Special Edition or Black Edition??

SunnyB

Reaction score
Sorry if this has been covered but I wanted to check something. I've had a look searching the forum. I'm currently an 8L driver so not so clued-on with the 8P's.

My brothers recently purchased an 07 a3 2.0 T FSI S-Line. The previous owner stated it was an special edition not just s-line. I wanted to see if anyone could clarify this and what exactly it is. The car has only had 1 lady owner from new and she has not had any modifications done. Car is as it was delivered from the dealer.

It has the black grill surround, tinted windows, full 2 tone red/black leather interior, bluetooth, ipod connection, rear parking sensors, bbs speedlines. I was thinking it may be the black edition but not sure if it was avaialbe in 07 and also that it doesnt have darker alloys.

Would be greatful if anyone could shed some light......

Cheers.

Tandridge-20111008-00021.jpg

Tandridge-20111008-00018.jpg

I wasn't aware there was a black edition persay in 2007, but I know they did a 'black pack' (Black grille / tints) which has since evolved to become the black edition and includes different anthracite or rotor style alloys, and current offer includes comes with Nav, Bose and black gloss interior panelling on 2012 models.

I've also never heard of any 'special editions'. There is an SE model, and then the Black Edition, but neither are special editions as far as I am aware.

Happy to be corrected if there was one.

Last edited:
My car is a Black Edition and under the DVLA database, it is registered as a "Special Edition" (Sp Edtn to be precise).

When I run my reg through mycarcheck.com it comes back as an Audi A3 S Line Sp Edtn Tdi 138 (5 Door Hatchback). It's shown on my insurance certificate etc as that too.