S3 in EVO mag

voorhees

Staff member
Reaction score
Just read it and they love the car
alfa brera v6 v audi s3 v bmw139i v mazda 3 mps
In the end they say the S3 is the logical choice but the beemer is the one they want to take home...I suspect its the RWD that has them wanting it
Also it beat the previous hot hatch record (r32) around the west circuit at bedford autodrome by more than 2 seconds

Is this a new edition as i can' remember seeing that the other day when i glanced over it in the shops?

Whats on the front cover?

Audi R8 BMW M6 Porka 911 C4S Vantage

New one then, up north we still have Junes issue on the shelf with the yellow Aston on the front cover!

Good review.. very different to their original one from months back. Brera was basically a no show, so came down to 130i vs S3.. :)

Very impressed with S3's performance around West Circuit - almost 2.5 secs faster round track than the previous quickest hot hatchback.

-Sal-

just off subject i have a two year maxim subscription for £9.99 just saerch maxim subsription 9.99

wow, just looked at the time and it's not far off an M5/M3!

Good stuff!

Read the review today...seems pretty balanced for a chnage, and how refreshing for the S3 not to be ruled out for being expensive. I think having the R32 in the test as well might have been quite sensible though.

Performance aside the S3 would win for me over the BMW because the 1 series is ugly and BMW interiors dont do anything for me! So bland!

I read the article last night and was really impressed. I remember feeling a bit shocked when I read the original 'driven' back in December I think. Certainly didn't sound like they'd driven the car I'd test driven!!!
Anyway, seems they really enjoyed it, couldn't help but feel that it was the sensible choice simply because it 4wd so you can't get the back end out!!!

I checked out how the lap times compared too - gob smacked doesn't cover it!!!