Q3 Climate Control 8P Retrofit

Arkious

Registered User
Self inflicted but a way better controller than the 8p version, love the seat heating switches, why did audi ever think you would need 6 positions for heating???


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Totally agree, though I do wish I could figure out how to disable the cool down function. When I set it to 3 I want it to stay at 3 not revert to setting 2 once its hot! I thought it was because the heat setting was incorrect for the bucket seats at first but ive turned the temp setting down and it still reverts to setting 2 at the moment. You had the same issue?
 

mechanic69

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
Totally agree, though I do wish I could figure out how to disable the cool down function. When I set it to 3 I want it to stay at 3 not revert to setting 2 once its hot! I thought it was because the heat setting was incorrect for the bucket seats at first but ive turned the temp setting down and it still reverts to setting 2 at the moment. You had the same issue?

Yeah I thought there was something wrong with it. Don’t mind too much as 2 is my most common setting


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

paddy

Registered User
I didn't like the fact that there was no illumination on the old 8P panel for seat heating. unless you had a magnifying glass and could see the little roller wheel you didnt now if it was on or off :)
 

s3_trev

Northern Ireland
Thinking about doing this, are people having some unresolved issues with heat going from setting 3 to setting 2 by itself?
 

ch1z64

C'mon you's bhoy's in Green
VCDS Map User
Silver Supporter
Totally agree, though I do wish I could figure out how to disable the cool down function. When I set it to 3 I want it to stay at 3 not revert to setting 2 once its hot! I thought it was because the heat setting was incorrect for the bucket seats at first but ive turned the temp setting down and it still reverts to setting 2 at the moment. You had the same issue?
Maybe stupid suggestion but what if you raised the temp on setting 2 and lowered on setting 3 , or do you think that the car would cut the heat out and revert to the lower setting set on 1 . Or maybe jiggling the heat settings about to see if it reverts back to the lowet one
 

CoolAsIce

08 CR170 Black Edition
Thinking about doing this, are people having some unresolved issues with heat going from setting 3 to setting 2 by itself?

Mine does that but to me it's not an issue, it's way too hot to keep on 3. Setting 2 is a comfortable heat to keep with.
 

ch1z64

C'mon you's bhoy's in Green
VCDS Map User
Silver Supporter
Weather down south must be nice all year round cause up here, in the very very very cold winter days / nights setting 3 is not high enough as i love a warm butt .:thumbs up:
 

s3_trev

Northern Ireland
Mine does that but to me it's not an issue, it's way too hot to keep on 3. Setting 2 is a comfortable heat to keep with.

And have you already done the VCDS tweak of adjusting the maximum for setting 3 yeah?
 

mechanic69

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
And have you already done the VCDS tweak of adjusting the maximum for setting 3 yeah?

I tweaked the heat settings using vcds but for the 8p it was recommended to go max 55 on the 3rd setting, the q3 oem setting was 65. Not sure if the seat can take it maybe???


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

mechanic69

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
I tweaked the heat settings using vcds but for the 8p it was recommended to go max 55 on the 3rd setting, the q3 oem setting was 65. Not sure if the seat can take it maybe???


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

My settings

3 65. Ch26. To 55
2 43. Ch25.
1 23. Ch24


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

s3_trev

Northern Ireland
It's a bit disappointing that you are still having issues even after the VCDS temp tweak.
 

ch1z64

C'mon you's bhoy's in Green
VCDS Map User
Silver Supporter
Its no really an issue as i doesn't show up on vcds as a fault as i am lead to believe but the 1 that does show up can be a PITA if you let it bother you , a bit like the amp fault when you fit the Rnse , so i guess if your OCD about faults leave the car the **** alone :thumbs up: but aesthetically it is very pleasing
 

fernando young

Registered User
guys, is this affecting any of you when using the AC?
i feel like its not cooling at all, will check if my AC has got discharged, or if it this that is making it not cool down
 

ch1z64

C'mon you's bhoy's in Green
VCDS Map User
Silver Supporter
guys, is this affecting any of you when using the AC?
i feel like its not cooling at all, will check if my AC has got discharged, or if it this that is making it not cool down
Did you follow all the steps in the post about once fitted what you had to do in Vcds a little more than just changing temp for seats
 

mechanic69

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
Did you follow all the steps in the post about once fitted what you had to do in Vcds a little more than just changing temp for seats

You need to run the following to set it up in a uk car

go to 08 hvac then select section 04 basic settings, channel 1, click go and it will adapt


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

mechanic69

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
That will get all the motorised flaps operating correctly, that may be stopping the air moving properly


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

ch1z64

C'mon you's bhoy's in Green
VCDS Map User
Silver Supporter
That will get all the motorised flaps operating correctly, that may be stopping the air moving properly


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Me thinks i will need to do that again cause my flaps allow air but when i go to close the vents it still allows flow through or is that normal and i'm worrying about nothing
 

CoolAsIce

08 CR170 Black Edition
And have you already done the VCDS tweak of adjusting the maximum for setting 3 yeah?

Yeah, I checked a long time ago. It gets roasting hot on 3 though, there's absolutely no reason why I would ever want it to stay on 3, so I actually quite like the feature.
 

ch1z64

C'mon you's bhoy's in Green
VCDS Map User
Silver Supporter
Its funny but when i have it set to 3 i dont feel it that hot maybe the wingbacks av a different element in them which allows it to heat up and stay hot only a thought to the mystery off the over heated seat scenario
 

paddy

Registered User
I turned the temp down when i fitted the panel via VCDS as advised but 3 is still hotter than you can comfortably sit on for more than a couple of minutes.
I was told that 3 is an auto drying feature for old people with a lack of control ?
 

Arkious

Registered User
I just keep pressing it back to 3 but mines set to 50 not 55 on the wingbacks. It must just be a setting from factory to automatically turn down the temperature to save the 2 chaps down stairs since the Q3 is set to 65 standard.

I don’t get any issues with it fitted though, especially after carrying out the adaption
 

ch1z64

C'mon you's bhoy's in Green
VCDS Map User
Silver Supporter
I just keep pressing it back to 3 but mines set to 50 not 55 on the wingbacks. It must just be a setting from factory to automatically turn down the temperature to save the 2 chaps down stairs since the Q3 is set to 65 standard.

I don’t get any issues with it fitted though, especially after carrying out the adaption
Sure mine are set the same as your ones as i have no issues with the heat on the Wingbacks rather comfortable heat i think
 

maccalo

Norway
Another picture for the gallery =)

I wonder if this feature you guys are talking about also applies to the old 8P panel with scroll wheels. When turned all the way to 6, it always felt like the heat was tapering off within 10-15 minutes. I never measured with VCDS (if possible?) though. Personally I like the 3 --> 2 auto feature.
 

Attachments

  • 20180921_003153.jpg
    20180921_003153.jpg
    510.7 KB · Views: 427

spawn616

Registered User
does anyone know if the rsq3 climate fits as it has sleeker panel 8U0820043G thats its code ,i assume that this is just a revison but does it work?
 

Arkious

Registered User
does anyone know if the rsq3 climate fits as it has sleeker panel 8U0820043G thats its code ,i assume that this is just a revison but does it work?

Yes it works perfectly, I have one fitted to my RS3 :)

75EDD6B4-C1A7-4AA1-A8D1-CA9023FDE9F6.jpeg
 

paddy

Registered User
I have one of them in my S3 i think, how does an RSQ3 panel differ from a Q3 one ?
 

Arkious

Registered User
instead of the square block display its like half a banana, it looks better than what i am explaining, its more facelifted

Exactly this!

The screen has a black transparent piece over it which looks ‘facelifted’ and the knobs are different as they have thinner chrome pieces and bits of blue which again look ‘facelifted’ compared with the standard one
 

samuelh_888

Registered User
This is my Q3 upgrade - what does the even more facelift version look like?!

FCD62F9B-C36A-4F94-B40B-8FE9088B06E6.jpeg
 

paddy

Registered User
Mine is a Q3 like Sam's
 

paddy

Registered User
This is an RSQ. looks identical to mine TBH.
 

Attachments

  • audi-rsq3-interior.jpg
    audi-rsq3-interior.jpg
    188.8 KB · Views: 395

paddy

Registered User
Yea but thats std Q3 like mine.
 

ab1702

Registered User
The ones you’re talking about and have fitted were first fitted to the rsq3 and then fitted to the facelift q3 so they are the same thing. If you go back to the OP on this thread then you’ll see the difference. These newer ones look miles better.
 

damage

Registered User
I turned the temp down when i fitted the panel via VCDS as advised but 3 is still hotter than you can comfortably sit on for more than a couple of minutes.
I was told that 3 is an auto drying feature for old people with a lack of control ?
3 is boost mode, for the seat heat fast, than goes to 2. Raise the temp on 2 if you like more warm

Enviado do meu SM-G930F através do Tapatalk
 

EvilSmurph

Registered User
Just a quick question regarding 8U0820043G, will it fit on A3 8PA mine is 2008/2009 facelift I also have heated seats
 
Top