1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Remapping high milage 2011 TDi 140

Dave-S3 Mar 9, 2015

  1. Dave-S3

    Dave-S3 Registered User

    653
    124
    43
    Right i recently swapped my S3 for a 2.0 Tdi 140 as i needed to free up some cash, and naturally I'm pining after more power. My A3 is a 2011 2.0 Tdi but its done 110k (one owner was leased to a car parts company) so FSH etc and everything works as it should and it had a new EGR valve before i picked it up, theres no issues with the clutch or turbo but this is what I'm worried about with a remap, i know it can be pot luck sometimes but has anyone got any experience with remapping a high miler?
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Rideen

    Rideen Registered User

    1,152
    369
    83
    Bought mine with 150k miles on clock, remapped after taking care of injectors (rough idle) and couldn't be happier. Mine is PD though, yours is CR so it should have even less problems. This is just my personal experience though.
     
  4. Dave-S3

    Dave-S3 Registered User

    653
    124
    43
    Yeah just spoke to Ecotech near me in North Wales he said just to watch the clutch but if it's done motorway miles it should be fine and if there's any sign of clutch slip he would reign the torque in!!
     
  5. Gazwould

    Gazwould Registered User

    7,818
    3,172
    113
    So he's covering you with a 2nd possible remap for the price of 1 ?
     
  6. LEE69

    LEE69 07 170 DSG

    2,896
    547
    113
    lol no if it's slips he'd reduce the torque. Simon did mine i was on 163k on a pd 170 now nearer to 167k and still smiling
     
    Dave-S3 likes this.
  7. Gazwould

    Gazwould Registered User

    7,818
    3,172
    113
    Well if it does slip , reduce the torque and increase the bhp .
     
  8. Rideen

    Rideen Registered User

    1,152
    369
    83
    140 engines start slipping at 405Nm intentionally to protect the gearbox. Anything below that value won't slip.
     
  9. Dave-S3

    Dave-S3 Registered User

    653
    124
    43
    I would be quite happy with 400NM.. Same as what my S3 had!!
     
  10. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    1,356
    689
    113
    I recommend keeping boost pressure standard on high mileage BKD as they are prone to turbo failure.

    Rick
     
    tdi-man likes this.
  11. Brennan

    Brennan Former Audi Driver

    2,763
    1,276
    113
    Any difference in this and a 2.0TDI 143 A4 B8 engine?
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Mario8P

    Mario8P Registered User

    454
    133
    43
    ^^ this guy knows what he's talking about

    Talking from personal experience
     
  14. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    1,356
    689
    113
    Totally different engine, no issues with these :)

    Rick
     
    Brennan and Gaz170 like this.
  15. Sayam

    Sayam Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    2,801
    664
    113
    If it's a 2011 car it wouldn't be a BKD engine would it? I thought the BKD was a PD engine but surely a 2011 car will have the newer common rail engine with DPF.
     
  16. Dave-S3

    Dave-S3 Registered User

    653
    124
    43
    Yeah my engine is a CR engine so it's okay isn't it?
     
  17. Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps

    Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps Registered User

    2,015
    133
    63
    Aslong as the car is maintained how it should there shouldn't be a problem
     
  18. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    1,356
    689
    113
    Sorry, i misread - CR engines all ok!

    Rick
     
    Sayam likes this.
  19. Adam Wilson

    Adam Wilson Registered User

    95
    23
    8
    Decent place Ecotech, know their stuff :)
     
    Dave-S3 likes this.
  20. Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps

    Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps Registered User

    2,015
    133
    63
    Simon at eco tech is a top guy
     
    Dave-S3 likes this.
  21. biscuit-a3

    biscuit-a3 Registered User

    173
    17
    18
    No problem mapping my cr 140 has 112,000 running 188bhp and 425nm with no problem been like this since 96000

    More Bhp did mine
     
    Dave-S3 likes this.
  22. biscuit-a3

    biscuit-a3 Registered User

    173
    17
    18
    I'm pretty sure More BHP write some of their files
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2015
  23. Gazwould

    Gazwould Registered User

    7,818
    3,172
    113
    Impressive figures for a 140, have you a dyno graph print out Sir ?
     
  24. biscuit-a3

    biscuit-a3 Registered User

    173
    17
    18
    No I know them at Morebhp so no print out but seen it with my own 2 eyes on the rollers
     
  25. biscuit-a3

    biscuit-a3 Registered User

    173
    17
    18
    We tried for more but the standard turbo won't take any more just over fuels and pump out some smoke
     
  26. biscuit-a3

    biscuit-a3 Registered User

    173
    17
    18
    Be simular gains 185-195 and 400-420 nm
     
    Brennan likes this.
  27. Dave-S3

    Dave-S3 Registered User

    653
    124
    43
    190bhp and 420NM will do for me!
     
  28. biscuit-a3

    biscuit-a3 Registered User

    173
    17
    18
    How far away are you from Crewe Stoke
     
  29. biscuit-a3

    biscuit-a3 Registered User

    173
    17
    18
    Not all car do the same figures but it's quite often the newer cr do better mines a 09
     
  30. Dave-S3

    Dave-S3 Registered User

    653
    124
    43
    Hour and a bit maybe, eco tech is about 45 mins tbh..
     
  31. biscuit-a3

    biscuit-a3 Registered User

    173
    17
    18
    Sent you a pm
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information