1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Q3 Climate Control 8P Retrofit

Darren92 Dec 14, 2014

  1. Arkious

    Arkious Registered User

    533
    169
    43
    Totally agree, though I do wish I could figure out how to disable the cool down function. When I set it to 3 I want it to stay at 3 not revert to setting 2 once its hot! I thought it was because the heat setting was incorrect for the bucket seats at first but ive turned the temp setting down and it still reverts to setting 2 at the moment. You had the same issue?
     
    mechanic69 likes this.
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. maxpayne

    maxpayne Registered User

    1,041
    234
    63
    @aqibi2000 are you still up for the ultimate retrofitting challenge? Q3 CC on PFL 8P.
     
  4. mechanic69

    mechanic69 Registered User Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    2,066
    784
    113
    Yeah I thought there was something wrong with it. Don’t mind too much as 2 is my most common setting


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  5. paddy

    paddy Registered User

    6,818
    907
    113
    I didn't like the fact that there was no illumination on the old 8P panel for seat heating. unless you had a magnifying glass and could see the little roller wheel you didnt now if it was on or off :)
     
    ch1z64, mechanic69 and Arkious like this.
  6. s3_trev

    s3_trev Northern Ireland

    1,907
    660
    113
    Thinking about doing this, are people having some unresolved issues with heat going from setting 3 to setting 2 by itself?
     
  7. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,204
    930
    113
    Maybe stupid suggestion but what if you raised the temp on setting 2 and lowered on setting 3 , or do you think that the car would cut the heat out and revert to the lower setting set on 1 . Or maybe jiggling the heat settings about to see if it reverts back to the lowet one
     
  8. CoolAsIce

    CoolAsIce 08 CR170 Black Edition

    83
    43
    18
    Mine does that but to me it's not an issue, it's way too hot to keep on 3. Setting 2 is a comfortable heat to keep with.
     
    mechanic69 likes this.
  9. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,204
    930
    113
    Weather down south must be nice all year round cause up here, in the very very very cold winter days / nights setting 3 is not high enough as i love a warm butt .:thumbs up:
     
  10. s3_trev

    s3_trev Northern Ireland

    1,907
    660
    113
    And have you already done the VCDS tweak of adjusting the maximum for setting 3 yeah?
     
  11. mechanic69

    mechanic69 Registered User Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    2,066
    784
    113
    I tweaked the heat settings using vcds but for the 8p it was recommended to go max 55 on the 3rd setting, the q3 oem setting was 65. Not sure if the seat can take it maybe???


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. mechanic69

    mechanic69 Registered User Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    2,066
    784
    113
    My settings

    3 65. Ch26. To 55
    2 43. Ch25.
    1 23. Ch24


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  14. s3_trev

    s3_trev Northern Ireland

    1,907
    660
    113
    It's a bit disappointing that you are still having issues even after the VCDS temp tweak.
     
  15. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,204
    930
    113
    Its no really an issue as i doesn't show up on vcds as a fault as i am lead to believe but the 1 that does show up can be a PITA if you let it bother you , a bit like the amp fault when you fit the Rnse , so i guess if your OCD about faults leave the car the **** alone :thumbs up: but aesthetically it is very pleasing
     
  16. fernando young

    fernando young Registered User

    310
    115
    43
    guys, is this affecting any of you when using the AC?
    i feel like its not cooling at all, will check if my AC has got discharged, or if it this that is making it not cool down
     
  17. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,204
    930
    113
    Did you follow all the steps in the post about once fitted what you had to do in Vcds a little more than just changing temp for seats
     
  18. mechanic69

    mechanic69 Registered User Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    2,066
    784
    113
    You need to run the following to set it up in a uk car

    go to 08 hvac then select section 04 basic settings, channel 1, click go and it will adapt


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    s3_trev, downtothebone and ch1z64 like this.
  19. mechanic69

    mechanic69 Registered User Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    2,066
    784
    113
    That will get all the motorised flaps operating correctly, that may be stopping the air moving properly


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    ch1z64 likes this.
  20. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,204
    930
    113
    Me thinks i will need to do that again cause my flaps allow air but when i go to close the vents it still allows flow through or is that normal and i'm worrying about nothing
     
  21. CoolAsIce

    CoolAsIce 08 CR170 Black Edition

    83
    43
    18
    Yeah, I checked a long time ago. It gets roasting hot on 3 though, there's absolutely no reason why I would ever want it to stay on 3, so I actually quite like the feature.
     
    s3_trev and mechanic69 like this.
  22. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,204
    930
    113
    Its funny but when i have it set to 3 i dont feel it that hot maybe the wingbacks av a different element in them which allows it to heat up and stay hot only a thought to the mystery off the over heated seat scenario
     
  23. paddy

    paddy Registered User

    6,818
    907
    113
    I turned the temp down when i fitted the panel via VCDS as advised but 3 is still hotter than you can comfortably sit on for more than a couple of minutes.
    I was told that 3 is an auto drying feature for old people with a lack of control ?
     
    ch1z64 and s3_trev like this.
  24. Arkious

    Arkious Registered User

    533
    169
    43
    I just keep pressing it back to 3 but mines set to 50 not 55 on the wingbacks. It must just be a setting from factory to automatically turn down the temperature to save the 2 chaps down stairs since the Q3 is set to 65 standard.

    I don’t get any issues with it fitted though, especially after carrying out the adaption
     
  25. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,204
    930
    113
    Sure mine are set the same as your ones as i have no issues with the heat on the Wingbacks rather comfortable heat i think
     
  26. maccalo

    maccalo Norway

    116
    53
    28
    Another picture for the gallery =)

    I wonder if this feature you guys are talking about also applies to the old 8P panel with scroll wheels. When turned all the way to 6, it always felt like the heat was tapering off within 10-15 minutes. I never measured with VCDS (if possible?) though. Personally I like the 3 --> 2 auto feature.
     

    Attached Files:

    mechanic69 likes this.
  27. spawn616

    spawn616 Registered User

    45
    10
    8
    does anyone know if the rsq3 climate fits as it has sleeker panel 8U0820043G thats its code ,i assume that this is just a revison but does it work?
     
  28. Arkious

    Arkious Registered User

    533
    169
    43
    Yes it works perfectly, I have one fitted to my RS3 :)

    75EDD6B4-C1A7-4AA1-A8D1-CA9023FDE9F6.jpeg
     
    spawn616 likes this.
  29. paddy

    paddy Registered User

    6,818
    907
    113
    I have one of them in my S3 i think, how does an RSQ3 panel differ from a Q3 one ?
     
  30. spawn616

    spawn616 Registered User

    45
    10
    8
    instead of the square block display its like half a banana, it looks better than what i am explaining, its more facelifted
     
    Arkious likes this.
  31. Arkious

    Arkious Registered User

    533
    169
    43
    Exactly this!

    The screen has a black transparent piece over it which looks ‘facelifted’ and the knobs are different as they have thinner chrome pieces and bits of blue which again look ‘facelifted’ compared with the standard one
     
  32. samuelh_888

    samuelh_888 Registered User

    2,081
    858
    113
    This is my Q3 upgrade - what does the even more facelift version look like?!

    FCD62F9B-C36A-4F94-B40B-8FE9088B06E6.jpeg
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. paddy

    paddy Registered User

    6,818
    907
    113
    Mine is a Q3 like Sam's
     
  35. paddy

    paddy Registered User

    6,818
    907
    113
    This is an RSQ. looks identical to mine TBH.
     

    Attached Files:

  36. spawn616

    spawn616 Registered User

    45
    10
    8
    sams is the facelift facelift
     
    samuelh_888 likes this.
  37. paddy

    paddy Registered User

    6,818
    907
    113
    Yea but thats std Q3 like mine.
     
  38. ab1702

    ab1702 Registered User

    895
    263
    63
    The ones you’re talking about and have fitted were first fitted to the rsq3 and then fitted to the facelift q3 so they are the same thing. If you go back to the OP on this thread then you’ll see the difference. These newer ones look miles better.
     
    Arkious and samuelh_888 like this.
  39. damage

    damage Registered User

    1
    0
    1
    3 is boost mode, for the seat heat fast, than goes to 2. Raise the temp on 2 if you like more warm

    Enviado do meu SM-G930F através do Tapatalk
     
  40. EvilSmurph

    EvilSmurph Registered User

    72
    37
    18
    Just a quick question regarding 8U0820043G, will it fit on A3 8PA mine is 2008/2009 facelift I also have heated seats
     
  41. JayA3sline

    JayA3sline Active Member VCDS Map User

    901
    238
    43
    [​IMG]

    Change the LEDs for a better look
     
    EvilSmurph likes this.
  42. EvilSmurph

    EvilSmurph Registered User

    72
    37
    18
    can you post picture when you covered the led ?
     
  43. MarioAmazin

    MarioAmazin Registered User

    1
    2
    3
    Working on my A3 2007 Prerestyling unit
     

    Attached Files:

    Aaron Wiles and TheMightyBK like this.

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information