requested boost vs actual logs inside!!!!!!!!

darren t

Registered User
hello and hear are several logs from my audi s3 8l im having problems with requested boost not getting there?does this map look ok???


rpm cf cf cf cf rpm load boost r boost a maf
390.890000390.28256013.59801040390.59256010.671122.5
391.80000391.1926808512801150391.49272048.1423.523.3
392.70000392.12920109.814701490392.4304098.2810014.3
393.6100003933360191.723802430393.313600166.331003.8
394.510000393.914040191.723502540394.214280178.391007.5
395.420003394.814720191.724202470395.124880195.611008.3
396.320335.3395.725280191.724002370396.025440208.531008.3
 

darren t

Registered User
this is my new log boost is not getting up too 2540mbar anymore is this an actuator preload problem???? latest log!!! b5tip!!!



Group A:'115Group B:'002Group C:'020
RPMLoadAbsolute Pres.Absolute Pres.RPMLoadInj. On TimeMass FlowIdle StabilizationIdle StabilizationIdle StabilizationIdle Stabilization
TIMETIMETIME
MarkerSTAMP /min % mbar mbarSTAMP /min % ms g/sSTAMP°KW°KW°KW°KW
82.18272012.8980101081.57284012.805.4281.880000
83.08244012980100082.48264011.306.0382.770000
83.98212011.398099083.37236011.305.2883.680000
84.8818001298099084.28204011.304.5884.580000
85.8168041.498097085.18172011.303.8185.490000
86.69168065.4980104086.1168060.26.1220.7586.40000
87.6176067.7980110087172067.76.4623.2587.30000
88.5160020.3980103087.9172044.43.065.4488.210000
89.4121609.898099088.81140014.31.72.0389.120000
90.32236053.4980101089.71224041.44.4220.4290.020000
91.23256076.71150115090.63240061.75.7830.1990.930000
92.132840112.82300135091.55264080.57.1442.7291.830000
93.043320191.72360212092.432960130.112.2482.6192.740000
93.944240191.72360234093.343640191.721.08184.1793.630000
94.854680191.72380223094.254280191.719.72159.4494.550000
95.765280191.72360228095.154840191.719.04183.4795.450000
96.665800191.72380225096.065440191.720.06210.5696.360363
97.57524012980133096.96596018217.34224.1497.270000
98.47436087.21510113097.87488012.81.74.598.170000
99.374480191.72070221098.774360136.812.58133.1199.0700.85.30.8
100.284760191.72040230099.68460019116.66168.8199.9800.85.30.8
101.19420012.89801220100.584720160.912.92166.31100.880000
 

darren t

Registered User
have a look at the latest plz beach buggy that was before i had forged rods and new rings!!! same turbo it was new then but i didnt trust garage too drive car sensibly once rebuilt i undone actuator before dropping car of have tightened it back up best i can at one stage i went too far and got overbbost so undone a couple of turns and havent hit it again but not boosting as much now??? i felt it back of at 5900rpm on second log with b5tip and 1.5 degree advance on ignition using unicode before this log???
 

darren t

Registered User
have a look at the latest plz beach buggy that was before i had forged rods and new rings!!! same turbo it was new then but i didnt trust garage too drive car sensibly once rebuilt i undone actuator before dropping car of have tightened it back up best i can at one stage i went too far and got overbbost so undone a couple of turns and havent hit it again but not boosting as much now??? i felt it back of at 5900rpm on second log with b5tip and 1.5 degree advance on ignition using unicode before this log???
straight after log checked egt 310 degrees celcious no thermal protection kicking in!
 

badger5

www.badger5.co.uk
Site Sponsor
n75 off what pressure do you get?
if you have backed it off you may not be back as high as you were..
5psi minimum act only pressure.. check its actuator only pressure first and report back.. Some more preload may help it hold its requested longer
 

darren t

Registered User
so i tighten actuator and log or do disconnect and log if i remember correctly the higher the gear the more boost i get?
n75 off what pressure do you get?
if you have backed it off you may not be back as high as you were..
5psi minimum act only pressure.. check its actuator only pressure first and report back.. Some more preload may help it hold its requested longer
 

darren t

Registered User
log first n75 off to see actuator pressure = baseline
heres the log you requested badger it holds perfect untill 5000rpm then boost just goes up in sall gears it does this

201215:15:00:10074VCDS Version: Release 10.6.4Data version: 20110418
Group B:'003
LoadAbsolute Pres.Absolute Pres.RPMMass FlowLoadIgn. Timing
TIME
% mbar mbarSTAMP /min g/s % °BTDC
54.999010600.3236026.1116.529.3
38.399010400.9244016.9711.431.5
39.899010201.49244017.8911.830.8
53.499010302.1252024.8116.130.8
88.7246010802.71260027.7517.330
115.8241013703.31276059.1497.321.8
115236013703.92304064.5610021.8
118.8231013704.52332075.5810024
123.3233014305.12364083.8199.624.8
131.6236015105.73392097.3910022.5
144.4240016506.334240113.6999.622.5
157.9238017806.934560136.7599.618.8
173.7237018907.544920158.6999.615
185.7238020808.145280186.1110010.5
175.2147021908.745640207.8699.615.8
1299013109.35560003.93.8
13.599010809.9546806.756.74.5
11.3990104010.5542008.116.73.8
10.5990102011.1540809.146.74.5
10.5990102011.7638808.366.33.8
10.5990101012.3636807.286.33.8
12990101012.9734807.615.93
12990101013.5732807.395.93
38.3990101043.74184013.869.830
34.6990101044.35184012.118.631.5
51.9990101044.95188018.3612.528.5
59.4990104045.55196023.0316.526.3
58.6990105046.16204023.9216.127
66.9990108046.76208025.0317.326.3
36.8990106047.36212013.619.815
25.6990103047.9620003.313.10
15990101048.57188012.585.9-8.3
65.41340100049.17172023.2516.928.5
92.51590112049.78208035.3335.712
104.51730129050.38228045.3990.617.3
116.51650143050.98248055.8194.518
108.32120134051.59272057.8997.321
108.32360130052.19296059.6799.624
113.52340134052.79320068.7510024.8
119.52290138053.4340077.7810024
124.1232014405436808610024.8
132.32340153054.61392098.6710023.3
41.4990158055.214200111.7810017.3
12.8990111055.8141604.335.53.8
12990104056.4240406.116.33.8
11.3990102057.0239207.926.33.8
11.3990101057.6238008.196.73.8
11.3990101058.2236807.786.33.8
11.3990101058.8236008.396.33.8
12990101059.4234808.226.33
12.8990101060.0433608.146.33
12.8990101060.6432808.066.32.3
12990101061.3331607.425.92.3
12.8990100061.9530807.695.911.3
17.3990100062.5530008.446.733.8
80.52240102063.15296018.2813.310.5
127.12320143063.76308069.4799.620.3
125.62290146064.36336081.9799.621
127.82300147064.96364087.8110022.5
134.62330152065.573920100.8110023.3
147.42390165066.174200115.5810021
161.72370179066.774520137.1799.618.8
148.11040201067.384800156.510015
12990122067.98480003.94.5
13.5990106068.5841605.316.33.8
12990102069.1935206.976.33
12990101069.7935208.316.33.8
 

badger5

www.badger5.co.uk
Site Sponsor
looks like creep to me.. I see it sometimes.. but strangely not always despite the same hardware...
the k04 w/g is pretty small, and on chinese hotside versions can be even smaller..

difficult to see the steady state but looks to be ~ 0.3bar, just under 5psi.. I would be tempted to wind 2 turns on and see how you go.
 

darren t

Registered User
looks like creep to me.. I see it sometimes.. but strangely not always despite the same hardware...
the k04 w/g is pretty small, and on chinese hotside versions can be even smaller..

difficult to see the steady state but looks to be ~ 0.3bar, just under 5psi.. I would be tempted to wind 2 turns on and see how you go.
right I have logs with this turbo with no creep in same engine what could cause this if I wind actuator up I can boost more but in a high gear I hit limp mode over boost condition? The only leak on car is slight leak on rockercover by half moon! I'm bit stuck hear it holds we're it use too unroll 5000rpm then goes up why is map still asking for that boost when n75 is disconnected we're should I check first plz badger?
 

darren t

Registered User
looks like creep to me.. I see it sometimes.. but strangely not always despite the same hardware...
the k04 w/g is pretty small, and on chinese hotside versions can be even smaller..

difficult to see the steady state but looks to be ~ 0.3bar, just under 5psi.. I would be tempted to wind 2 turns on and see how you go.
turbo is from turbo dynamics stage 2 with ported wastegate!
 

badger5

www.badger5.co.uk
Site Sponsor
maps not asking for the boost, its creeping = physical thing..
N75 off is actuator pressure.. so would open at actuator pressure and normally hold that pressure... where yours rises the wastegate is either not opening fully and/or the holes too small to bypass the airflow.. Too much preload on actuator robs it of travel so if too much wound on, then it wont open fully, which in turn *could* be the creep

.......... and you mention its a hybrid now..

ported wastegate by whome and to what size?

who knows!
 

darren t

Registered User
maps not asking for the boost, its creeping = physical thing..
N75 off is actuator pressure.. so would open at actuator pressure and normally hold that pressure... where yours rises the wastegate is either not opening fully and/or the holes too small to bypass the airflow.. Too much preload on actuator robs it of travel so if too much wound on, then it wont open fully, which in turn *could* be the creep

.......... and you mention its a hybrid now..

ported wastegate by whome and to what size?

who knows!
turbo dynamics not sure on size ect
 

darren t

Registered User
Well many thanks badger turns out my actuator dosent want too open due too compressor housing not being aligned correctly the actuator arm was touching the actuator bracket the compressor housing was turned by engine shop due too it hitting manifold they say can't believe it so now arm is on a very slight slant I undone bolts on arm and it clicked flap!!! Arm!!! So I've done it back up but haven tried it yet will let you know! Can I remove actuator bracket an drill holes off centre so it alighted back up straight as turbo would have too come off too get at the other 2 bolts?
 

badger5

www.badger5.co.uk
Site Sponsor
I presume the actuator on yours is bolted on now, not like OE one which is welded to the brkt

redrilling might work but would be fiddly no doubt.
if you are able to get to the comp housing bolts, maybe you can loosen them enough to clock the housing so the bracket/actuator lines up? Why would it not fit the manifold?
 

darren t

Registered User
I presume the actuator on yours is bolted on now, not like OE one which is welded to the brkt

redrilling might work but would be fiddly no doubt.
if you are able to get to the comp housing bolts, maybe you can loosen them enough to clock the housing so the bracket/actuator lines up? Why would it not fit the manifold?
as after first build with low comp pistons I had low compression and only making 230 bhp on dyno I have logs! So I had engine rebuilt again I used standard pistons with gotez rings! The pistons have a deeper dish this is we're I lost comp but anyway when they stripped it they found compressor housing had moved actuator had bent round mani lol I have a spare now. I've cut old own actuator off and ground it flat the bracket!! Been looking at actuators it seem td04 actuator is exactly what I need as the arm is bent perfectly could I weld this too the bracket and use it without problem ? As I can get too bolts for actuator with a small!! Spanner but they are tight tight! And the other two wich would allow adjustment are out of reach damn!!! Too turn compressor I think I would have too take turbo off also outlet of turbo is getting some back pressure as pipe bend right at outlet as its miss alighned very disappointed but the missis has just phoned lol asking why car has no power pmsl didn't connect n75 up and she says it hold 0.4 bar all way too redline Irving actuator flap arm was jammed any idea much appreciated! Ill report back on my test !!!!!!!!
 

darren t

Registered User
I presume the actuator on yours is bolted on now, not like OE one which is welded to the brkt

redrilling might work but would be fiddly no doubt.
if you are able to get to the comp housing bolts, maybe you can loosen them enough to clock the housing so the bracket/actuator lines up? Why would it not fit the manifold?
no it is oem bracket!/actuator so welded!! I bought off a mate he put it on then bought a garret kit so I had this turbo he has recipts and he had a forged actuator on it!!i have put oem on silly I know but the car has cost me so much money lol it's unreal but I'm a perfectionist drives like factory bushes ect!! So I'm either going too fit td04 or new oem???
 

darren t

Registered User
I presume the actuator on yours is bolted on now, not like OE one which is welded to the brkt

redrilling might work but would be fiddly no doubt.
if you are able to get to the comp housing bolts, maybe you can loosen them enough to clock the housing so the bracket/actuator lines up? Why would it not fit the manifold?
how much would it cost for someone like yourself too do?
 

darren t

Registered User
sight unseen, and it sounds like a bit of a 'mare to be honest, I cant quote a cost...
It would be hourly rate based (IF) its practical to do in situ
do you think I'd get away with undoing 2 bolts for compressor housing and forcing the housing too turn with brute force can this damage turbo??maybe tap with mallet/hammer lol are they 10mm bolts as they are tight!!!
 

darren t

Registered User
sight unseen, and it sounds like a bit of a 'mare to be honest, I cant quote a cost...
It would be hourly rate based (IF) its practical to do in situ
well apparently all is good so hopfully I can just come down for my run/health check it holding 0.4 bar on my gauge all way too redline with no creep apparently so I thing actator flap was stuck due too shop adjusting compressor housing with actuator all connected and obviously wedged somthing shut I've Bent actuator arm slightly and my creep Foch wood is now gone along with adjusting turbo outlet new logs later or tmorrow hopfully confirms many thanks badger!!!! B5 tip is a legend must have !
 

badger5

www.badger5.co.uk
Site Sponsor
do you think I'd get away with undoing 2 bolts for compressor housing and forcing the housing too turn with brute force can this damage turbo??maybe tap with mallet/hammer lol are they 10mm bolts as they are tight!!!

nope, doubt that would work. doubt just undoing 2 of them will make it loose enough, but will depend how tight the other guys did em up I spose
 

darren t

Registered User
nope, doubt that would work. doubt just undoing 2 of them will make it loose enough, but will depend how tight the other guys did em up I spose
Ok so I've got a pump attached to actuator not a constant pressure source but it opens and closes about 3/4 cm??? Is it not opening enough for some reason?im changing n75 back for c version it came with see if there's any change before I start taking it all apart again!! As I say it opens and closes not sure if it holds open that's what I need too check yes? As for travell how much is there ????as it holds 0.4 until 6000 rpm now then shoots up??
 

badger5

www.badger5.co.uk
Site Sponsor
difficult to gauge what yours is set to vs normal... limitations of the written word on a screeen and no car in front of me

opening 30-40mm is a lot... so if thats full rod travel its not low..

to setup the wg rod to actuator adjustment I would back off the nuts off the wg arm, push the wg closed, wind the outer nut up to the arm, then +5 turns, then bring the inner nut up to it to lock them.. Then see what N75 off pressure you get on wot run. Set the baseline so to speak
 

darren t

Registered User
difficult to gauge what yours is set to vs normal... limitations of the written word on a screeen and no car in front of me

opening 30-40mm is a lot... so if thats full rod travel its not low..

to setup the wg rod to actuator adjustment I would back off the nuts off the wg arm, push the wg closed, wind the outer nut up to the arm, then +5 turns, then bring the inner nut up to it to lock them.. Then see what N75 off pressure you get on wot run. Set the baseline so to speak
full turns of nuts?5
 

badger5

www.badger5.co.uk
Site Sponsor
yes.. to add some preload... 1mm pitch, 5mm from 5 full turns
do it in lesser turns if you want.

This is from the nut just touching the Closed Arm position... so pulling the actuator rod out 5mm of its 30-40mm travel you posted it had previously
 

darren t

Registered User
yes.. to add some preload... 1mm pitch, 5mm from 5 full turns
do it in lesser turns if you want.

This is from the nut just touching the Closed Arm position... so pulling the actuator rod out 5mm of its 30-40mm travel you posted it had previously
hi badger done a log in 3rd and 4th gear with diffrent n75 and same result ???could it be the map as it agressive at 6000rpm??
RPMTemperatureLambdaBin. BitsRPMLoadInj. On TimeMass FlowRPMLoadAbsolute Pres.Absolute Pres.
TIMETIMETIME
MarkerSTAMP /min°C %STAMP /min % ms g/sSTAMP /min % mbar mbar
1162.3327608801100001162.63288010310.259.67162.02264098.524201210
163.23316088-2.31101001163.53328010911.2269.56162.933040104.524101270
164.13356088-3.91101001164.443720111.311.5679.81163.83344011223301290
165.04396088-3.11101001165.344120116.511.992.89164.743840113.523401330
165.94440088-4.71101001166.254560126.312.92110165.644240119.524101380
166.85484088-5.51101001167.155000142.114.28141.33166.554680125.623901540
167.76532088-8.61101001168.065480173.717.34187.81167.455160153.424101680
168.66584088-6.31101001168.966040188.719.04218.17168.365680186.523901980
169.58636088-8.61100001169.876520176.718.02222.19169.26620018523102120
170.4760408801110001170.77556012.81.78.58170.186560126.39902370
171.3848808701100001171.684920120.311.22118.19171.07512016.59901110
172.2848408701110101172.584880121.3612.56171.984920130.19901500
2173.1947608701110001173.59468012010.33172.88480012.89901100
174.1846008701110001174.48456012010.75173.89464011.39901030
175.144808601100001175.44520114.310.88103.06174.79452014.39901020
176464087-3.91101001176.34680130.112.92117.5175.74560119.523301420
176.91480086-6.31101001177.214840147.414.96138.92176.64720133.823401600
177.81496086-71101001178.115040168.417166.03177.514920157.123601760
178.72520086-5.51101001179.02528018818.7191.14178.425120173.723301950
179.62544087-5.51101001179.925520191.719.72204.86179.325360191.723402070
180.53568087-5.51101001180.835760191.719.72214.69180.235600191.723402180
181.43584087-3.91101001181.73560011.31.360181.135840191.722502180
182.3447608701110001182.64444012.81.78.06182.045120129901250
183.2344008701110001183.54436012010.25182.94412012.89901050
184.1443208701110001184.45392011.308.89183.854360129901020
185.0431208701110001185.35328011.307.08184.753480129901010
185.9635208701110001186.2534801208.72185.66352011.39901010
4186.8634408701110001187.1534401208.44186.563480129901010
187.7734008701100001188.073440109.810.276.75187.47344042.91650950
188.67344087-0.81101001188.983440112.810.8873.94188.373440112.820801320
189.58348087-0.81101001189.88348011211.5675.47189.28348011222001320
190.48352088-0.81101001190.793520110.511.5675.22190.183520111.322301320
191.39356087-1.61101001191.693560110.511.5675.11191.093560109.822501330
192.3360087-1.61101001192.63600110.511.5676.67191.993560110.522601330
193.2364087-0.81101001193.53640111.311.5677.94192.93600111.322601330
194.1368088-1.61101001194.413680111.311.5678.08193.83640111.322601330
195.01368088-1.61101001195.313680103.810.8878.56194.713680111.322501330
195.9236408801110001196.21360012.809.06195.61364027.89901290
196.8235608801110001197.12352012.807.92196.523560129901040
197.8234408901110001198.1334001208197.523480129901010
198.7233608901110001199.0333201208.06198.433400129901010
199.7432808901110001200.0332401207.89199.443280129901010
200.6332008901110001200.9431601207.25200.333240129901010
201.5531208901110001201.8531201207.31201.233160129901010
202.4430809001110001202.7630401207.22202.153080129901010
 

beachbuggy

Registered User
TD stage 2 turbo... High flow turbo with stock turbine... Your grams read 222 which is around 280bhp and for that spec is about right. It really depends on what they class as a high flow compressor. Could well be they same setup as the TT you've just done bill.
2180mb at 5500m is about 17-18psi which is about right. It's requesting 21 psi which is a bit high really.. Where was it mapped? I think you may have unrealistic expectations from the hybrid! It probably won't flow much more than a stock.. IMHOIMHO
 

darren t

Registered User
this with n7OTE] yes all steady untill 6000rpm then boom all hell brakes loose ive pin pven if i got it undones water feed too turbo is in the way so eointed the problem trying too tackle it as wee speak actuator diaphram on angle if you hold actuator bar all the way too one side its loosing pressure and allowing wategate too close am i correct?? the bolts on actuator bracket can be toched but one cant remove and even if i undone i couldnt remove or put back in as water feed too turbo in way!!!! total nightmare any ideas it needs moving like 5cm towards engine at actutor bracket side of actuator itself???
 

badger5

www.badger5.co.uk
Site Sponsor
TD stage 2 turbo... High flow turbo with stock turbine... Your grams read 222 which is around 280bhp and for that spec is about right. It really depends on what they class as a high flow compressor. Could well be they same setup as the TT you've just done bill.
2180mb at 5500m is about 17-18psi which is about right. It's requesting 21 psi which is a bit high really.. Where was it mapped? I think you may have unrealistic expectations from the hybrid! It probably won't flow much more than a stock.. IMHOIMHO

sounds about right..
226g/s from the 2280 version. boost holding was'nt its issue, the stonger actuator would hold plenty, n75% low, but no more flow from the boost no matter what I did with it.

TD's spec for Stage 2:
MD212 - Stage 2 Hybrid turbo comprises:
  • High Flow K04 Compressor Wheel
  • Re-profiled compressor housing to suit
  • Turbo Dynamics designed uprated 360 degree thrust kit
  • Lightened turbine wheel for quicker response
  • Turbocharger fully blueprinted to motorsport standards
  • Max recommended boost: 20-22 PSI
  • Estimated Power Output: 280-300 bhp
 

slappy_dunbar

Let's Do This
Darrin -- As B5 said, disconnect the N75 from power. Just unplug it, leaving it in place. Then log block 118. This will show how much boost your turbo makes on "actuator pressure". You need to be sure the turbo is operating properly before tinkering with the ECU map.
 

darren t

Registered User
TD stage 2 turbo... High flow turbo with stock turbine... Your grams read 222 which is around 280bhp and for that spec is about right. It really depends on what they class as a high flow compressor. Could well be they same setup as the TT you've just done bill.
2180mb at 5500m is about 17-18psi which is about right. It's requesting 21 psi which is a bit high really.. Where was it mapped? I think you may have unrealistic expectations from the hybrid! It probably won't flow much more than a stock.. IMHOIMHO
i ts just a clipped wheel and ported wastegate im just after the boost i know ill pull 230gs ive logged 225 at 6000 so is not unrealistic tourqe is what im after not bhpthe map is unknown too me all i know is fuel is ok maybe a little tired on pump!!!!as for boost asks for 2550 before on these logs it isnt??
 

darren t

Registered User
Darrin -- As B5 said, disconnect the N75 from power. Just unplug it, leaving it in place. Then log block 118. This will show how much boost your turbo makes on "actuator pressure". You need to be sure the turbo is operating properly before tinkering with the ECU map.
the log is with actuator pressure lol quick yeah???
 

darren t

Registered User
sounds about right..
226g/s from the 2280 version. boost holding was'nt its issue, the stonger actuator would hold plenty, n75% low, but no more flow from the boost no matter what I did with it.

TD's spec for Stage 2:
[/LIST]
this is the turbo i have badger not the best but will doo for now the actator is loosing pressure so causing too close on
 

darren t

Registered User
sounds about right..
226g/s from the 2280 version. boost holding was'nt its issue, the stonger actuator would hold plenty, n75% low, but no more flow from the boost no matter what I did with it.

TD's spec for Stage 2:
[/LIST]
am i logging rong block badger block 115 or 118?
 
Top