1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Reprogramming ABS Module - A4 Avant B9

shope Aug 21, 2020

  1. shope

    shope Registered User

    3
    0
    1
    Hi there,
    I'm new to the forum and would be very grateful for some advice from you guys much smarter than me!
    Is it possible to reprogram a second hand ABS control module on a B9 A4?

    Here's the waffle as to why I'm asking:

    I have a 2016 A4 Avant Diesel 2.0 TDI 190.
    It recently showed the dashboard error "Brake servo: restricted. You can continue driving. Please contact workshop."
    So I took it to the dealer expecting to replace the pressure sensor (thanks to some research on this site) - hoping it's a £250 ish job.

    I then got following back from the main dealer:
    Event entry C123EF0 hydraulic brake servo limit reached is logged in the brakes control unit and the brake control unit is permanently deactivated. After testing, it is confirmed that a complete ABS control unit (J104) and hydraulic part must be replaced.

    upload_2020-8-21_15-56-36.png

    The quote was a bit of a shock. This unit alone is apparently £2000.

    Presumably because they'd tried to clear the codes, the dasboard now shows "brakes: error. Please stop safely". Different to when I took it in.

    I bought a second hand module, all compatible numbers, model, revision etc. Confirmed as tested and working.

    Took it to my local independent who kindly offered to fit the part I supplied.
    They has suspicion that the ABS unit on this model has a one-time programmable VIN entry. So you can't swap ABS units between cars.

    I've attached a screenshot of the error they get when trying to program the controller.

    Capture.JPG

    So basically, is this really true? Is it impossible to reprogram the VIN on an ABS module and fit a used part?

    Sorry for the long thread. Any pointers are much appreciated. If a £2700 bill is my only option then so be it. It just want to check first.
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,651
    5,087
    113
    Used module can be used but part number needed to be like for like, or in the vehicles design database as compatible. Official VW Group service tool has to be used to code online.
     
  4. shope

    shope Registered User

    3
    0
    1
    Thanks for the reply. Much appreciated. So it looks like main dealer is the only option then. Cheers.
     
  5. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,651
    5,087
    113
    Or an authorised 3rd party.... such as myself :) Am based in London.
     
    T-1000 likes this.
  6. shope

    shope Registered User

    3
    0
    1
    I'd very much like to hear more. Is it ok to send you a couple of photos: The serial numbers etc on the unit that is fitted and the spare I've purchased. Just to make sure I have a compatible spare? I'll check out your site and get in touch.
     
  7. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,651
    5,087
    113
    Can drop me a message here also
     
    Matt S35S likes this.
  8. ian.f

    ian.f Registered User

    42
    4
    8
    Hi,
    Sorry to chip in...I’m having the same issue. Currently sorting with my 3rd party warranty company and Halfords (the authorised repairer).
    Has this all been sorted? And how much is the cost?
    Thanks
     
  9. Matt S35S

    Matt S35S New Member

    9
    1
    3
    Hi guys,

    Got the same problem on my Audi A4 TDI 2016. I can't believe that the pump itself has been damaged. It must be an electronic program and be connected with the fact that this unit gets a fault once it reaches 20 logs of the pressure sensor.

    Also, this is quite premature as my car is 4 years old and has 45k miles only.

    Please help! Can't afford to spend £3k on that.
     
  10. ian.f

    ian.f Registered User

    42
    4
    8
    So my issue was clarified; ABS pressure sensor was faulty. Changed quite easily apparently.
    The knock on problem now is, the ABS pump has recorded some sort of failure due to this. And the only way this can be sorted is to replace the pump.

    I’m trying to get a more technical explanation for the garage I used so we can get this going on here.
    The garage I used explained that this is due to the new braking systems on all VAGs. He said something 9, but I can’t recall as I was dying on the floor at the time!
    Aparently the issue will become common on all new VAGs from 2016 onwards.

    This being the case, I wonder if anyone on here who works for VAG could shed some light on this?

    Edit: my motor is a 2016 Avant S-Line 190. Fault occurred at 45k. Coincidence?!
     
  11. Matt S35S

    Matt S35S New Member

    9
    1
    3
    Thanks Ian for your input. It is strange to get these type of problem such as a low mileage though.

    Did you end up paying the full price of a new pump?

    I am considering to send the pump over to a company called Ecutesting.
    https://www.ecutesting.com/categories/abs-pump-modules/abs-pump-units/

    They've never work on this model yet but they are willing to have a look at it, and they seem quite professional. Perhaps they can shine some light too.

    Just need to get someone to take the unit off my car and willing to reinstall the "rebuilt one", if Ecutesting can rebuilt it (that'd be confirmed at the diagnostic stage).

    Does anyone one knows a garage near Evesham that would be willing to take the unit off, etc..?

    Kind regards
    Matt
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. ian.f

    ian.f Registered User

    42
    4
    8
    Hi Guys,
    Sorry for late reply!
    I haven’t had the unit fixed or replaced. So I’m getting the brakes warning every time the motor starts (inc start/stop!).

    Has anyone progressed any further with this? Really really don’t want to have to come up with 3k to get it replaced.
    Can units be re-coded do we think?
     
  14. flo333

    flo333 New Member

    8
    0
    1
    Hi everyone. Who can help me with the same issue? I'm located in Scotland and can not find any garage near me who is able to fix this problem. Audi A4 B9 8W0 66plate 1.4tfsi
    Vcds shows :
    15381504 - Bulb for Parking Light: Hydraulic Brake Boost
    C123E F0 [173] - Limit Value Reached
    Breaking presure sensor g608 replaced by service, all problems gone but red warning light remain too expensive to let the service do this.
    Any sugestions welcome, thanks for interest.
     
  15. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,651
    5,087
    113
    DH Automotive in Falkirk.
     
  16. Matt S35S

    Matt S35S New Member

    9
    1
    3
    Here is a quick follow up on the situation.
    My VW Audi independent specialist confirmed that these ABS unit can't be rebuilt. No one came across this type of unit (yet).

    A second hand one can't be reprogrammed either. I am thinking of filing a complaint to Audi head office. Might be worth joining our effort together, and perhaps help the future owners.

    The case is simple enough to raise in my opinion.

    1- All of us started to get the first fault caused by lost of pressure / faulty pressure sensor of the ABS sensor.

    The fault message in dashboard clearly state to "contact workshop and continue driving".

    2- After a period of time, this fault is overwritten by "servo brake fault, stop vehicle safely". In other words, the ABS Unit has failed at this stage.

    Audi dealers have confirmed that the ABS unit will fail after the fault message described in point 1 is logged over 20 times.

    Our case is simple. Audi fault message 1 is misleading there customers (Audi owners) as it actually tells us to keep driving, which then result in getting multiple logs of this fault and failling the entire unit.

    It took me 2 weeks to get a spot at my local garage, hence that fault #2 got triggered even before I got the chance to get it in for a diagnosis.

    Anyone once to join me and start a complaint?
     
    flo333 likes this.
  17. flo333

    flo333 New Member

    8
    0
    1
    Yes I'm willing to join but need your help with this step by step.
    Had the same fault appears when I've been abroad on holiday, unfortunately unable to fix abroad due to part g608 not in stock at local service so back to Scotland but before get there fault appeared. Audi Hamilton changed the sensor charged me for that but car returned with fault on dashboard.
    I've had these two warnings when car engine start.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. flo333

    flo333 New Member

    8
    0
    1
    I've received car from them yesterday but sadly been told abs module is not repairable, now waiting for possible solutions they can offer.
     
  19. flo333

    flo333 New Member

    8
    0
    1
    Another investigation offered with newer equipment. But I found exactly the same part on trusted abroad auction portal but it came off an A4 but 2.0tfsi Quattro automatic gearbox so it's different spec than mine.
    Can it be fitted and coded in successfully?
     
  20. Matt S35S

    Matt S35S New Member

    9
    1
    3
    Hi Flo333,
    You are describing exactly the same problem I had in a similar situation.

    Unfortunately, no ABS unit can be swapped between cars as the VIN isn't re-programmable. In other words, the only way to fix it is to buy a brand new ABS module.

    I've spoken to Audi UK and the investigation is being processed. Audi Cheltenham called me as part of the investigation and he sort of agree that this could be down to a poor design and will report our discussion we had today, to Audi UK.

    Will hopefully hear back from them this week. I have a requested Audi to contribute towards the cost of fixing this.

    I will post back here once I get an agreement (if there is one). This way you won't have to go through the same pain as me if this isn't working and perhaps launch a bigger complain all together.

    I think there is a solid case for recall here. Just need to be patient.
     
  21. flo333

    flo333 New Member

    8
    0
    1
    Hi, good to know. But as far as I know module is replaceable with pump, I'm taking a part in polish A4 club discussion and some guys confirmed replacing second hand pump including module. Not many independent mechanics can handle this but it's possible. Only all numbers must be the same so hard to find proper one due to lack of broken cars on the market.
    I'd go to holiday there but f..... restrictions.
     
  22. Matt S35S

    Matt S35S New Member

    9
    1
    3
    I see. I couldn't find someone in the UK being able to find a second hand replacement and willing to recode it.

    And they can't find a rebuilt kit for it either...
     
  23. flo333

    flo333 New Member

    8
    0
    1
  24. Matt S35S

    Matt S35S New Member

    9
    1
    3
    Hi flo333.

    I did called them a month or so ago and they said they've never come across this model so they were not sure about it. However, they were keen to try as long as the shipping cost was covered by myself (which is fair enough).

    Please let me know how it goes.

    From my end, Audi UK decline to provide any sort of support what so ever (not surprising).

    Good luck!
     
  25. flo333

    flo333 New Member

    8
    0
    1
    Well it seems my model is supported it's offered on their website anyway so I hope they had some experience and will be able to remove this stupid fault, that is how car dealers treating us their customers only pay for service no independent repair allowed.
     
  26. Matt S35S

    Matt S35S New Member

    9
    1
    3
    Hey Flo,

    What Audi have you got? Is it a 2.0 TDI A4 2016?

    Could you share with me your ABS pump module part number?

    I've attached a picture of the ABS pump module that's on my car.

    The part you shared from ECUTesting ends with "G" but mine ends up with "J".
     

    Attached Files:

  27. flo333

    flo333 New Member

    8
    0
    1
    No mate your module ends with "e" the top serial number is important and the link I've attached is for that part exactly. You can send them that picture and they will answer to you. I've done it that way and received that link.
    My A4 is 1.4tfsi but it is not important it depends of car spec like hill hold, Audi presence etc. My is
     

    Attached Files:

  28. Matt S35S

    Matt S35S New Member

    9
    1
    3
    You are totally right mate. I've contacted EcuTesting again, through their live chat, but the guy said again the same thing as he did months ago "never seen this model". I shared the link you sent me and he responded that it was on his database and he will be contacting his IT to sort this out.

    Thanks mate. So glad we spoke about it here. I'll engage with my VW Audi independent garage and tell them to get in touch with them.

    Fingers crossed!
     
  29. Matt S35S

    Matt S35S New Member

    9
    1
    3
    Sorry, meant to say the tech support on live chat was an idiot saying that this model was missing in his database. Hence I never went further with them.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information