Pre wash help!

Richard Appleyard

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm new to the car detailing world and need a little help. I'm reading into snow foams and there often referred to as a pre wash? Does this mean you apply it, rinse it off then use another product to actually wash your car or do you spray it on then use sponge/mitt to wash the car.

Thanks. Rich.

Yea spray it on, leave it to dwell, then rinse it off. Then wash by hand. I usually foam it up again (typically to use up any remaining foam in the lance) before I hand wash it to get extra suds.

Having said all that, I think there is more evidence to suggest a citrus pre-wash is more effective than snow foam....I'm still on the fence about whether either is particularly effective on light/moderate dirty cars with good protection on to justify the time and money tbh....!

Oh and never a sponge. A good microfibre mitt or wool mitt. 2 buckets are often quoted as the safest method, but as long as you rinse the mitt after you make a few passes on the car, whether its running water from the tap/hose or from fresh water in a bucket, before you put it back in your shampoo bucket and onto the car is essential. Stops your mitt and shampoo bucket getting overly dirty.

Hope that helps :)

That's great information. Thank you.

Who are a decent brand to buy for both pre wash and wash?

Ah lots and lots to go with. I have used a few from Chemical Guys and liked them, but would recommend anything from ValetPro, KKD, Bilt Hamper, Meguairs...list goes on really!

I would probably now just find the cheapest 5lt from those brands and one that had a 'flavour' I enjoy!

Can anyone supply an Amazon link for a decent mitt? Interested in this ready for my new car. Thanks

Everyone thanks for your help. A lot of information. Ta. Rich.

Reactions: DrEskimo
Well I eat my words...looks like a prewash is effective

http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=370742