, but will be expensive. You are talking of a new turbo (dont get a K04, its cheaper to get a hybrid and will be better) full system exhaust (turbo back) a more free flowing intake (stainless gauze CAI), a front mount intercooler which you can get from forge motorsport (think they are available in the US). It would be worthwhile upgrading the wheels for 18" with 225/40ZR18 tires, for more traction, and also upgrading the suspension all round for a 40mm drop or more if u want.

Good luck!

Rich

Thanks TurkS4,

I've decided......I'm going to go with the 2.8 .