1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Sat Nav on the information display

Richard46 Jan 18, 2019

  1. Richard46

    Richard46 Registered User

    171
    135
    43
    Can anyone tell me which versions of recent (2017-18) A3 give the sat nav info diagram on the information display?
    i.e. not just on the pop up screen and not with the virtual cockpit.

    Any information much appreciated.
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. j0hnst0n00

    j0hnst0n00 Registered User

    60
    25
    18
    I think I have what you mean, on the DIS (I don’t have the virtual cockpit); the car is a 2017 Facelift 1.5 TFSI BE.

    Dave
     
    Richard46 likes this.
  4. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,453
    4,953
    113
    If you mean a map display within the Driver Information Screen (DIS) between the analogue dials then none do. You only have maps display the virtual cockpit on the 8V MQB platform. All non-virtual cockpit vehicles with navigation will display direction and street name data only within a DIS.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
    Richard46 and j0hnst0n00 like this.
  5. j0hnst0n00

    j0hnst0n00 Registered User

    60
    25
    18
    That's a much better answer than mine, but I was alluding to the same thing!
     
  6. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    12,952
    5,255
    113
    Not quite true as you can display the navigation maps in the dis of a non vc in a b9 a4:
    IMG_0076.jpg
     
  7. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,453
    4,953
    113
    If you mean a map display within the Driver Information Screen (DIS) between the analogue dials then none do. You only have maps display the virtual cockpit on the 8V MQB platform. All non-virtual cockpit vehicles with navigation will display direction and street name data only within a DIS.

    The B9 MLBevo platform is very very different to the MQB. Same goes for the B8 MLB which could have the same "mini" VC style maps display from circa 2013 ish I believe....
     
    josul likes this.
  8. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    12,952
    5,255
    113
    Then you are confusing me, as you stated that with all models with none vc dials it will not display maps within the dis. Yet my photo shows a non vc map display within the dis.
    I guess when you are saying all models you mean all a3 models? So my apologies if I have come across all pedantic...
     
  9. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,453
    4,953
    113
    Well we are talking in the context of the A3 platform here are we not?
     
    PhilsA3 likes this.
  10. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    12,952
    5,255
    113
    Not always it seems :)
     
  11. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,453
    4,953
    113
    Well it was prefaced with the MQB platform statement. Given this is the A3 8V forum I did not think I would be required to qualify every description with with MQB, A3 or indeed 8V next to it.
     
    PhilsA3 likes this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Richard46

    Richard46 Registered User

    171
    135
    43
    Thanks @DJAlix right I don't mean a full graphic map just a basic diagram with directions. I am sure I found an image earlier (which I cannot of course now find) which just showed a next turn diagram.
    So I take it any A3 Display will give me that?
     
  14. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,453
    4,953
    113
    This would be an example displays:

    0005cdcb0835-3217-47f2-9.jpg
    images.jpeg kit-reequipamiento-mmi-navegador-original-7-audi-a3-8v_1.jpg
     
    Richard46 likes this.
  15. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    12,952
    5,255
    113
    I consider the mmi system in the a4 old, then the a3 must be positively ancient then. However it is a shame the a3 boys can't have the same. Perhaps it can't come soon enough that they move away from the qnx based open source system or the manner in which audi implement it..
     
  16. PhilsA3

    PhilsA3 Registered User

    43
    36
    18
    Yep, that's how my A3 1.5tfsi SL BE displays, and I wish it didn't, I would rather have the digital speedo, even when using sat nav....
     
  17. Richard46

    Richard46 Registered User

    171
    135
    43
    Yes @DJAlix that is what I had in mind. Thanks.
     
  18. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,453
    4,953
    113
    Actually the systems (hardware in the unit and software) are the same, bar some of the available options and menus which are specific to each platform. The main difference is the external display options, as demonstrated by the image in your post above. The MLBevo platform has a more advanced analogue instrument cluster which is very much like a "mini" virtual cockpit. These are not always configured to display maps from the factory however.

    The MMI systems within Audis have always been a bit behind in my opinion. My ride home from the airport the other day was a Toyota something-b0ll0x and its media system looked way better than what we get lol

    edit: for mistypes, 2018 MacBook Pro Keyboard is just ****!
     
  19. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,453
    4,953
    113
    can you not manually switch the display back to "car" and digital speed after nav has been activated?
     
  20. josul

    josul Registered User

    359
    291
    63
    Yep, just use the left and right arrows on the steering wheel. Left hand above the up down scroller/select button.
     
  21. josul

    josul Registered User

    359
    291
    63
    See above, I switch it off every time I use the sat nav.
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information