1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Retrofitting PDC (Park Distance Control) + PLA (Park Lane Assist)

henkkeumus May 25, 2020

  1. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Well, since the huge enthusiasm because I annouced I'm looking into this retrofit I thought let's make a log/topic so all members can read along and maybe help me out when I need it. When the fit is done I will create a proper guide for the A3 8P so other can join in on the fun.

    At this moment it's all about sourcing information and the right parts for this fit. I own a MJ11 A3 8P with only the back rear PDC already installed. So to list all things I'm going to need (I think, list can be longer though :D);
    • PDC Front sensors (4x)
    • PLA Front/Rear sensors (2 front/2 rear)
    • ABS Sensors (Not 100% sure this is required, reached out to a fellow AudiSport.net member)
    • 8K (8 Channels) PDC + PLA Module (Owned/Aquired)
    • Wiring loom for the sensors and new module etc. (Reached out to Kufatec for this)
    • CAN-Gateway that supports PLA (Owned/Aquired)
    • Centre console with the PDC + PLA button (Owned/Aquired)
    • Optional: front bumper with original PDC holes or create the holes myself.
    As you can see it's quite a list of parts. But hey, corona is here so I ain't going anywhere this summer. Spending all those pennies on upgrading bossmans car.

    I'm currently in the final phase of my bachelor degree IT (deadline for my thesis is due in 3 weeks) so I will be on and off about this topic for the time being. Think getting a bachelor IT degree is a bit more important then fitting the sensors atm.

    Nevertheless, all updates will be placed in this topic, if you guys have any ideas/suggestions/anything else please spam this topic as any information can be of great use. I've never retrofitted or touched the PDC so ain't even sure where the damn module is located.

    :)
     
    mister.c. and samisnake like this.
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. samuelh_888

    samuelh_888 Registered User

    2,075
    853
    113
    Is it finished yet? :tearsofjoy:
     
  4. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    :D
     
    samuelh_888 likes this.
  5. George Kost

    George Kost Registered User

    160
    54
    28
    As you progress with this project in the future, please give the part numbers used as well.
    Even for the parts you already have (rear PDC sensors for example).
    It will be a great help for everyone!
    Good luck with your thesis!
    Best regards.
     
    henkkeumus likes this.
  6. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    You are right.

    The PDC/PLA Module I got is: 8P0919475J (From a scrapcar 2010 A3).
    [​IMG]

    Centre trim: Not really a S/N but the ones I found are these: 8P0927137CF
    [​IMG]


    Currently awaiting emails from Kufatec and got in touch with @Troubs12 who already did the fit on an earlier model. So with the products being supplied by a German company and the help/fitting instructions from a colleague retrofitter I think this fit/mod will be one that will succeed in the end :D.
     
    mister.c. likes this.
  7. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Already a huuuuuuuuuuuuuuge shoutout and thanks to @Troubs12 who already provided me lots and lots of info and partnumbers. He took the time to create a list with products I'm gonna need for this fit.

    Four sensors in front bumper for PDC (4): 1S0919275A
    Seals for the sensors (4): 1T0919133C
    PLA Sensors (2): 1T0919297A
    Seals for the sensors (2): 1T0919133B
    Speaker for the buzzing sound sensors front: 8E0919279 (Bought immediatly, only costs €2,-)

    Brackets for the PLA sensors:
    Left - 1T0919487 GRU
    Right - 1T0919488 GRU
     
    Troubs12 likes this.
  8. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Just for the sake of keeping the topic updated;
    List of items I bought;

    - Centre trim with PDC and PLA buttons (€45,-)
    - PDC+PLA Module (€50,-)
    - Buzzer: 8E0919279 (€2,-)
    - Front PDC sensors: 1S0919275A (€15,-)
    - Front PDC rings: 1T0919133C (€5,-)
     
  9. Troubs12

    Troubs12 Registered User

    311
    154
    43
    Happy to help man I was a pain when I did it so I’m happy to give any help I can


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    e9_mustii likes this.
  10. e9_mustii

    e9_mustii Registered User

    693
    189
    43
    Where can we source parts?

    Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk
     
  11. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Ill put a summary at the end, when I sourced everything with price and URL :).
     
    e9_mustii likes this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. George Kost

    George Kost Registered User

    160
    54
    28
    I have two questions:
    Are you going to replace the existing PDC module with the new one PDC+PLA?
    The front loom from the sensors and the speaker, must me rooted to the trunk to the PDC+PLA module or is it connected elsewhere?
     
  14. samisnake

    samisnake Registered User

    827
    360
    63
    got you as much info i could from elsawin for the park assist, inc wiring diagrams.
    all the best
     

    Attached Files:

    henkkeumus and George Kost like this.
  15. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Are you going to replace the existing PDC module with the new one PDC+PLA?
    Yes. I now have the 4 channel rear PDC from factory. Since the loom is already fed through the bumper to the module I can simply disconnect the rear and connect it to the new 8 channel module. The PLA sensors normally have their own loom, Kufatec doesn't sell them so I'm gonna splice in on the front sensors (Live (12v)/Ground(-)/Signal)

    The front loom from the sensors and the speaker, must me rooted to the trunk to the PDC+PLA module or is it connected elsewhere?
    Yes, the sensors must be fed to the trunk. I'm not sure where the speaker originally is located, but I guess somewhere in the trunk too.
     
    mister.c. and George Kost like this.
  16. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Thanks mate, just told George I didn't knew where the speaker was going to fit. First PDF I open and it's in front of me.

    Many thanks!
     
  17. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Audi dealership came back to me with prices I requested (it's in Dutch but I'll try to explain).

    [​IMG]

    V1S0919275D = 4x Front PDC sensor
    V1T0919133C 9B9 = 4x Rubber ring around the PDC sensor
    V1T0919297A GRU = 2x PLA sensor
    V1T0919133B 9B9 = 2x rubber rings around PLA sensor
    V1T0919487 GRU = bracket PLA LEFT
    V1T0919488 GRU = bracket PLA RIGHT
    V5K0919491B = 2x Bracket PDC front (other two go into the grille)

    He also said that he can't order the sensorsbrackets loose specific for my A3. If I want to get those I need to order a complete bumper with PDC preperation in it etc. The numbers on the list are the numbers @Troubs12 provided me with and are from other cars aswell (Touran, Golf VI).

    I only ordered the brackets and rubbers from them since I get the sensors from other sources that are muuuuuuch much cheaper.
     
    mister.c. and e9_mustii like this.
  18. e9_mustii

    e9_mustii Registered User

    693
    189
    43
    Does this mean im screwed becauss of my grill? As i dont have a mid section where the license plate would be [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk
     
    Bryant1998 and henkkeumus like this.
  19. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Nah mate, i got the same grille. Ill figure something out.

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 with Tapatalk
     
    e9_mustii likes this.
  20. Troubs12

    Troubs12 Registered User

    311
    154
    43
    There’s gotta be some kind of space in that grill for the pdc sensors to go I’ll give mine a wash tomorrow and repost but this pic gives a rough indication of where pdc and pla sensors go. Though sometimes if you’re lucky there are marks on the inside of the bumper to show you where to put the pdc holes. If not I don’t mind measuring mine for you guys. Not sure about the pla holes I think I used my best guess or used another vehicle as a template

    [​IMG]

    Excuse the chipped surround I’m trying to source a standard chrome one at the minute.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    henkkeumus likes this.
  21. MT-V6

    MT-V6 Registered User

    125
    22
    18
    Following this thread, looks like a good challenge. I have retrofitted front and rear PDC to my Mk2 TT which has the same electrical system so happy to help in that regard. My guide for that is here https://www.ttforum.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1837385

    For those with RS grilles etc, maybe this location will be possible on the A3? (My fog grilles were not yet fitted)

    18.jpg
     
    henkkeumus likes this.
  22. e9_mustii

    e9_mustii Registered User

    693
    189
    43
    Was thinking the exact same thing

    Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk
     
  23. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Since my 8 channel PDC+PLA module came with the postage I wanted to make sure it functions. When unplugging my old PDC module I saw some corrosion. When replugged the original module couldn't be reached anymore so tomorrow will be a cleaning the connectors day :).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Andreashadji

    Andreashadji Registered User

    225
    38
    28
    Exceptional mod,will follow closely!!!
    I already have factory fitted front and back PDC so if you need any info pls let me know!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    henkkeumus likes this.
  25. MT-V6

    MT-V6 Registered User

    125
    22
    18
    So are you planning to connect the PLA module without fitting anything else, to test it works?

    The connector is very corroded. Where is the the module mounted in the A3?
     
  26. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Thanks mate!

    Yes, I wanted to check if the module "boots" and shows up in my VCDS. It did so connected the old one back and then stopped working because of the corrosion. Fixed it today though :).

    The module is located on the right side of the boot, behind the cover.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    After cleaning hookup up VCDS again and unfortunatly... It still gives me a fault.
    When starting the car I got a start/stop problem too, this is because the start-stop system is on the same "line/system" as parking aid. So when one of the two is at fault your dash will light up as a christmas tree :).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Got the module out again and opened the puppy up.. And hard to see on this picture but there was some corrosion on the inside of the pin too. The pin that had corroded was the earthpin so makes sense for the module not to turn on if there is no electrical circruit.

    [​IMG]

    After cleaning everything worked as normal :).
     
  27. MT-V6

    MT-V6 Registered User

    125
    22
    18
    Out of interest what faults showed with the PLA module fitted? I am guessing about the missing sensors?

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2020
  28. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Didnt even bother to check the faults when 8 channel pdc/pla module was on. It just gives you a long beep and then stops working. It needs the full 8 sensor circuit to work properly.

    I only ticked the [10-Park/steer aid] module to see if it reports through CAN and it did :)

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 with Tapatalk
     
  29. Troubs12

    Troubs12 Registered User

    311
    154
    43
    This system can be a pain in the neck i reckon if only the rear sensors were connected it’d log a fault with the front pdc, pla, front buzzer and park assist button. It’s a great system when it works but if you get a small problem the ecu treats it like the end of days lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  30. MT-V6

    MT-V6 Registered User

    125
    22
    18
    Makes sense! I didn't read the post properly and didn't realise it was from 4K to PLA, I thought it was already 8K :)
     
  31. George Kost

    George Kost Registered User

    160
    54
    28
    For those who don't even have rear oem PDC,
    and have the new BCM module in the front behind the fuse box,
    there does not exist also the bracket on the right side of the boot there the module is mounted. So this must be sourced as well.

    If/when I will proceed with this project, the only concern that I have is the Can High and Can Low cables that must be connected to the BCM which is under the steering wheel for LHD cars. J533 in the diagram.

    I know @MT-V6 you did it as I have read your thread on the TT forum but yours is RHD if I am not mistaken. Was it difficult to work there and splice in the powertrain canbus cables?
    Also I see from your pinout that you connect two pins for power. One ignition live and one permenent.
    Pin 1 > Fuse 7 in dash fuse box (5A) (positive, ignition live)
    Pin 3 > Fuse 5 in boot fuse box (5A) (positive, permanent live)

    In the flow diagrams it seams that only Pin 1 is used for power. This is strange.

    @henkkeumus did you install yourself the rear PDC? In your MJ11, the cabling must be as I descriebed correct?

    Best regards to all
     

    Attached Files:

  32. MT-V6

    MT-V6 Registered User

    125
    22
    18
    Note that the J533 module is not the BCM/central elec but actually the CAN gateway. I can't comment on the A3 but in my TT it is behind the glovebox and access was easy

    Regarding the pin 3 power, this was brought up on the TT forum to me also, I think it is shown in some of the original wiring diagrams but not the later versions... Elsawin has lots of errors unfortunately. Just leave it out when you fit yours

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. George Kost

    George Kost Registered User

    160
    54
    28
    Yes you are right. My bad.
    Both under the steering wheel for LHD though right?
    Anyway I will check if it is accessed with no big difficulty.
     

    Attached Files:

  35. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
  36. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    I did not install the rear PDF myself, it was already in from factory.
    The PDC module is located on the right side of my boot (behind the panel). The module you show in your 2nd pic is the CAN-Gateway and that is located underneath my steeringwheel (LHD).

    I know the PDC module needs 2 can wires HI and LO from the CAN-GW Drivetrain bus because it needs signals like speed, brakes, steering etc.
     
  37. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    Audi dealership gave me a call today my sensor brackets and rubbers were in, forgot to pick them up but next thing on monday :).

    Also the Kufatec looms came in, at first glance I didn't recognized some connectors but when I unfolded the cables and layed them on my appartment floor and imagened the laying pattern they made sense to me.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    George Kost likes this.
  38. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    The cables the post above are just for fitting front PDC. To fit the PLA (auto parking) I need to retrofit and manufacture myself two more sensors and splice them into the wiring harness above.

    I first want to make sure PDC is working 100% and after that I'll get into fitting the PLA.
     
  39. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    For the sake of keeping you guys updated. I'm also writing my guide in advance, the items I have sourced so far are these;

    · [4x] PDC Front Sensors - 1S0919275A – €15,- - LINK
    · [4x] Rubber seals for front PDC sensors - V1T0919133C 9B9 – Audi Dealership – €0,33 ea.
    · [2x]* Bracket for PDC sensors front - V5K0919491B – Audi Dealership - €8,64 ea.
    · [2x] PLA Front Sensors - 1T0919297A – [..]
    · [2x] Rubber seals for front PLA sensors - V1T0919133B 9B9 – Audi Dealership – €0,33 ea.
    · [1x] Bracket for PLA sensors left - 1T0919487 GRU – Audi Dealership - €8,64 ea.
    · [1x] Bracket for PLA sensor right - 1T0919488 GRU – Audi Dealership - €8,64 ea.
    · [1x] Front buzzer speaker - 8E0919279 – €2,- - LINK
    · [1x] Centre trim with PDC + PLA Buttons – Can’t find part no (see pic) – Scrapyard - €45,-
    · [1x] 8-Channel PDC + PLA Module – 8P919475J – Scrapyard - €50,-
    · [1x] Kufatec Wiring bundle PDC A3 8P – 34540 & 38317-1 - €70,- - LINK
    o Kufatec PDC sensor harness – 34540 - €39,- - LINK
    o Kufatec PDC module wiring harness - 38317-1 - €39,- - LINK

    * Only need two front brackets because the other 2 sensors will be in the front grille somewhere. Still figuring this one out but will be updated for sure :).
     
  40. Andreashadji

    Andreashadji Registered User

    225
    38
    28
    Pla sensors and module ordered!looking forward to this retrofit.
    Mine already has factory fitted sensors front and back.
    Will I need extra wiring?or is it just a matter of changing module and sensors?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  41. henkkeumus

    henkkeumus Dutch Retrofitfanatic

    608
    252
    63
    If you already have the front and back sensors you only need to add 2 more sensors to your front bumper on either side (left and right obviously).
    The wiring for those two PLA sensors should splice into the wiring harness for your front PDC sensors (Live/Ground/Signal).

    You do need the centre console button to activate park assist too, so you got like two buttons in your centre dash (see pic 3).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I will begin with fitting the stuff when all my sensors arrive, they come from China so can take some more weeks tho.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2020
    Andreashadji likes this.
  42. Troubs12

    Troubs12 Registered User

    311
    154
    43
    Hiya bud it should be a case of fitting the extra sensors, wiring and button. Plus some coding which I need to dig out and post up here. Proving you’ve got the correct abs unit etc I’ll dig out the guide I found online a few years ago. Basically someone was doing it to a mk5 or 6 golf and posted a lot of useful info. I think it’s this one, I fitted mine about 5 years ago and still haven’t had chance to type up a full A3 version of this. It’s coming though at the time there wasn’t much interest so it kinda fell to the back of the list


    https://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=82155.0


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Andreashadji likes this.
  43. George Kost

    George Kost Registered User

    160
    54
    28
    Reading the Golf post, it is needed a specific ABS unit.
    Not sure if everyone here thinking of doing this retrofit has this ABS unit or if it is needed as well at the A3 or if all A3 8P have this unit.

    Just a concern so I checked mine.
    This is mine so I believe I am good to go.
    Code:
    Part No SW: 1K0 907 379 BA    HW: 1K0 907 379 BA
    Component: ESP MK60EC1   H45 0109
    Revision: 00H45001
    Best regards.
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information