1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retrofit: Auto-dimming rear view mirror & CH/LH (picture heavy)

maccalo Jun 19, 2015

1. maccalo

maccalo Norway

Writeup for retrofitting auto-dimming rear view mirror and coming home/leaving home function to any A4 B6 with highline equipment.

This retrofit requires some knowledge of car electrics, and a registered version of VCDS lite.

How do I know if my car is highline?
    If you have bulb out warning - you have highline
    If your CECM part# is 8E0 907 279 E or F - you have highline

NB! You need CECM 8E0 907 279 F, which is the only CECM supporting AUTO lights and CH/LH function.

I did not do the auto dimming wing mirrors, hence it's not a part of this DIY.

Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic, and will not take responsibility for anything that may be damaged or broken while using this DIY on your own vehicle. This DIY is intended as a guide only.

Prerequisites

Parts
    • CECM (Central electrics control module) - paid $37
      8E0 907 279 F (always installed in S4)
    • Auto-dimming rear view mirror w/ light sensor - paid $50
      8E0 857 511 (Gentex 015621)
    • Headlight switch w/ AUTO position - paid $16
      8E0 941 531 B
    • CH/LH switch - paid $25
      8E1 919 094 B (LHD, for cars with xenon)
    [​IMG]

Wiring
    • Plug for CH/LH switch (8 pin) - paid $10
      8Z0 972 883
    • Plug for auto-dimming mirror (6 pin) - paid $10
      4B0 971 833
    • Wires 20-22 AWG, 3 metres - paid $15
      White, black, grey, green
    • Cloth tape for OEM appearance - paid $3
      For OEM appearance of harness
    • Audi repair pins - paid $10 for 10 pcs
      000 979 018 E
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Let's get started

DISCONNECT YOUR NEGATIVE BATTERY TERMINAL.

[​IMG]
    Remove interior dome light cover (just pulls out)

[​IMG]
    The second plastic cover also just pulls out (has 4 plastic clips on it)

[​IMG]