rns-e information required. please help!!

rmitchell7

Reaction score
Hi all,
Its my first time posting on here so please go easy!
I've got an 2005 audi a4 (b7 model) with an rns-e entertainment system (says Audi Navigation Plus below the screen and screen says MMI when loading), bluetooth and multi-functional steering wheel, no CD changer.

Under the "CAR" button and the Version I have
SW-0650
HW-H53
Map : (Blank)

I have a proper Navteq/Audi SatNav disks however they are a 2007 version (8P0 919 884 M). I also purchased a 2012 version from ebay that was "Homemade".

What I'm basically trying to achieve is getting the most up to date SatNav disks to work in my car. Both of these disks i have however both say "CD/DVD is unreadable" when the screen is up and when the screen is down the disc says "Improperly inserted".

Is my software too new to run the 2007 discs? Is the ebay purchased DVD likely to be dodgy? would a proper 2012 set of disks also not work with what i have???

Any help is greatly appreciated

Cheers

Last edited:
Any genuine disk from 2006 onwards should work in your RNS-E, the fault you have means either a dirty laser head or a faulty DVD drive. Have you tried using a CD cleaner (not DVD) on the head unit as a first fix. Other people have also removed the lid of the navigation and cleaned the laser with alcohol cleaner and cotton buds.

Other than that it's a faulty DVD drive that needs replacing.

650 is the highest software in the MK1 RNS-E as I said it will run any disk from 2006 to 2013.

as above try a cd aswell

I haven't tried cleaning it yet. What's the difference between a CD and DVD lense cleaner? Also should this unit play DVD's when stationary? If so then this would be a good indication on if it was the lense or the satnav disks. Ill try cleaning it all the same

the rns-e dont play a dvd at all
try a cd see if that works