S3 facelift or not??

wibble111

needs to scratch the itch
Reaction score
As you may know i'm looking for an S3, one has ome up near me on a W reg in imola yellow, it was registered on 08/06/01 and has the older badges on the outside, but does anyone know if it will have the facelift aircon etc. Thanks

im no expert but have read that around the facelift changeover time there were a few mix and match ones so possibly. Best off going to see it

also what jojo said

It also has the strut brace which i thought was only on the facelift but if there were some mix & match ones then i guess this would explain it. Thanks guys :icon_thumright:

e2a: I'm going saturday to see it, then off to leeds to look at another

Yep W - 2000 Prefacelift
Will have the old style centre console and headlights etc..

If your not sure if the owner has changed the badges, look at the S3 logo on the dials, would have to be serious to change that one!

I'm pretty sure that all facelift models have the facelift dash, the only thing that changed during the facelift model is the engine going from 210 to 225 bhp, though I stand to be corrected.

Im pretty sure the W was never available as a facelift, im sure it was only released X onwards...

mine's an X and is pre facelift, there's no way it was registered in 2001 and given a W plate

Jon is right. If it was 1st registered in June 01, then it should be a 'Y' Plate, and must be a Facelift. Are you sure the 'W' is not a private plate?

I think a very thorough check of it's history is called for, but you knew that with an S3 anyway...

Cheers,

Have you got the full registration number? Ive got some HPI checks left on Autotrader and im not going to be using them. I can send you the verdict through pm

Jon is right. If it was 1st registered in June 01, then it should be a 'Y' Plate, and must be a Facelift.