S4 4.2 V8 questions

Snowplough

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here and I have some questions regarding the S4 B6 as I'm toying with the idea of buying one.

What are the common issues and are they expensive to fix, I've read the V8 is slightly oil thirsty (more so than typical oil usage) looking on euro car parts servicing isn't cheap coming in at £420 for all the necessary gear!

How much do tyres cost on average? I wouldn't want to put ditchfinders on but wouldn't want to spend daft amounts per tyre.

Also read they do 21mpg which doesn't bother me as I drive for a living so would only be using it on weekends but is 21mpg average or is that spirited driving?

Which models came with that silver interior, is it just the Avants? Looks awesome!

Lastly, are they a good accessory for pulling fit chicks being an Audi? I'm often told I look like Sloth from the Goonies so some assistance is required LOL

I have one so i can comment... They do like a drink of oil and fuel, mine is running 370 Bhp with a JH Motorsport tune, piggy down pipes and de-cats. I have seen higher mpg (27 mpg) on the dis however it was me on my best behaviour - got 12 points on licence in short period of time... As a car is one of the most acomplished cars i got to date, agile, understated and makes a noise to die for ! I am running 20" forged s8 alloys, arguably the best looking standard wheel from audi. Tyres are a bit stretched- i used Falken fk452 and the grip they give is unbelievable for the price ! I will put mine for sale soon, sadly is no point to just look at it, my insurance company does not want to insure me no more...mine's a saloon though !

i service my car very often, the oil is the main cost it takes 8 litres of the golden stuff and i preffer a good quality 5w40 fully syn oil to stop the chains from stretching ! If the car you go for has a ratly engine just walk away ...

Thanks for the info! I have looked at videos of them on youtube and with the mufflers removed they sound amazing!