Seat folds but doesn't move forward!

fran-s3

VCDS Map User
Reaction score
Hey guys!

Wondering if I can pick your brains.

This is starting to annoy me now when I have passenger... When I press the seat release lever the seat folds forward, but refuses to phyically move forward on the rails... So I have to litterally use the front lever handle and slide it forward and back again manually...

Anyone know what I have to take apart to fix it possibly? Snapped cable maybe?

Thanks

Thanks for the super quick reply mate!

Right found it I think under section 72-174 under 'Adjusting Easy Entry Bowden Cable' but I'll be dammed if I understand what the heck it's going on about! Remove the seat haha... ok thought it may be simpler than that, shame! Guess it's why im not a mechanic LOL!

Where are you? If you are not too far from Bicester, I could take a look.

I have stripped an S3 recaro down completely in the past...

Cheers,

I'm in Northampton mate, not to far from Bicester at all.

Seriously? Wow don't know any techs at my VW place who can. I asked them for advice and they were all clueless about it. Would really appreciate that if you wouldn't mind mate...

Hi fran, i had the same problem when i got my S3 and the garage i got it from said it was the cable and supplyed me one with the car, anyway it turned out to be the mount the cable sits in, so if urs turns out to be the cable i have one just pm me if intersted

Fran,

No problem. I'm away from Wed-Mon, but could probably be around the following Sunday afternoon, 19th?

Cheers,

Hi fran, i had the same problem when i got my S3 and the garage i got it from said it was the cable and supplyed me one with the car, anyway it turned out to be the mount the cable sits in, so if urs turns out to be the cable i have one just pm me if intersted

Awesome thankyou! Yes pls if it turns out to be that. Interesting, so did u manage to fit the mount or did u have to buy a new one?

---