S4 - White smoke from the exhaust

Obliquegeek

Reaction score
I've recently picked up a 2003 S4 - 101k, On the way home from work this evening, with the windows open,I noticed the car smelt a bit 'hot'. It wasn't - sat at 90 the whole time. A few minutes later I noticed a bit of white smoke from the exhaust, disappeared quickly. About 5 mins late, again while it slowish moving traffic another puff of white smoke.

I'm new to all this - any thoughts? Suggestions on what to do?

did it go near the red as the white smoke indicates it may have head gasket on its way out. take the car to a garage they can do a sniff test, which will tell if any combustion gases are getting into the cooling system.

No real 'spirited' driving - was just coming home from work, traffic most of the was along dual carriage way, then stop start through town. Only had it a couple of days... Guess I'll get it to the garage next week then, little disappointing so soon after buying it. Anything I can do to check things in the meantime?

Head gasket - big job?

Look for mayo in the oil cap, water levels, the oil on the dip stick being oil and not with moisture, fuel or water leaks but these can be difficult unless the leak I see old and has left some kind of staining etc.

Oil cap, dip stick all look fine. Will keep an eye on the coolant.

Had the missus drive the car so I could see the smoke and it's not as white as I first thought. Definitely a blue/grey and smells of engine...

Appears some times when pulling away. Sometimes when choosing to a stop at traffic lights. Doesn't seem very consistent.

Blue grey means you are burning oil....piston rings possibly, cams possibly

White is more of a coolant leak.

Reactions: neil ratcliffe
Try letting it idle when hot and rev it hard when stood up outside and able to see better if it gives any smoke from the exhaust.Do you know when it was last serviced and what oil was used?

I think I preferred the sound of it being the head gasket!