S4 B9 Stage 1

Gurd.

Reaction score
Hi All,

Looking to tune to stage 1 on my S4 B9, is it only ABT that do a tune that will not affect your warranty or does anyone know of an alternative company?

Cheers

If you want a tuning box (which is ABT), get a JB4.

Any tune will affect warranty, it's only tuning boxes that you can get away with without throwing a TD1.

Thank you for the reply BUT apparently (and i have done my research) the ABT Tune does not affect your warranty as it is a separate module...quote from ABT:

We offer ABT 'AEC' (ABT Engine Controller) this is an additional engine control module, which works in conjunction with the original VW/Audi unit.
The huge advantage of this is there is no modification to the vehicle, all of the tuning data is contained within the ABT AEC.

But i will look at the JB4...cheers

Sorry but kick me if i am being thick as i am new to the "tuning" arena but are you saying that the JB4Race Chip is a better option than the ABT tune?

Reactions: Kondax
Yes, the JB4 for the B9 S4 is 100% better. I'm currently using it with a larger turbo.

Kondax, i just want a bit more HP and not mess about with anything else, do you think the JB4 will be sufficient for what i am looking to do? Also, is it easy to install?

Gurd, I don't know enough about the JB4 and the ABT solutions to compare them, but I can provide general advice - sorry if you already know this.
The principle of increasing performance on a turbo engine is the same - allow more of the boost from the turbo to reach the engine and add more fuelling. The perfect way to do this is the same way that Audi has done it - using the maps inside the ECU. Companies like APR can remap the B9 S4 ECU in order to provide a "complete" solution to increased performance. But obviously a remapped ECU is easily noticeable and so can prevent certain warranty claims being accepted.